We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the right room”
Reviewed December 12, 2008

This hotel is high-end, and laid out over a large area of land extending into the mountainside in a kind of V shape. Be careful that you don't end up having to walk 1/2 a mile just to get to your room -- unless you prefer to do so for potential privacy. Rooms on the fourth floor in some spots require two elevator trips, which could be tiresome and annoying. Suites are quite large, but also very generic- looking and seemed to have very little art or anything aesthetically comforting beyond extra space. Regular rooms were nicer-looking and relatively large, each with a balcony you could sit out on. Views are limited because the hotel is so close to the mountainside that you can end up looking at the side of a rock, even on a "high" floor. Request a view of the rear grounds -- that way you avoid looking at rock/dirt or looking at the parking lot -- or request a view out front, but high to avoid being overwhelmed by one of the parking lot. Towels were super soft, at least on day one (not sure why they couldn't be as soft on days 2 and 3...), and room service was excellent. Wide variety of food, reliable and extremely courteous service (almost uncomfortably so - gratuitous in possibly the purest sense of the word) and 24-hour availability. Price was reasonable for a regular room, not really worth it for a suite unless you must have the space.

  • Liked — Cozy room, 24-room service with good food (burgers - fancy)
  • Disliked — Hotel layout, overly gratuitous staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thesixthwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,884
    555
    185
    86
    45
See reviews for
584
880
105
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Front desk staff were rude during check-in and check-out. I won't be returning, no matter how reasonable the price may be. The rest of the staff was attentive and polite, especially the staff at the pool and jacuzzi. The bellboys were great and lent us umbrellas when it unexpectedly rained.
We had a luxury room and the only luxurious thing about it was the oversized bath, and the updated flat screen TVs (in the bathroom too) were nice and we had a balcony. Our room felt private until nightfall when we heard our neighbors speaking in normal voices through the walls and the outside corridor.
They also charge $9 a night for parking which is ridiculous considering very, very few places charge for parking in Tucson. It isn't like it's NYC or downtown L.A. here.

  • Liked — Oversized bath, bed was comfortable too.
  • Disliked — Front desk staff, high price parking.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactuskidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

While this is a good hotel, I have stayed in better in Tucson for the same price. The JW marriott Star Pass has a phenomenal deck, outside bar area and view of the city.

The double room I stayed in was very roomy (desk and sofa) with a good sized porch. The bathroom was big enough with marble. The tub was huge, but I could not get the water temperature to work correctly. It was either warm or scalding hot.

The fitness center was decent. The bikes were ancient but the treadmills were modern with indivudual tvs. If you are with a large group, the cardio machines fill up quickly.

Our meeting space was great and the food provided for lunch and breakfast was good for hotel food. I ate off property for all other meals.

The hotel contracts with a car service - nice perk. The sedan airport pick-up was great - almost the same price as a cab, prompt and friendly service. We tried to use the same car service for a shuttle at dinner -awful. They were 45 minutes late picking us back up. Stick with the taxis.

  • Liked — Lounge - very large HD TV
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alk222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

From the moment we checked in and walked in our room we didnt want to leave. The people there were friendly and the atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. The room: the bed is so big and comfy. The bathroom tub was huge. The room was very clean and we had great views at no extra cost. The pool area was nice and we liked the option to take the hiking trail from the resort. We will definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank qtdeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster,sc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Renovated rooms on our floor during our stay and worked all night with noisy drills, slamming doors etc. Mgr gave us a free night on our next trip if I would contact. I did and they did not honor so I did not stay. Sleep in desert next time.

  • Liked — Outdoors
  • Disliked — lack of concern
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mb3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We spent an August weekend at Ventana and while we had a decent overall stay - the service is earnest and helpful and the setting remains lovely - our stay began with a shock. As the waiter was telling us the dinner specials at the Flying V Bar & Grill, a scorpion appeared on the table and began running towards me. My brave wife dispatched it as the waiter and I looked on.

I understand that the desert is full of critters, but a scorpion on the table is a serious matter and our waiter did nothing about it. He did not offer to switch our table and never alerted a manager.

The rest of our stay was less dramatic. The rooms and public areas are much in need of a facelift. The main pool is crowded and noisy, the secondary pool neglected and dirty. Nevertheless, Ventana is still charming. The location is beautiful and it's a great value in the summer.

  • Liked — Very good food, well-meaning staff
  • Disliked — Oh yes, the scorpion on the table.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ncinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Our family make a spontaneous trip to Tucson for the weekend to "explore Arizona" as we've only lived in the state for four months. We booked a last minute rate on the hotel site at $136 per nite; opting for the "Deluxe room with a view" which was a tad bit higher than the lowest rate offered online.
Upon check-in, we were offered either a double bed room or King room; since we had our six year old, we said a King would be nice with a rollaway; BUT that the VIEW was the most important thing for us. We were informed a rollaway would be a one time $25 charge (ouch), but we said ok, as long as we have a nice view.
Well, the view was "partial" mountain, but most two big trees that are planted right next to the building. (picture posted as well), but it was late when we arrived and we were tired.
The room itself was spacious; the bathroom being the best feature with slate tile, upgraded fixtures and a "bathtub to swim in" per my six year old.
Service was "fair"; it took three phone calls over the course of an hour to get the rollaway bed to the room; but it did eventually arrive and was nicely made up.
The walls are somewhat 'thin' on this end of the hall (room 3651 I believe); and you could hear people in the hallway and in the rooms next door during the night.
The absolute best part of our stay was our time at the pool; it's HUGE, and the service there was IMPECCABLE. We especially send kudos out to Dianne; she doesn't regularly work at the pool, but she ensured we had towels, sunscreen, they even bring around spray bottles with chilled water. Magazines were offered, plus service from the bar/grill started at 11a; they were very prompt and the food was expensive but tasted great. Lunch for 3 was $40 (including tip) (Wrap, Fruit bowl- huge; and a kids hot dog meal, two beers and a soda).
Breakfast was $50 for the three of us, but was excellent and there was a choice of "local flavors" including prickly pear jellies, which we enjoyed. The view from the breakfast lounge was beautiful. there is a Koi pond, and the concierge showed our daughter where she keeps the cups and fish food; so we had to feed the fish both mornings :) There are numerous paved walking paths and beautiful gardens.
Since our room had no view, we didn't spend much time there; perhaps next time we will try to arrive earlier to ensure that we can rectify a view problem :)

If you do go, take some time to drive 40 mins out to the Sonoran Desert Museum; it was awesome; very educational, beautiful grounds, lots of animals onsite as well, bird aviary, etc. Plus a coffee bar and a restaurant.

  • Liked — the pool was fantastic; nice grounds
  • Disliked — views from our room were terrible
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.4 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing