We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Decent property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel room is a bit outdated but the bed was comfy. The buffet for breakfast was okay, some items went cold and I had to ask for fresh items and it was a bit pricey. But at least I got a fresh waffle. Love the omelet station. Reservations were easy and check in fast. My fridge for the room was requested and available for my medicine. My only problem is that a huge behavioral conference took place and parking was horrible. Also, I wanted to extend for another night but was told I could not due to a full capacity of the hotel. I kept inquiring because I knew that rooms would open up eventually due to cancellations. I eventually had to go to another hotel with my 2 month old infant. I found out later online that rooms did open up and were bookable online. Needless to say I was disappointed that I had to leave my family from out of town. This was my first experience with the chain and it was tampered by poor problem solving solutions. They could have at least put me on a wait list or called me when cancellations occurred. Instead I got a simple no unless I was a You First Loews member with guaranteed room which only means that the hotel would boot a non member in order for a member to stay. I paid a higher rate for a standard King while another family paid the government rate for a nice suite. How is this fair? Seems like poor practices to me.

Room Tip: There is a resort fee so be prepared to pay this unless a promotion is available that exempts it. Th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not witness any recycle program while there. People use entirely way too many towels at the pool.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us and sincerely apologize that we were unable to fully meet your expectations during your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. I have messaged you privately to learn a little more about your experience and look forward to hearing from you. Thank you again and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon!

Derek McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,530
    478
    151
    76
    43
See reviews for
487
748
95
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful setting, take the time to walk the grounds to see the local flora and fauna. The view of the mountains was magnificent from my room. Reception told us that the Flying V Bar and Grille was very high class and that we might manage to get a booking which sounded rather intimidating - when we arrived there we found the atmosphere relaxed and informal. The food was fantastic and hearty I recommend the guacamole made at your table. Please remember to feed the fish if you visit!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful mountain views and our famous tableside guacamole at the Flying V Bar & Grill! I appreciate you taking a few moments of your time to share your kind words on TripAdvisor and I truly hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is gorgeous! My hotel room was clean and up to date. Their rooms are spacious as well. The tub was my favorite because it was huge! I wished I had time to take a bubble bath especially with the TV located in the bathroom. The walls between the rooms and the door between the hallway are pretty sound proof. You don't hear much noise when ppl walk down the hallway or next door. The hotel rooms are a little confusing since the main elevator in the lobby don't go to all the rooms so make sure you listen to the front desk agent when they're explaing to you on how to get to your room. You may have to go up two different elevators. My only small complaint was they took my hotel amenity (fruit plate) the next day. Maybe I should have put a note to not take it away? Usually when I get amenities they leave it in the room until I depart but maybe Loews has different rules? Anyway, it was no biggie. Also, the customer service it great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! It sounds like you had an excellent time enjoying our beautiful desert resort during your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and I truly appreciate you taking a few moments to share your experience on TripAdvisor! Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to visit us again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My partner and I had the opportunity to enjoy an impromptu one night stay at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson earlier this month and we were highly impressed with this "aged beauty", it's spectacular desert valley setting and the exceptional service staff. Cocktails were enjoyed in the lounge on arrival and both drinks ordered were superbly mixed - my margarita was delicious. While our check in was delayed due to our room needing to be cleaned, we were pleased to be spoiled by our Guest Services Agent, Star van der Zee who took amazingly good care of us offering us a complimentary breakfast when we really had to wait an inordinate period of time. Our room, once in, was inviting and comfortable if a bit aged. The bed was wonderful and given a lack of sleep on both of our parts, an early night to bed and a delayed morning wakeup did just the trick! Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and once again our server was helpful and charming. We both agreed on a mid morning departure that "we'll be back" to enjoy more of this amazing desert property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent TripAdvisor review! I am thrilled to be able to share your comments with the team, and especially our agent, Star. My hope is that each of our guests is able to relax and enjoy the property, and I’m so pleased you had a great experience. Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
555 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was our first visit in the summertime, and we again just loved the place. We got a very low rate for a mountain view fourth floor room. The views were spectacular, the room spotless and kept that way the entire week. Again, management shows through as every single staff person, from the maids to the servers to the bellman to the front desk were friendly, relaxed, helpful, and professional. This is just a well oiled place, period.
The breakfasts were super, with buffets on the weekends. We sat outside, in the heat, and were well cared for and the menu is super good for breakfast.
They will provide an extra fridge in the room for free if you ask. That is a very nice feature. Oh, and the music and dancing on the weekend was a blast. Can't wait to return!
ZB

Room Tip: High up mountain view...we had 4231.
See more room tips
Green Features: Minimum paper and plastic use. Water conservation.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic feedback! We strive to provide a great experience for our guests and I’m so glad to hear we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! I thank you again for your TripAdvisor review, and I look forward to having you return to visit us again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A surprising gem. First class service and facilities in a beautiful setting. The location is fabulous. Tucked against the canyon behind with panoramic views of both the city and mountainside. Price was very reasonable. While we were there for a relaxation break, we saw many business meetings and family's as well. A good blend.

Great bathtubs!! You can sit 2 wide.

The best activity was the hike that leaves right from the back of the hotel. About 3 strenuous miles. Absolutely beautiful. One of the best hikes in the area. Do it. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Ask for Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandKimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I am thrilled to hear that you were wowed by our service and facilities at Loews Ventana Canyon! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words on TripAdvisor. The Ventana Trail is an excellent hike, and it is wonderful that you were able to enjoy it. I hope you will be back to visit Loews Ventana Canyon again soon.

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great hotel. Staff treated us very well. Haven't stayed at another place where everyone addressed us by name. Would dedinitely stay here again & highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 808Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and that our Team Members went above and beyond to make your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon so memorable! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind words on TripAdvisor and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to visit us again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#6 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing