We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved the area, lots of green in the desert surroundings. We had a wonderful time. The staff wants you to enjoy your stay and does everything possible to make it that way. They are right on top of correcting anything large or small. The rooms were large and comfortable with balconies. We had adjoining which is a great way to travel, we never saw anyone on the balconies. We stayed completely on site for 4 days. We did make a trip to the grocery store to stock up for our happy hour, the staff provided us with a small refrigerator at no charge. We took several property hikes and enjoyed the spa. The hot and cold stone facial was the best. The spa dressing area is small but I crowded during our stay and a private pool few know about is behind the building. The staff really goes the extra mile to make your stay memorable. We ate at all the venues and enjoyed all.....the table made guacamole at the Flying V was fab plus tried all the drinks by the pool, the skinny lemonade and jalapeño margarita were favorites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martybest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Wow, thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review! It sounds like you had an amazing stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor! The tableside guacamole at the Flying V Bar & Grill is definitely a guest favorite and is fantastic!! We are so glad you had such a great time and we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,763 - 1,769 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Its almost not fair to review this hotel since our stay here followed stays at The Resort at Pelican Hill in Newport Beach and the Grand Del Mar near San Diego. Those are tough acts to follow. But let's be pragmatic about this. Would we come back? Yes. What did we think about the staff? Friendly and helpful, but maybe a little understaffed. Did we like the room? Not particularly.

The king bed was turned strangely from a corner. It was an odd configuration for a room that was big enough to place the bed square to the wall. The furnishings were a little pedestrian and the A/C didn't quite get it done. But the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was nice with a great shower and there was a nice covered balcony overlooking the 18th hole, a pond and the city lights of Tucson way off in the distance.

The restaurant was surprisingly good. We ate dinner twice at the Flying V Grill and thought both meals were excellent. The wow factor though was the 2 golf courses. We played 7 rounds of golf on 6 different courses on this trip and we ranked the Ventana Canyon Mountain Course as our favorite, even ahead of Torrey Pines in Del Mar. And the condition of both courses was outstanding. We do lots of golfing trips and we have never been anywhere where both courses were equally so good. Usually you love one course and the second is just OK.

So we will definitely be back. We look forward to the two great golf courses and dining again at the Flying V Grill(try the steaks, they are top notch). Now if we can just get that bed turned around and out of the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and especially our two Tom Fazio championship golf courses! We will certainly share your comments with our entire staff as well as the staff at the Pro Shop and the Flying V Bar & Grill! Thank you again so very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon for more great golf and steak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We chose Loews Ventana as the location for our wedding, February 2013. We could not have made a better choice! The attention to detail was exceptional. The scenic location was beautiful and the staff was phenomenal. I wish I could do it all over again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Wow, thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review and congratulations on your recent marriage!! We are honored that you chose to celebrate this incredibly special occasion with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear that your wedding day was everything you imagined it would be and we will definitely share your kind words with our entire staff! Thank you so much and congratulations again from all of us at Loews Ventana Canyon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great place to stay for a few days. The hotel is a bit dated, they definitely need to put in more outlets in the room for charging devices, but everything is still very nice. Everything is very clean which is a huge plus for me. The staff is top notch all the way around. The pool is spectacular and the wait staff at the pool deserves an award. The property is unbelievable and you should make it a point to walk around...... a lot. The waterfall is a must see! The beds are just OK and the TV's are smallish. The Free WiFi is slow and barely passable. The layout of the hotel is strange and some rooms require quite a hike to get to, but that could be because they designed this hotel around the environment instead of destroying the environment to put up a hotel. Room service food was good and quick and not terribly overpriced. All in all I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for staying with us at Loews Ventana Canyon on your recent trip to Tucson! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we will be sure to share your comments with our management. You are correct; our resort was designed and built to make as small of an impact as possible on the beautiful desert landscape we call home. Due to this unique design, we were named “the first environmentally-conceived resort in North America” by Architectural Digest in 1984! Thank you again for your wonderful TripAdvisor review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to sunny Tucson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Lowes is a fantastic place to stay... I would recommend it anyone. The staff is awesome and always there to help! Amazing golf course. The kids love to feed the koy fish (food is provided by the resort). The short hike to the waterfall is awesome. You CANNOT MISS the Sunday Brunch!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in many rooms... all are great. We've stayed in both the "city view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericjensen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! It sounds like you had a wonderful time while staying with us and we agree; the Blues, Brews & Barbeque Sunday Brunch is not to be missed! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Tucson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I led a training event here just a few weeks ago. It was wonderful. The staff is sincerely dedicated and enthused to make sure your stay is as close to perfect as possible. The hotel is family friendly. There is enough to do on the property that your time on the property can be full and rewarding or--just a quite place to pause as you soak up southern Arizona. For the money you will spend here,,, you will feel like it was well spent....it's far better than an Embassy Suits---but about the same price.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that one side is up against a mountain--so the view wears thin fast---the other side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful TripAdvisor review! We are very glad to hear that your training event went well and that you enjoyed your stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our many guest activities on property while still enjoying the relaxing desert atmosphere! Thank you again for your review and we hope you will be back to stay with us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

There were a number of things about Loews that we loved. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was very comfortable, fantastic bedding and very clean. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, I highly recommend a walk to the waterfall. It was very peaceful, lots of birds and vegetation, with great posters and signage. The gym and sauna were very, very clean. All of our meals were excellent including happy hour and snacks in the lounge. Our initial room was not great, no view, except a gravel roof and Trevor at the front desk quickly rectified this with a much nicer room. Our only complaint is that the wifi was very slow and dropped out on a few occasions in our room. We could return and enjoy spending a week!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LVCRServiceDesk, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Wow! Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for choosing to stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon on your recent visit to Tucson! Our Window Walk Nature Trail is a guest favorite and allows visitors the chance to easily learn more about the Sonoran Desert without having to leave the hotel! We are so pleased to hear that Trevor was able to arrange a room with a better view for you and we will be sure to share your kind comments with him! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $195 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing