We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a treat! My husband and I spent the night at Ventana Canyon Resort before hiking Sabino Canyon in the morning. At check in, we were recognized as loyal customers and given a couple of unexpected perks. We felt very welcome. The grounds, in the foothills of Catalina mountains were beautifully manicured. We especially enjoyed the walking paths through the labeled native vegetation. Our room was clean, spacious, well appointed and had a terrific view. In the morning, we had a lovely breakfast before embarking on our hike. After a suboptimal experience at the Wynn Las Vegas 2 weeks ago, my faith in quality hotel service has been restored!

Room Tip: I prefer the Eastside. I enjoy the views. They seem easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixNeurorad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    497
    153
    77
    43
See reviews for
508
777
98
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location and very friendly staff. We booked a standard room through Hotels.com and was promptly upgraded to a luxury room with mountain view free of charge and without request. The view from the probate patio was stunning. The bathtub was almost the size of a hot tub. Our only "complaint" (if you can even call it that), was with the pillows. They were too firm for our taste. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kahlan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Only stayed one night at this facility. It was a surprise how nice the rooms and surroundings were. The room was modern, clean and spacious. The bath tub was large enough for 4 very large people to bath. I have seen smaller hot tubs. The pool area and lobby were very extensively decorated with stone and seasonal themes. The paved pathways above the hotel were paved and much of the flora and fauna are illustrated on placards place along the walkways. No breakfast included but down the road is a Whole Foods that serves a great breakfast with a nice outdoor eating area. Also close to Sabino National Recreation Area which makes for a great hike or run at sunrise.

Room Tip: Many good rooms in the hills above the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort is beautiful, and in a great location. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary while on our first trip to Tucson. There is lots to explore close by (the concierge, Pam, offered great suggestions based on our likes and dislikes), or plenty of relaxation options available at one of two pools or at the spa. The service was overall, hands-down, the best we have received in recent memory -- from the front desk, to the servers, to the gift shop staff! We enjoyed the food at the Flying V and Canyon Cafe and appreciated being greeted by name. Our servers were quick to offer dining suggestions, and were very focused on making sure we had a pleasant dining experience. We enjoyed coffee on our balcony each morning, as the view was beautiful and peaceful. We look forward to returning to this resort, as well as using other Loews resorts for future travel.

Room Tip: Talk directly with the staff. They will steer you in the right direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

great hotel, rooms clean, staff friendly, but it is a huge hotel and lots of walking
overall a great resort. 2 great golf courses. conference area was ample for over
250 attendees. meals were served for all attendees efficiently and were pretty good
tasting. The bar was open and enjoyable, but on the expensive side.

Room Tip: was upgraded to suite, so didn't see their standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon for the IES ALC Fall Conference and for your review on Trip Advisor. We try to create an experience for conference attendees and leisure guests alike. Again, thank you for taking time to write the review (from the perspective of a conference attendee). Please come back and see us if ever your travels bring you to Tucson.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location, the rooms are private, quiet and clean. I stay here regularly when I am in Tucson on business. The staff is always so courteous and professional. They refer to me by name and the service is unmatched. I really enjoy using the fitness center, the restaurants and the food are exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel and commend them on setting themselves well above the standard in their industry in taking care of their guests.

Room Tip: I always book online and it's very simple. Sometimes they run great promotions here too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your loyal patronage and for the nice comments on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your business and hope you keep coming back, to Loews Ventana Canyon. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance here in Tucson.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This must have been a great resort once upon a time but clearly needs an serious overhaul. The setting and views are outstanding and the road and entrance were gorgeous and inviting but it was all downhill from there. The refrigerator in the room ended up being a weird "cooler" with a key that looks like it was purchased at a used mini-bar sale (it even had a random typed note in it saying it wasn't cold enough to safely store dairy products). The "early american" style dresser/tv cabinet simply did not fit in and all the furniture in general screamed yard sale. The views were breathtaking and the staff really tried and were sincerely accommodating but they could only do what they could with what they had.
I'm a fan of Trip Advisor and made my reservation based on the reviews but the ratings for this Lowes were either fabricated or written in 1984. Biggest disappointment I've encountered in a long time. We were booked in for a week and checked out early. Total bummer.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank todabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We very much appreciate you recently visiting Loews Ventana Canyon. We strive to provide an outstanding customer experience for our guests and never "fabricate" a review. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I am sharing your comments with senior management. Please give us another try if your travels again bring you back to the Tucson area.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing