We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a fantastic resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wow! What a fantastic resort!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The resort was spotless and offered excellent customer service. Daisy, at the concierge desk, was able to offer some wonderful family excursions in the area. We are a family of 5 and there was plenty to do on property. The food in the restaurants offered healthy options and was prepared perfectly. I can't say enough good things about this resort. My husband did golf and thoroughly enjoyed the course. If you are looking for a fantastic "desert" experience, this is the spot. Local hiking offers views and a real closeness to the local vegetation. Bring your camera!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    535
    170
    80
    44
See reviews for
544
833
103
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Three things stand out from our visit to Loews Ventana: food, location, and service. Whether at the main dining restaurant, Flying V or the Canyon Cafe where we ate breakfast, the food was consistently outstanding especially the trout. The vegetable and side dishes were always fresh, mostly native, and perfect complements.

Service throughout the hotel was always with a smile though a few staff seemed to have pasted smiles--one can tell the difference. Three staff members stood out:: Daniel and Aaron at the Flying V who made our dining special with their attention and humor; and Victoria, the concierge, gave us good advice for meals outside the hotel grounds and touring, Her driving directions were clear and recommendations met our preferences as she really listened to what we wanted. The rooms need freshening, beds were comfortable, tubs unnecessarily large with shower controls out of reach from outside the tub. Cleaning in out of the way places needs improvement. Grounds were well kept--desert walk was pleasant and educational. Entry door had no seal so hall lights and noise entered foyer. Do not have the breakfast buffet--it is less than average and did not meet the standard of the rest of the menu. Did not use spa.

Room Tip: Rooms on east near main entry are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saschec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Loews twice within a four month period. The first stay was in the spring and it was just beautiful. We paid the full rack rate and are LoewsFirst members. The service was top notch and we had a large, comfortable room for a family of 5. The pool chairs were plentiful and pool /restaurant service was good. The only thing we had to ask for repeatedly were extra bath towels.
Our second stay was in August was a completely different story. The hotel runs extra low rates, sells rooms on Groupon & other discount sites for approx $89. I think the rates for Arizona residents are even lower. The resort was overcrowded with large groups and families. Room service trays littered the hallways. The pool was the worst! Overcrowded, loud, Dirty beer cups floating in the pool...horrible service, completely unrelaxing atmosphere. The parking lots were completely full and service was sub-par all around. even the Concierge was clueless. We wanted an upscale, southwestern restaurant & she sent us to this horrible, grungy place across town connected to a run down motel and casino. Scary! We left drove another 30 minutes and wound up at Flemings steakhouse for a decent meal & wine!
Overall, it is a pretty resort set in the beautiful foothills. However, consider what time of year you are traveling prior to making reservations! Our third trip 8 weeks later was at the JW Marriott.

Room Tip: High floor, mountain view, main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njbchluvr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Loews is a beautiful resort tucked into the mountains. It's a bit of a drive from the airport, but well worth it. I stayed with my wife and daughters and we all had a fantastic time. The dinners at the cafe were all very good, including the fish tacos! We also had the brunch one afternoon and it was also fantastic. So much to choose from, all of it very good and a great atmosphere to relax and enjoy. The wait staff was very accomodating and very quick about refreshing drinks.
The rooms leave a little to be desired as they look a little tired, but the mountain views more than make up for it.. The outdoor space, including the pool, and waterfall are lovely. We did go to a restaurant down the street and the concierge had all the info and was very helpful.
I also had some business to take care of and the business center was quick and easy to navigate. We will definetly be staying here again, when we come back to Tucson.

Room Tip: Both the mountain views and the City views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights for a quick get-away and were very pleased. The location and setting for the resort are quite lovely. Rather than being built on the desert mountains, the resort is built INTO the mountains. Nice architectural design - definitely not a cookie cutter design; reminiscent of Frank Lloyed Wright styling. Great attention seems to have been paid to preserving the surrounding natural areas. The pool area is ample but became extremely over-crowded during Saturday - - not even enough chairs for us to sit there. They have nice Happy Hour specials and the food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Definitely ask about view options when checking in (city or mountain); city views might include park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

So, we needed a quiet, restful weekend sans our children. We had heard about Loews and decided to try it out. Glad we did! It is tucked in a nice area of the hills. Scenic, peaceful. Everyone is super friendly and really does go out of their way to make your stay welcoming. (minus a gal that worked the check in desk Friday evening, she didn't appear to be an extrovert) You are greeted by your name when you call the front desk, or the valet, or bell hops, and wait service
The rooms are a nice size, clean, and your typical southwest influence in the decor. Loved that their bed was super comfy and the bathtub is Huge! Each room has a 1 cup Keurig as well with coffee/tea provided.
We loved the large lounge downstairs (excellent service) and the lounge areas outdoors by the pool was nice. We even walked their trail to see the waterfall that's on their property which was bonus! We tried room service and the Flying V Bar & Grill. The food is very tasty!
I would just advise that the walls are kind of on the thin side (we could hear the tot next door crying, whining, etc..) and this resort is pet friendly - so you may hear some barking (as we did). However, we did enjoy this location very much - and hope to return in the near future. It was truly a great value/affordable resort stay. Next time..we will make sure we request a hall "without small children" however :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfamAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The resort and the views were amazing. We also ate at the resort for 4 meals and they were all wonderful, and well worth it.

One thing that stands out the most is the staff. Everyone was courteous, polite and hospitable, however one person in particular we felt went well above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. That person is Executive Chef Ken Harvey. He took time to tell us about the different restaurants, recommendations, events around the city, etc. He is down to earth, made us feel at home and an exceptional chef! He is the reason we will make this resort one of our favorites!

-Tricia & Phil F.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfiacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing