We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was a very BUSY weekend and they figured out how to handle the crowds and still give great service.

I will return again whenever I am in Tucson.

golf course is in great shape also.

Do not confuse this with the Lodge At Ventana Canyon, a second rate copy of this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,612
    498
    155
    77
    43
See reviews for
509
778
98
616
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Loews Ventana Canyon for 5 nights. Getting in quite late it was a relief to have the valet, Garland, waiting for us. After an easy check-in we went over to the Flying V restaurant for a late snack. Their tableside guacamole is a MUST. The non-traditional version had kumquats chopped into it. The kitchen split a burger for us since we were not that hungry. It was the perfect end to a hectic day.
Throughout our stay we found the resort to be lively with live music, games, and pool activity. When we wanted quiet relaxation, it was easy to find. Several times we sought out the quieter pool by the tennis courts. The staff was very accommodating, bringing a mini-fridge to our room at our request. One suggestion, why not just have one in each room. Especially at a desert resort most people would want that convenience.
We will surely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The entire experience was wonderful from the valet services to the conference facilities. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and easily temperature controlled. The food in several different serving areas was superb, a class act chef. The pool and golf facilities and personel were outstanding. We would recommend Lowes without hesitation. Visited in March. The whole staff has been expertly trained to enhance your experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just had 3 wonderful nights there for a family celebration. The pool area was wonderful and the staff was fantastic and very attentive. Great experience. The walks around the resort were awesome. So different for Florida and the golf course was amazing and very challenging. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Definitely would go back there again. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked Loews Ventana at literally the last minute for a Spring Break trip. The hotel manager was great about getting our room ready for a semi early checkin (had traveled the previous 12 hours to get here). The hotel is in a gorgeous spot at the foothills of the mountains with breathtaking views. The pool is beautiful and the service from the restaurants to the lounge/pool staff is some of the best I have ever experienced. The rooms are comfortable and each room has a private terrace. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. You cannot go wrong.

Thank you!

Michele Thompson

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your last minute stay and for taking time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you found the resort to your liking and mostly that the service level was the "best" for you. Please come back again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort because my husband's business conference was there. The day we checked in, they told us that they did not have a room with a king bed even though we had requested one. So we had a room with two beds. They said they would have one available for the next evening if we would be interested in moving. We went out for dinner and came back to the room to a strong sewer smell. Luckily, the weather was nice so we had the doors open to remove the smell. The next morning, my husband called to report the smell. Maintenance checked it out and could not find anything. They offered us another room with the king bed so we took it.

If you like outdoor activities, there is a waterfall, a trail for walking and the resort is located near Sabino Canyon.

It's a drive from the city so if you want to do sight seeing, you should rent a car. They even have a Hertz office on-site.

There is an observation deck where you can look out over the city at night. We sat up there for a little while. The weather was great and it was beautiful. There are also benches around the water feature in front of the hotel. I sat out there one afternoon reading and watching the golfers.

The food at the first dinner was disappointing. The steak was overcooked and dry, I noticed quite a few people did not eat the meat. We decided to patronize local restaurants during our stay. The second meal that was provided to conference attendees was good but not anything spectacular.

Unfortunately, we did not take our laptop. The business center charges for use of the computers. However, you can print out boarding passes for no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotInKansasToto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed the views and the Windowwalk Nature Trail. I am also sorry to hear about the room issues and the banquet food quality, you mentioned in your review. We are reviewing your comments with senior management and I am hopeful that you will come back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent three nights here and enjoyed every moment. Beautiful resort tucked into the mountains. The pools, hot tubs and walking paths are all well maintained. Our room was clean, peaceful and comfortable. We observed beautiful sunsets each evening from our balcony.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bcarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. Thank you also for your Lovely review on Tripadvisor. You have a nice way with words and I appreciate the way you describe our pools, nature trail and the sunset views. Please come back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing