We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Conference Stay -would come back 4 vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 20% Off
Ranked #6 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Pasadena, FL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Conference Stay -would come back 4 vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in rooms near the north parking area with walk out patio overlooking grassy area + some parking. To walk to conference in morning was not bad indoor or outdoor route. WiFi in room was avg. Bath tub was the size of small pool (bring bath salt/fizz as the gift shop's is $12-16). Small fridge with one set temp not meant to hold meds or frozen foods or anything. Keurig coffee/tea in the room. Room was clean & comfy. Very spacious for 2 roommates to share. You must come up stairs to get to these rooms so if your luggage is heavy have them help you at check-in. It was nice to walk the trail in AM before meetings, get a coffee @ Starbucks on site. The conference rooms were boring. The color was blah and nothing nice to look at behind the speaker- no windows in our rooms - could put you to sleep. Food provided was good. WiFi in conf room was horrible or not existent. Pool, fire pits, astronomy in the evenings, quiet bar area - 4th floor lookout tower nice at night to see over Tuscon. It is about 40min. drive to airport, sits outside of town but there are also lots of shopping/restaurants nearby. The only things I have as complaints a) neighbors who smoke outside, seems to come into room wish there was a actual non-smoking patio section b) the food at Flying V was pricey and not tasty (super hard vegetables with trout dinner and trout tasted a little over salted). Can't wait to come back and enjoy property on my own time, not just for work!

Room Tip: Rooms near north parking lot may hear generator type noise and are farther from conference rooms. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpintheairGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    464
    148
    76
    44
See reviews for
467
719
92
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were fortunate to find a promotional price that enticed us to try this resort when planning our visit. The grounds are beautiful and the views and staff are amazing. We were treated superbly even though we were paying far less that the regular rate. We were visiting our son at UA so didn't have time to try the golf course(s) on site but if you come here bring your clubs as they look outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the central section of the hotel as the walk to the end of the wings is long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel2more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We recently stayed at the resort while visiting for Family Weekend at UA. Our daughter's sorority held its' Friday night event at Ventana. The event was wonderful and the food was delicious. From the time we checked in on Friday evening, until the time we left on Sunday, we enjoyed every moment. The front desk staff were welcoming and our bellman (Steve) was so helpful and pleasant. We truly enjoyed our time, as a family, in our spacious and comfortable room with an amazing view. We plan to stay again, the next time we visit Tucson, and would highly recommend Ventana Canyon, to anyone else that is traveling to Tucson, as a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay during Parents Weekend in Tucson. We also very much appreciate your nice review and the comments you posted on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide outstanding guest service and we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time at Loews Ventana Canyon. Please do come back and see us!
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Beautiful location built onto the side of the mountain with natural waterfall and stream near pool. It's not a bad hotel, it's just not a good one. It is a very dark hotel. I can understand the building materials being dark to meld into the mountain but there are no fabrics or decoration that are bright or cheery. The grounds belong to a 5 star hotel but everything else is lacking for this price range. We agreed that this would not be the place to spend a week.

The rooms are in dire need of updating. The carpet was frayed on the edges, the furniture is old (the tv cabinet is a huge piece that would have held a big, deep tv), the cordless phone is an old brick type, the tv in the bathroom is older and not really necessary (like it is there just to say they have it), the tub/shower combo space is huge but there is only one slider so water gets on the floor no matter what and it is a little chilly standing in there, there is not enough room on the bathroom counter to put all your things. One really great thing is that the curtains are darker rust and heavy so no light gets in but they can be pulled all the way back to give you a full view.

Customer service was horrible from the beginning. We did not get any kind of welcome. We walked to reception and there was a suitcase in the middle of the way. We did not know who it belonged to but we did not want to cut in line so we stood there and asked the staff if they knew who it belonged to. Two just stood there and looked back at us. We asked again and pointed at it but they both just stood there staring at us and said nothing. We walked around it to the counter and they still just stood there until I said that we wanted to check in.

During check-in they did not give us verify the price, even when asked, nor did we sign anything. We were told we could self park or valet for the same price. It was pointed out that if we used the valet we were expected to give a gratuity. Fair enough but does that need to be pointed out? Almost everyone at and near reception is in need of getting their clothing altered. Clearly the women were wearing jackets made for men since their sleeves were so long.

They only change your sheets every three days unless you call. The only way you know this is from a small card in the bathroom. We misplaced that card so I used the 'star' button on the phone and explained that we wanted ours replaced after the second night. He seemed a little miffed and then transferred me to housekeeping. The exterior hallway lights came on well after dark and even then they were inadequate.

The toilet in the bathroom was dirty when we got there and never cleaned. We used wipes to clean the areas we used but never lifted the seat.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite luxury room on the 4th floor facing the mountain. All rooms that have a city view ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HikerGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and for your feedback. We strive to provide outstanding customer service and it seems as though we fell short during your stay. I am very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced as a result. Your comments have been reviewed by senior management and, once again, thanks you for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This property is a fantastic destination resort. Built into the side of a mountain, the views are just astounding. Lots of great hiking and beautiful golf courses. There is a full spa, tennis courts and pools and hot tub and "cold tub." The Flying V serves very nice food and there are several bars for lounging. Rooms are great with HUGE tubs and balconies. The staff persons are super accommodating and friendly. They seem to genuinely want you to have a great time.

Room Tip: I like the mountain view side of the hotel better, but the view of the city at night is really prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane8900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After 8 years this was our second stay here and again we were not disappointed. We booked from Germany via DerTour for are very good price and updated at arrival to a room with view over Tucson. The room was very spacious, the huge bathtube fits for 2 and the beds were great. We enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel, all the staff was very friendly, especially Oskar made every morning erfect omelettes. The surroundig, the pool area and the garden walks give you a real holiday feeling. Just 2 miles away are some nice restaurants. If we come back, we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: With an upgrade you may choose between great townview or pool-mountainview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docholiday57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are delighted that you choose to return to Loews Ventana Canyon and so glad you found the resort to your liking; even with 8 years since your last stay. Do tell your friends in Germany about Ventana Canyon and please do come back and see us.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is my second time at this hotel and have been very pleased both times. All the staff - from the front desk (Marsh), to the bellman (Chris), to the waitresses (Michelle) - they are all so very friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, the location is serene, and there are many hiking trails that start from the back of the hotel. The gym is sufficient and reasonably updated. The hotel is a bit removed from other restaurants and shops, and would advise getting a rental car to get around. I didn't get a chance to play any golf, but the course looks enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the property that face the city may have a bit less traffic noise since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlers_With_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing