We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service - Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Loews Ventana Canyon Ranch is beautifully nestled in the Sonoran Desert. The golf course was picture perfect, particularly in light of the over 100 degree temperature. The grounds are impeccable and so is the service. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Our spa experience was wonderful as well. Although the locker room facilities are small, they are never crowded and are very clean. Sunday's brunch was outstanding. A nice perk is that Valet parking is offered gratis. We really enjoyed our time at Ventana and highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the south offer the best views and keep your room light and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottsdaleJanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,556 - 2,562 of 2,969 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Ventana Canyon two years after it was built, in 1988. Everything was new and luxurious. At this point, I'd say the place is in need of redecorating. The guest rooms appeared to be tired and worn and I've stayed in many a Four Points by Sheraton that had far nicer furnishings and bed linens, for a much lower price. Ventana Canyon is now an average hotel in a great setting.

There were a few problems. The wireless signal was the worst I've ever experienced, anywhere, including in a few less developed countries. I was cut off every few minutes, and the front desk admitted that there was a problem. Parking was abominable - there were private events and weddings that literally filled up the lots with event guests, and hotel guests weren't given priority to park in the lots closest to the guest rooms. This dog friendly hotel also needs to do something about dog owners not being too vigilant about cleaning up after their pets and they need to be a little quicker about cleaning up public areas in the morning - who wants to see cigarette butts and half-empty drinks from the night before when you go to use the hot tub in the a.m., or piles of trash sitting alongside the trash cans in the outdoor hallways?

Our room wasn't made up until 4:00 PM, which I found incredibly late, and there was no turn down service.

Maybe my standards are just too high at this point, but I found the hotel inferior to many others in their class and far beneath my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view, because the city views face very busy parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EssexPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The resort is beautiful and has beautiful grounds. the rooms are adequate and each one has a balcony. The beds are very comfy and the room service was fast and delicious (and expensive).
There was a live, loud band playing there. And I do mean loud. It didn't stop until 11;30 at night. Then the next morning was a Sunday and they start a morning brunch out by the pool at around 11. and sure enough, another loud band playing right below our balcony. During the band breaks, there was soft music playing with seem to fit the mood much better. There is a wonderful waterfall to hike up to. However, after reading all the signs on the way to the waterfall, low and behold-the waterfall was fake and run by a series of pumps. bummer. It was a nice stay, but pricey and loud. I will probably not go back unless we win a few free nights. Oh and to order a movie? $18.99-the highest i have ever seen.
t

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ps_webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Loews Ventana Canyon resort is sited around/on top of a fascinating eco stream, pools and large waterfall. There is a large koi pond which the hotel vaults over, next to the large pool. The physical plant is in excellent condition, and service and friendliness are unmatched. Virtually everyone says hello and seems to mean it. The waitstaff is friendly and talkative and quickly learns you, where you like to sit, and often your name. Fish tacos @ the outside grill are really excellent. Rooms are clean and bed was excellent and comfortable. Fixtures and tiling were in excellent shape. Many walking trails. We had a conference there and basically filled the hotel - this went off w/o a hitch despite many transitions of venue, set-ups, arrangements, etc. Grounds were beautiful and lecture hall/auditorium (Kiva) was exceptional. An excellent conference hotel. I asked for a quiet room and it was very quiet. Food prices are a little high for Tucson, esp for buffets, but food was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on fourth floor facing the parking lot are very quiet and there is a good view of the mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

First visit to Tucson and although we travel extensively, I believe it was our first Loews hotel. We were attracted to this property because of the 36 holes of golf and the walking trails. When we checked in, since we were staying for 5 nights, they offered us free valet parking and free internet for the week. We accept! Our rate was under $200 per night for an upgraded king room, which for a luxury resort is a great rate. Here's what was great at the hotel: The pool, the service at the pool, the two walking trails, both golf courses, the service at the golf courses, the Starbucks area and breakfast lunch area, the dinners at their Flying V restaurant and the spa. I literally found NOTHING wrong with this place. The people were friendly, everyone wanted to please and everything offered from room, food, drinks and recreation were wonderful. Nice job!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golf_wine_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Even if you are not staying at the resort. You can still enjoy some of the amenities. Of course, you can eat at the Flying V. Haven't been there yet. To get to the trail you walk through the lobby and go to the right just follow the well defined trail which takes you to see several different vistas. The waterfall is awesome. Along the path they name what plants you are seeing as well as the birds. It's really like a nature trail. Perfect for kids to enjoy. It's totally free and open to the public. A must see to take visitors. Needless to say the setting is awesome. Take your camera for some wonderful shots. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks Ventana Canyon Resort for keeping this little gem for all to enjoy.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank cindy635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had not planned to stay in Tucson but decided at the last moment to overnight at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort. We had a fourth floor room with a lovely balcony view overlooking the sequoia-covered foothills. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The rug was torn (thus four stars rather than five). The bath had nice soaps and lotions and a large square tub and shower. The large pool area offers plenty of room for relaxing. Be sure to take a little time to walk on the paved trails behind the hotel to the waterfall and viewing areas to look out over the Tucson valley. The staff was friendly with prompt checkin and checkout. They do charge for parking -- same price whether self-park or valet plus valet tip. We did not eat at the hotel; however, some hotel rates did include a meal credit. Be sure to check their specials. Would we go back? You bet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
7.4 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
14 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $182 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing