We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service. Great setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great service. Great setting.”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Went for a girlfriend getaway and was so impressed. Have stayed at some wonderful properties throughout the world and this ranks in my top 10 for service and amenities. We stayed in a grand room with a mountain view. Nicely appointed. Nice covered patio. Huge bath tub/shower. I asked for a fridge to be brought up and it was done, no charge. In fact, every request I had, whether large or small, was done efficiently and with care. Everyone from the bellmen, to the front desk, to foodservers, and spa staff treated us with respectful and friendly kindness. They obviously train their staff well there.
Used a LOT of the facilities. Did the par course to warm up for a hike (more on that later), swam in the pool by the spa (if you like a quieter, no kids pool experience, this one is for you!). Had a wonderful service at the spa. They waive the $10 day use fee when you have a treatment. There were dry and moist saunas in the locker rooms. The fitness facility is there also and offers a variety of classes each week (I even emailed them ahead of my stay and asked for the weekly schedule and had a reply within a day!)
The jacuzzi by the main pool was nice and warm with strong jets. Was surprised there were not more jets for how big it was. There were water features there and throughout the property. The waterfall was nice, but not lit well for nighttime viewing.
They had a business center which offered free access to print boarding passes and complimentary useage for 15 minutes for guests (must swipe your credit card first.) The variety of shops was nice as well.
Ate breakfast in the Canyon Cafe. They had the option of a buffet so we tried it. Oscar made us wonderful omeletes. Good variety of foods to choose from. Service good. Sat outside in the shade. Beautiful way to start the day.
We also hiked the Ventana Trail to the Maiden Pools. The trailhead is just through the parking lot. How convenient and how nice to be at a resort that is up against the mountain. Quieter and more beautiful because of that!
If I had only a few suggestions, they would be the following:
1. For a resort of this quality, I would have expected extra long, extra fluffy towels. I have better towels at home. Their bedding was nice. Why not their towels?
2. They should let people know if they are staying on the 4th floor west wing that it does not "attach" to the main building. Easy to get lost at first. The 2nd and 3rd floors go through no problem.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for either an east or west mountain view room (a grand room category guarantees this). A city v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    540
    174
    81
    45
See reviews for
552
844
103
760
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Service was great and all the restaurants were nice.....clean rooms, timely housekeeping, excellent pool and pool staff"......a good experience

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I checked into the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort - 2nd stay - for one night. I was treated very well by the reception desk as well as the bell hops. Everyone was obviously well trained and provided very amicable service. I turned down the 1st room offered and got a room more to my liking. The resort is not high end luxury, but in Tucson you want the Western luxe vibe, not a sharp NYC look and feel so they are on the money there.
One complaint - my room entrance was exterior (not in a hallway, but outside) and the night lighting is really awful. For anyone with bad night vision request a room with indoor access!
This visit I partook of the spa - made a last minute appointment for a massage, no problems. The spa is small but well appointed. The boutique has lovely apparel and many lotions and potions. What I really appreciated was the fabulous massage from Christine (be sure to ask for her, she's awesome). Unlike so many spas, she didn't push their products, just provided me with a wonderful, relaxing experience. Ahhhh.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room with exterior access, the lighting is horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthHaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a trip to see Kartchner Caverns in Benson (about one hour southeast of Tucson). We were very impressed with this area of Tucson, which is much nicer than most of the city. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was not huge, but was big enough. The tub was a surprise though...it took up half the bathroom! The only part of the room that we were unimpressed with was the bed. We were expecting the bed to be much more comfortable considering this is a luxury resort. My boyfriend said his bed at home was a lot more comfortable. The balcony was the true feature of the room though. We were on the top floor with a view of the city, and it was really relaxing to sit out there, drinking wine and enjoying the weather. In the morning, we had the breakfast buffet at the restaurant downstairs in the lobby, the highlight of which was the omelet station. All in all a great experience!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a top floor city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I came here with my husband,and we arrive around 8 pm. The lobby its spacious and have a lot of comfy sofas,with views to the mountain and pool, or in a long corridor facing parking lot(there's cactus and trees,so you cant actually see the parking lot). We were inmediately received, and we ask for an upgrade(we ask for the room facing the mountains), they told me they didn't have availability, but all the rooms are very nice. We stayed in the 4th floor and it was a nice room, with a large bathroom and a gorgeous tub and a tv.Also had a mini bar,coffee maker. The bed was super cozy, and next to it,there's a sofa and a comfy chair. We also enjoyed the terrace! The grill bill restaurant seems veeery good (we saw the sunday brunch and it looks delicious). The hotel have a path to a cascade,and in the way you can see the names of the plants,hear the birds and maybe see a desert animal.It haves all the stuff a resort have,but in a desert way,very different and refreshing. The staff were helpful and nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the desert scenery. Upon check-in, we were greeted promptly, and even though we arrived early there was no issue getting a room. We asked for a mountain view room and they obliged. We had lunch at Bill's grill, which is on the property. I will say the service was very slow, luckily we weren't in a hurray, but the food was delicious. We had breakfast at the Canyon Cafe and it was high quality, good food. Average price is $14 for a meal. The service here was excellent. We also had an issue with the in room safe and security came right away to fix it. The only thing I would like better is if there was a hotel shuttle that could take you to and from the airport, it is a $55 cab ride. So far we are on our 2nd day of our stay and I'm pretty happy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noproblemMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had a good stay at the Loews Ventana Canyon. The setting is lovely, although it definitely is necessary to have a car to explore around Tucson. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was tasty; we didn't do the buffet but ordered off the menu. We enjoyed the happy hour in the lounge, watching the mountains as the sun went down. The pool area and spa were nice, although it was too cold to swim when we were there. Our main complaint were the extra charges--for the gym, for Internet in the room, and especially for the parking. The hotel is removed from the city--it's very hard to understand why they are charging $9 a day for self-parking. The extra charges added up to more than the resort fees that some hotels charge and are not mentioned when you make the reservation.

Room Tip: A view of the mountains is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag1jag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing