We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting for wedding event with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We recently were at the resort for a 3 day wedding.
Pros
- spacious and clean rooms
- great views from the 4th floor
- Excellent service all around - room staff, maid service, cafeteria staff, health club/spa.
- huge resort property in a beautiful location.

Not so great
- a forced 20% gratuity resort fee on most services, $8/water bottle.
- Wireless internet access is charged in the room, but is free in the lobby
- less shelf space inside the suites for a 4 person family.

The resort is great for families and you will find many retirees and golf lovers.
The registration desk attendent upgraded us to a suite on the 4th floor for the 2 adults and 2 kids. Since we got a group discount, the rate was unbeatable in the high season. So it was an excellent value. I would have typically paid thrice as much.
The wedding was in the ballrooms which were spacious.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. My pre-teen son cut his finger. They sent their security person (Dennis) in a few minutes with a huge bag of medicines and first aid. Dennis was very friendly, put my son at ease and gave him some first aid. He also left us some tips about local medical services. The room staff was great. The staff helped in decorating the ballrooms for the wedding events and service was overall great during the reception. The concierge was ever helpful with tips about local areas. I had to buy shoes at the last minute and they gave me the best options in the local area.The TV service was down for a while, so I called up the front desk. They sent the service engineer in minutes. The maid service was good, but did not go beyond changing the linen and bathroom. They didnt go as far as setting aside the messy rooms we left behind in a hurry.
We visited the fitness club every day. It opens at 6am - wish it was earlier. They also charge a $10/day/room charge for using the facilities. The gym has basic weight training equipment and treadmills. The swimming pools are quite popular. These days many resorts are charging fees, which are hidden costs. They do have classes for separate fee.My wife had her hair styled and loved the service. But there is a 20% 'resort fee' to cover gratuity, be aware. There is a nice Ventana canyon trail right behind the resort and you can pick up maps from the concierge. you can do a 4 hr hike in the backcountry to the top of the mountains for an excellent view of Tucson. This also means you might run into wild boars and other wild life in the backyard.
Wireless is charged at $10 per day but you can go to the huge lobby area where wireless is free. The signal is stronger near the bar, so find a table near it.There is a business desk which charges for internet access and print/fax services if you don't have a computer.

They also charge for daily parking. All these charges can add up quickly.
There is a pharmacy and strip mall on Kolb & Sunrise right outside the resort for basic supplies and major groceries stores 5 min drive away.
I had stayed in Tucson for 2 yrs and had heard about this resort, but didnt know it was this good. I would definitely return to this resort for a relaxing family vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor of east or west wing have great views. Corner suite is the presidential s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,495 - 2,501 of 2,846 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were there for a wedding. The room was a corner room that was very spacious. The king bed was comfy and the service was great. The balcony views are breathtaking - morning or night The shower/bath is very spacious. The food was outstanding and the bar was open until 2 PM with excellent service. Now for the negatives: the resort is huge, so our corner room was quite far away from the lobby, but closer with the shortcut through the parking lot. Housekeeping never arrived until 3 PM. Walls are thin, and with noisy kids next door, we slept little!

Room Tip: Corner suites/rooms are more spacious. Rooms overlooking the parking lot are actually the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The location is beautiful. Surrounded by the mountains. Beautiful city lights at night. Nothing is really too far in Tucson. If your up North or East, perfect location. Downtown may be a little far.

Great food! Great customer service.

Room was large. Facing the city. Beautiful view at night. Huge bathtub with a little tv on the way.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewG129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We've stayed here twice. We enjoy coming here because the hotel is nice, the service is good and the food is good as well. The area is very nice, the location is very scenic with nice mountain views. The resort is located close enough (short drive) to other shopping and dining areas. The property has a nice short little trail for a small hike that goes to a little waterfall. There's also a larger waterfall on the property where you can side at on the deck at the restaurant for nice outdoor dining. The room is nice and the bathroom as a very large tub. The only issue I have is you don't get much privacy on the balcony with the way the building is designed. The building is designed so the rooms are on an angle so if you and your neighbor are both out on the balcony you don't get any privacy. They balcony's are so close that you can practically shake hands. It works great if you are there with another party but if you want privacy it's not so great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Was there for a workshop and was glad I rented a car as it is away from the city centre or any other eating places.
Also the rental car for a week is about the same price as their shuttle, so you are better off with a rental car to have at your disposal.
Typical overpriced food for a hotel if you want to grab a quick bite and the bar food menu is quite limited. Sometimes I'm not always in the food for finer dining.
A short drive down the road there are a few good places more reasonable (Risky Business sports bar)
The resort itself is first class and all the staff are quite friendly. The views are stunning.
Don't hesitate to stay here at all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a room with a view of the mountains. Everyone at the hotel is courteous and friendly from the concierge to the groundsmen. Enjoyed the views, restaurant, and nature trail. Be sure to ask about the fourth floor "observatory" to watch the sunset from. They also allow pets (dogs).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was a third stay at Loew's--each time has been great. This is a wonderful place to stay if you are in Tucson for any reason. Not much of a drive from town, this hotel will make you want to buy property in the canyon. Ask for a mountain view room...it is worth a few extra pennies. Great spa. Two great pools--one for adults if you want to avoid the young families. Good restaurants. We come out to Loews each year for the Day of the Dead procession in Tucson--a surprisingly appropriate way to pay tribute to lost loved ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley or mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Dear SallyASAE,

Thank you for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and your comments.

Your kind words and your repeat business mean a great deal to us. In fact, I shared your comments with our staff that I know will be encouraged to continue to provide excellent customer service.

We hope you return again next year and that we never "disappoint".

Sincerely,

Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $195 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing