We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Best Vacactions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of My Best Vacactions”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel, SPA Resort is definitely one of my favorite places I have stayed. The resort is just beautiful with beautiful views. I NEVER had better service at any other place I have stayed at. All of the staff gave 100%. You do not realize how much is lacking in the resort industry with service until you stay here. I wish other hotels would be as service oriented. At Loews they treat you well and are always trying to make your stay better. I stayed for 5 nights. I ate at the restaurants within the grounds and the food was sooooo good, although it is very pricey. But always excellent. I also used the SPA facilities, they offered a lot. I had a great work out and loved the massage, steam room and sauna. There are a few walking trails right on the complex with waterfalls, and the best scenery possible. Not only is this just a beautiful place but you are treated like a VIP guest. One of my Best Vacations

Room Tip: Every room has awesome views, I usually am picky about that, but when you see the lay out of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dubaychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,883
    555
    184
    86
    45
See reviews for
584
878
105
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have enjoyed Sunday brunch here for the last few years and it has always been very good. The one disappointment was when we reserved a table for 9 on Easter and while the food lived up to our high expectations, the service was marginal and the automatically included tip was far too much considering the wait staff only showed up at our table 3 times and we had to go after them to clear used plates and pour more champagne. Having said that, whenever we go there during normal times with just the two of us or with more during regular Sundays, it is spectacular! The price is good, in fact very good. The wide variety of food is impressive and the desserts a delight, even the champagne is good, which in many brunch places is often quite poor. I should also mention that the service is outstanding on these normal Sundays.
Will we go back, you bet! It is the best brunch in town. The second best, I will review next.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saintjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the resort for our anniversary trip. We used a livingsocial deal and overall it was great. The food and drinks are pricey but the pool is awesome and the views are amazing. The food at the Flying V restaurant was just ok in our opinion. The hotel is fairly far from the airport but there are a lot of bars/restaurants really close by. The hiking trail right behind the hotel is great. Their fitness center and spa are also nice. The sunday brunch is AWESOME! I would recommend this hotel to other travelers looking for a quiet and serene trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view because some of the "mountain" views are very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed 8 nights starting 1st Sept 2011 in a King Suite on 3rd floor.
After a long flight from UK and a balls up by a limo firm, we arrived 2 hours late. at 10 pm. g

Our room was ready and we had room service, which was prompt and very good.
The next morning we saw what kind of view we had, could not fault it.
The hotel is set in the desert and has very good gardens and views
There were children and dogs at the hotel, but we were never bothered by them.
The tour desk were very helpful and organised a trip to Mount lemmon and another out into the desert.
We could not find anything to grouch about during ourv stay.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: the hotel appears to have good views all round, but think higher floors 3 and 4 better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Loew's architure is stuck in a time warp, but don't let that put you off, we loved our stay there. I has the best martini choices and creations, best nature walk and views, best food, best piano lounge ever.
The only thing I would add is an adults only pool, not noisy roudy kiddos.
Otherwise all was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear KellyO,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently and for your kind comments.

The architect (John Hill) was a student of Frank Lloyd Wright and I think he might actually like your description... Also, next time you stay, check out the serenity pool (adults only) at the spa, for a quite pool experience.

Hope you come back for another stay soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This resort is in a superb location. It is private and quiet yet just minutes from restaurants and shopping. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. It was not overrun with screaming kids like some other resorts in town The pool and spa were very disappointing. The pool was not clean and the skimmers seemed not to be working as the top was covered with bugs. The spa was just warm and the jets did not work well. This is not acceptable in a resort at this level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Durigirl,

Thank you for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and for your feedback.

We very much appreciate you nice comments on the resort and the pool experience. I am very sorry to hear that we fell short in the area of pool cleanliness and that the Jacuzzi was not hot enough for you. Your comments have been reviewed by senior management for action.

Please come back and see us soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Loews Ventana Canyon Resort opened over 25 years ago but it looks like it just opened.
It's secluded sonoran desert location is magnificent and there is no place like it in the world. The Guestrooms are quiet and exquisitly appointed. The service and the food were superb. Because the elevation is just over 3,000 feet the weather is nearly perfect all year. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big10sjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.4 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Property: Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing