We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience for a Couples Retreat or Family Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Our stay at the resort was fabulous! We took advantage of a daily deal, and decided to extend the weekend which an add't nights stay (very reasonable). The staff was welcoming, especially Loedan (misspelled?) at the front desk. He helped to ensure that we were not charged an incidental fee twice due to our separate accommodations. We stayed on the 4th floor towards the end of the resort which was very private (spacious room, oversized tub, intimate sitting area(s) on our balcony and the trails), and although the pool area was crowded we found it very peaceful down in the grassy sitting area. In addition, I had read previous ratings (pricey restaurant) and decided beforehand that we'd go into town to eat (Zin Burger, The Egg Connection****, La Entranada Mall, etc.) which was 10 - 20 min away. We did eat at the Flying V the first night, but there was not much of a selection so I was rather disappointed as the Chicken Ques was $14. However, the next day we went into town and bought our favorite wine, fruit, cheese, and summer sausage and enjoyed them out near the grassy sitting area and in our room. Highly suggest doing this!

The hotel was crowded due to a 'couples retreat' and 'Iron Chef' event. We even talked about how many of the couples were there for a structured couples retreat, and although we were in no way affiliated with the retreat. We felt that the ambiance of the resort only was all any couple needed. My only suggestion, is that the Iron Chef event was not mentioned, and it was only after stumbling upon it that we found it. If we had known ahead of time we would have taken advantage of it. Never the less, we'll be back for another getaway as well as with our family. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MammaTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,618 - 2,624 of 2,911 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

I got a good deal for a weekend stay, but after my weekend, I don't think I would pay a lot more. My room was at the far end of the third floor and the carpet throughout the entire corridor was bubbling up, it was in desperate need of stretching and was a tripping hazzard. The room itself was clean and the bathtub was huge! I spent one day at the spa and would gladly pay the $10 a day to use the spa pool b/c the main pool was small and way overcrowded. The food at the poolside grill and Canyon Cafe was expensive and pretty average for the price. My biggest disappointment and reason alone for not returning is the lack of smoking area enforcement. The pool/outdoor area is not huge and both days I was there I had smokers within 5 feet of me -- even while I was dining outside at the Canyon Cafe. Several hotel employees walked by the guests who were smoking and said nothing. One hotel employee even stopped to chat with a couple who was smoking, not once mentioning there was a designated smoking area. I actually ended my meal early b/c of the smokers and went in to pay my check.

Room Tip: Family focused pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was a weekend retreat with some of our college friends. After 40+ years we have agreed to make these mini vacations a quarterly activity. You could not find a better place to relax then the Loews Resort in Tucson. 5 star all the way. Rooms, food, service and activities were all first class. Take this to the "Bank", you can't find a better place in Tucson. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hunter64Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We have stayed at Ventana Canyon several times and we always have a great experience. The rooms are spacious, modern and wonderful. We stayed in a city view room and the views are AMAZING. The balconies are very large which makes for a perfect spot to relax and enjoy the rooms. My daughter also absolutely loved the oversized bathtub which was like a pool to her. Although the pool is a bit on the smaller size, it is still easy to find a perfect spot to lounge and enjoy the Tucson summer (the dive in movies on the weekends are also great). The pool staff are amazing - especially our server this weekend (Alex). He was truly amazing and made our stay even that more enjoyable. Sunday brunch is also a must have. We truly enjoy our "stay-cations" at Ventana Canyon and will continue to come back here. Amazing hotel, great rooms, friendly and helpful staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZKristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Very relaxing..great atmosphere..great food..highly recommend the buffet..extremely friendly staff. Look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suz0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

It sure is a luxury hotel. My room was a ‘mountain view room’ of the basic category, on the fourth floor. It was really spacious with two large beds, and all luxurious amenities. The balcony is a big plus. The bathroom was very nice and spacious too, and if the bathtub had been just slightly bigger I would have called it a swimming pool. The location is good for the views, overlooking the city or into the Canyon. It is quite a long way out of town though and unless you have your own transport you are stuck with the restaurants at the resort. They are excellent but pricey. Servings are large though, and nobody made me feel uncomfortably when I took half the food with me to have it for breakfast. The main activity there is golfing, and I am not a golfer. I was there cycling and it is close enough to some really fabulous cycling tracks. The bike could stay in a luggage room at the entrance. The pool and gym cost 10 USD extra which I found quite a lot at face value. Facilities are excellent though, the pool is large and very clean, and the gym is huge, with really everything you could wish for, and instruction is included. Overall I found it a very nice place to stay. Just beware if you don’t have your own transport, as you will be stuck there. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We recently stayed at the Loews Ventana Canyon resort and it was wonderful. It is very pet friendly and that is what attracted us to the resort in the first place. The room was lovely and oversized and the bathroom had a huge shower. The bed was so comfortable and we slept like babies every night. The service was also good especially the housekeeping. I just wish they would extinguish the difference between dog and cat owners. They only provide doggie treat bags and not cat..... please don't assume that everyone owns a dog! There are millions of cat owners as well....The property surrounding the resort is amazing with great emphasis on keeping and maintaining the natural beauty of the canyon. Also make sure you hike the short trail at the back of the pool area..... it leads to an 80 foot waterfall! Check out this resort..... you will be glad you did!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljlewisfarraguttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
726 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 N Resort Dr, Tucson, AZ 85750-1341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $189 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing