We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson was in the past, a quality motel. Problems...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed May 12, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Herbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 249 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

enjoyed my stay, staff was great, location easy to navigate,
can't beat the price...
just the wifi, was a hit and miss...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Benji W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The set-up of this motel is not at all conducive to carrying belongings between one's room and one's car. For odd-numbered rooms, which are located on the back of the long building, there was plenty of parking that was close to each room. However, our room was an evenly numbered (136) and so was located on the front side of the building. There were not enough parking spots, and they were very far away from the rooms, which was very inconvenient for checking in.

As my family was walking through the large courtyard to get to our room, we smelled a nasty sewer odor and were disgusted to see that the motel's outdoor pool was green and brown, looking like it hasn't been cleaned in months. This was an immediate turn-off to smell and see this filth.

The room itself left a lot to be desired. Even when we walked inside and deadbolted our door, the door was able to swing ajar back and forth, not sealing completely. There was no fridge or microwave, which are not essential to our needs but would have been nice since most people are traveling with coolers and food. We were dismayed to look into the bathroom and see a huge brown stain on the floor next to the toilet -- at first we thought this was feces, but it was actually a huge brown stain in the tile to the right of the toilet. In addition, the shower had no pressure, and there were flies in our room. The pillows on the beds were not even full-sized; they were about half the size they should have been. The phone did not work and I had to call the lobby from my own cell phone. I definitely will not stay in this motel again, neither at this location nor any Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It took forever to check in, the keys being handed out by the clerk did not work for anyone that night, mine stopped working the second day. The advertized pool was disgusting. No one could swim in it if they wanted to, which was disappointing being next door to hotels with sparkling pools. The room was disgusting and the sheets were soiled and stained.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.2 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
7.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson North - Marana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
21.4 mi away
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown

Address: 1010 S Freeway, I10 and 22nd, Tucson, AZ 85745-3218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $49 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Tucson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tucson Downtown Hotel Tucson
Tucson Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing