We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Ranked #3 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at this beautiful yet understated resort. They graciously upgraded us to a king room with only one neighboring room, offering a stunning view of the city and skyline. The staff were very gracious with a focus on customer service. The restaurant breakfasts were amazing. We dined in La Terraza rather than the Grill, assuming that the food likely comes from the same kitchen. Again, every meal was delicious. This small resort is a slice of heaven in a bustling city.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views. The dorm rooms look onto the courtyard and are grouped together. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snow_is_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

I appreciate you taking some time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you found our new and improved breakfast program "amazing," The Grill has put alot of effort in making breakfast an equally excellent experience. I am pleased we were able to provide an upgrade to the Hacienda King room which as your tips indicate does have some of the best views on the property. Contact me anytime to come back and see us for another slice. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 851 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Originally built as a girls' boarding school in the 1920s then converted to a guest ranch in the 1940s, now a boutique hotel, more of an inn. We stayed in a small historic room for one night and then a Hacienda King for 5 nights. Charmingly decorated in hispanic style, grounds thoughtfully landscaped in desert flora, King room was very large, comfy, had two large easy chairs, desk, huge closet, nice view of garden. Bathrooms were somewhat small (particularly the first room which seemed tiny) but they've been nicely redecorated with mexican tiles and hand painted sinks.
Staff unfailingly polite and helpful with any and all questions/requests, housekeeping fine overall, restaurant on premises had many rooms and outdoor spaces offering lots of options for your choice of ambience. We ate Christmas buffet there as well as breakfast one day.
Many more restaurant and shopping options near by, main tourist destinations in the Tucson area within 20-45 minutes drive.
Hotel is located to north of the city in what at one time must have been open ranch land, so it is outside the main core of Tucson, which we considered an advantage. Nice nighttime views of city lights to the south, mountains to the north visible by day. Surrounded by an area of custom up-scale homes, once you're on the grounds you feel isolated and hidden away. Absolutely recommend to anyone, particularly if you are not a golfer and don't need that kind of resort facility.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and providing a very detailed review of your experiences complete with some photographs of our property which do really help capture the ambiance and feel we are about. You also have captured what I find hard in describing our location being in a residential area without feeling like so. I am glad you were able to experience a few different room types with their unique characteristics and enjoyed what the King room offered. I am grateful to hear such wonderful feedback from an obviously savvy traveler like yourselves. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The best location, service & food. We smiled our entire stay. It's not a regular hotel it's a new standard. Built long ago maybe 50+ years ago

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for joining us from the Windy City and contributing thoughts on your stay. I am not sure I can sum up a guests feelings better than smiling your entire stay which brings a smile to my face to see. The Hotel was built in 1929 and I hope we can keep the "new standard" up for the next 82 years as well. Come back and see us when you need another respite from the Chicago winter and contact me anytime if I can assist with any planning. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent six wonderful nights at this small, friendly, beautiful resort. Our room was large, yet cozy - and our king-sized bed was so comfortable. We'd walk out the door to the most amazing vivid blue skies, sunshine, and an amazing array of cacti and other plants. It felt so private, yet we knew there were other guests, as there were a number of cars in the parking area. The people who work there are warm and helpful. In fact, John, one of the folks at the desk, went out of his way to provide suggestions about some "must see" places - and even printed out some maps for us. When we ran into him later in the day as we were strolling around the grounds, he gave us an impromptu tour and an introduction to the local plants and critters. He has an amazing wealth of information, and his enthusiasm is contagious. While we were at the casual bar/lounge area, we enjoyed a great dinner, nice tart margueritas, and a delicious dessert prepared by the pastry chef, Marcos, who recently moved to Tucson from NY. Even the general manager introduced himself to us - and was as warm and friendly as everyone else. The only thing that wasn't as wonderful as the rest of our experience was the meal we had at The Grill - but, I'm pretty confident that the people who oversee this incredible place will institute necessary changes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhodak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us here at the Hacienda. I am very pleased that our property was able to both provide fine room accomodations and the unique landscapes and views the Sonoran Desert provides us. I am are encouraged to see individuals named on these reviews for taking the time to get to know guests and provide them with more personal attentive service. I am happy to pass along your thoughts to both John and Marcos and to Tom, the General Manager you met. Anytime you would like to come visit we are happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at this charming hotel. It was off the beaten track and provided a great view of the Tucson valley. We stayed in one of the suites as you first enter the hotel property, with a separate bedroom, large living room area with wood fireplace and private patio. What impressed us the most about this property was the first class customer service. Everyone we met with went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and fulfill our every need. After returning from a wonderful casual dinner at Terraza (recommend the stuffed peppers and grass fed hamburgers - amazing), a staff member came to our suite in the pouring down cold rain and lit a blazing wood fire for us in our room. The only reason I give it 4 versus 5 stars is that the property needs some updating. Mainly the pool and hot tub area, and the landscaping in the far outskirts of the hotel. Great romantic hideaway and highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level. Suites away from courtyard are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phoenixtraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank you for spending an evening with us here at the Hacienda. I appreciate your constructive comments about the pool and landscaping areas where we can and are working to make improvements. I am thoroughly pleased to hear our staff was able to meet all of your needs especially during a difficult weather situation. Braving the elements is worth making our guests comfortable. We look forward to seeing you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend at Hacienda del Sol and I couldn't wait to write this review. The grounds are beautiful as are the views in every direction. We stayed in one of the deluxe king rooms and it was wonderful, large and comfortable, with a small patio looking out over the city. The king bed was luxuriously comfortable. It was during a rainy, cold snap and the room proved warm and cozy. While not necessarily a 5-star room, it was decorated in a warm, tasteful, southwestern theme, had good quality sheets and towels, a flat screen TV and was very pleasant. We really enjoyed it. There are several price points for rooms, and this was in the middling range.
The restaurants (the Grill and Terazzo) were both great for the different experiences. The Grill is the fancier one, and we had an enjoyable meal there. We didn't think it was overly priced for what it was, but we are from Chicago, and are used to paying a lot more for similar restaurants. The food varied from outstanding to very good, depending on the item. Service was outstanding. We had a table overlooking the city and it was a very romantic spot. We loved the Terazzo for value and service. The food was excellent and delicious. We didn't eat outside as it was a bit cold for me even with all the heaters going, but I can't wait to come back in fine weather and sit outside!. Service was outstanding as well here.
The lobby and all the amenities of the hotel are superb. We are planning to return and that is high praise because we usually use our weekend trips as a way to experience new places. We loved this place and are looking forward to a return trip when we can do some horseback riding and swim in the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkins_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review. Your excitement to write the review speaks volumes and I am very happy to hear both our hotel and restaurants matched your high standards and expectations. I am sorry the weather could was not better however I am glad to hear your room provided cozy comfort during the rain and cold. I welcome you back during our warmer months so you can take advantage of the outdoor dining and amenities like the pool and hot tub. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I originally stayed here on our wedding night before leaving the next morning for our honeymoon, so we wanted to return and reminisce. The property is located in a beautiful area of Tucson, and it looks very much the same as it did six years ago, with an intimate feel and polished, welcoming staff. It sort of reminds me of a B&B (minus the breakfast); the rooms are historic and unique, with charming common areas, and there's a guestbook in the entry hall for visitors to sign. We love the wood-burning fireplace in the lobby, which spreads a lovely scent throughout the resort during the evening. We stayed in room 30, a historic queen room on the second floor. The view of the courtyard and Tucson's city lights was enjoyable. Our room had a small refrigerator in the closet. On Friday and Saturday night, we could hear the music being played by the band performing classic rock and country songs in the restaurant below.

Room Tip: Second-floor rooms have great views of Tucson's city lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitehouse515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

First of all thank you for returning to stay and getting re-acquainted with us after such a special occasion 6 years ago. I am glad to hear you enjoyed both our guest signing book and nightly fire, these touches are definately meant to give our place a cozy and intimate ambiance. Thank you for those all helpful traveler tips you give about the views from our 2nd floor historic rooms, the height of them does allow for some of the best views in the hotel. Congratulations on 6 years of marriage and hopefully you will visit in six more years or even sooner. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
745 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
0.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N Hacienda Del Sol Rd, Tucson, AZ 85718-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $202 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort's private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing