We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the B&B experience, you will LOVE EL Presidio.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

If you like the B&B experience, you will absolutely love El Presidio. The most exceptional part of the whole package is the owner, Patti Toci. Patti grew up in the South and brings an elegant Southern charm to your Tucson experience. She is an absolute delight to be around, and at the same time, very knowledgeable and helpful. When we left after a week's stay, it was like saying goodbye to a good friend.
El Presidio is perfectly located for staying in Tuscon. It is very easy to get to, and within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. It has easy access to the Interstate, but not so close as to have any traffic noise.
The large enclosed courtyard of the B&B is an unexpected treasure. It is full of beautiful trees (including palms and citrus), flowers, and plants of all kinds. There is a fountain, and tables and chairs for relaxing. Our only regret was not spending more time there.
The breakfasts were outstanding. Each morning we were always greeted by a fresh bowl of fruit; some of the citrus was picked that very morning off of Patti's own citrus trees. We were there an entire week, and there was no repetition. Patti's creative dishes included ginger pancakes, banana fritters, Smithfield ham, etc. Patti always goes the extra distance. Several times she prepared a special syrup, such as lemon syrup, made from the fresh lemons on her property. There was always plenty to eat; in fact, we were so full on most days after breakfast that we skipped lunch.
Patti's prices that she quotes INCLUDE the tax, and this makes her B&B a real bargain. Her rooms are immaculate, and she does all of the housekeeping and cooking herself to her exacting standards. We have discovered that Tucson is a great place to go for us to escape the cold and snow of our winter and early spring. It is a great hub for numerous day trips in the area. There are also some exceptional restaurants nearby, such as Poca Cosa. We plan to go back to Tucson, and without question we know where we will be staying when we do.

Jerry & Debbie Anderson
Oklahoma

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwander66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 269 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2010

My wife and I trytostay atB&B's whenever we travel if possible. We just enjoyed a week at the most memorable bed & breakfast we have ever stayed in. El Presidio Inn is an old restored B&B located in downtown Tucson, with easy access to all that Tucson and southern Arizona have to offer. The Inn's owner/manager Patti Toci makes you feel so welcome right from the start, you feel you are returning to visit a friend. The room we stayed in is part of a converted carriage house [there are 3 other rooms available], with a kitcheonette, living area, 3-piece bath, and bedroom. While somewhat dated, it was quite comfortable and quiet [except for the occasional train whistle] and finished with antiques and collectables. Patti kept snacks, fruit and beverages supplied in the room each day, so we felt right at home. The courtyard with its beautiful Mexican fountain made a perfect place to read a book. There's even a lemon tree to sit under [Patti uses the lemons in her cooking!]. The breakfasts were excellent - wholesome and using fresh ingredients, Patti made something interesting and tasty each morning. The great conversation with other guests in the sunny dining room really added to the experience as well.
All in all, El Presidio added the prefect background to an otherwise wonderful Southern Arizona vacaction. If you're looking for something simple but unique, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

The the fountain and flowers in the unique courtyard coupled with comfortable rooms and Patti Toci's kindness and kinowledge (and breakfast delights!) make this a place where guests can immediately feel at home. Easy to reach from I17 -- free on-street parking.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceIsabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We just completed 4 wonderful days at the El Presidio B & B in Tucson. The innkeeper, Patti, was so helpful and generious with hospitality, breakfasts and assistance with direciton and attractions to visit. Her breakfasts were a specail treat accompanied by conversation about plans for the day and what was happening in town. Our room was large, very clean and most comfortable--the internet for my laptop was a breeze to use. Our room was freshened each day with special "treats" on the counter when we returned from our day trips. We especially enjoyed sitting in the patio in the late afternoon, having a glass of wine and recalling our edventures. We heartedly recommend Patti and the El Presidion B and B

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

El Presidio Bed and Breakfast is an oasis of peace and quiet in the middle of the city. The accommodations were excellent. One of the oldest buildings in Tucson, this adobe has been completely renovated, but the ambience of the colonial period remains. A central patio filled with flowering plants and a delightful fountain greets you as you enter. The food was delicious and the hostess a warm and friendly lady who wants to make your visit as special as possible. I highly recommend this B and B,

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domemkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We have stayed at this b & b for several years to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and have found the host, Patti, to be consistently accommodating and helpful for any need or question. More importantly, she serves the best breakfasts of any b & b we have ever stayed around the world. I enjoy sitting in her lush Tucson garden, and the rooms are always spotless and beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGTandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Location, location, location. Easy to find with access right off of I-10. Gorgeous house with fantastically quaint courtyard. I don't think the host could be any nicer and the food was wonderful and a lot of it! Lots of bacon with cornbread waffles and fresh fruit! Loved it!! Did I mention the train came by and blew its horn at 12:23am, 1:56am, 2:11am, 3:30am, 4:46am, 6:16am, 7:08am. Bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Congress
3.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 297 N Main Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701-8219
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > El Presidio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $95 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing