We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blessed Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Az
1 review
“A Blessed Experience”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

What an exceptional B&B! We were impressed by the property and even more blessed by Patti as a host. Patti was incredibly helpful, attentive, and gracious. The room was very welcoming and comfortable and the food was gourmet (ginger pancakes with homemade lemon syrup - m-m-m-m). The location is convenient to town and was just what we'd hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
191
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dillingen germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We did enjoy the beautiful house and garden and admired the attention to historic and decorative details. Everything was perfect. Patti, the heart and soul of the inn, was a very attentive, friendly and helpful hostess. The location of the inn is excellent for visiting nearby restaurants, museum, and shopping.

  • Liked — the location and the entire atmosphere of the house and the excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The building is delightful, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and Patti is a caring hostess.
Breakfast is superb and the whole experience was a great addition to our trip to Arizona fro the UK.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Occasional train noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cornfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

What a great bed and breakfast this is!

I'll start with the great property. It's in Tucson's historic disctrict and the building is a historic building -- and it's just beautiful. The rooms are HUGE -- large by hotel standards, let alone by B&B standards. We were in the Carriage House suite, which had a separate bedroom with a nicely sized closet, a separate bathroom with shower and a large sink, a full kitchenette and full-sized fridge, and a sitting room with a sleeper sofa. I looked at all the rooms on the property, and they were all larger than I'm used to from historic B&Bs. All the rooms are lovingly decorated and have themes -- if you like antiques this is a great place to visit. Towels and bathroom supplies are changed daily.

There is a courtyard with tables and chairs and a fountain along with lovely, mature foliage and trees. The breakfast room looks out onto the beautiful, serene patio.

All the rooms have free internet access, and Patti also has a computer you can use if you need to and don't have a laptop with you. You could actually do business from this B&B, which is a rarity in my experience.

The food was wonderful. Patti is a wonderful cook and hostess, and she is very open to making whatever guests might want. Her corn cake waffles are NOT to be missed. We had a bowl of fresh fruit as a starter each morning, then an egg dish, waffles or french toast (also fabulous) and bacon, with water, juice, tea and coffee. You leave happily stuffed after breakfast. There were also snacks for us in the room, as well as a variety of drinks in the fridge.

Patti made great restaurant suggestions for us and made reservations for us as well. She also helped us get orientated to the area -- we were down for a wedding and so weren't familiar with the part of Tucson we were in.

The only negative I can come up with is the fact that the trains run nearby. You cannot avoid this in any part of the historic district and surrounding areas. My husband never heard the trains once he fell asleep, and the trains never woke me up, either. However, if you're a terribly light sleeper, earplugs would be a good idea, but again, that will be true for ANY and ALL hotels and B&Bs in Tucson's historic district.

Patti is such a warm and welcoming person, you feel at home immediately. You feel like family in about an hour. The whole vibe is relaxed and casual. Since it's smack-dab in the historic district, you can walk to many things, like the artisans area and some great restaurants, from the B&B.

Bottom line -- our whole family enjoyed this stay and we can't wait to go back. I'm looking for reasons to go to Tucson just to have a return stay at the El Presidio.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanneTGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Patti is the innkeeper of this lovely B & B and she told us her and her husband spent 12 years restoring this beautiful adobe home themselves. Needless to say, the place is gorgeous. Two rooms are in the main house, two in the garden area. The garden area is a delight...my husband read out there amongst all the beautiful flowers and birds every morning. Patti makes the most incredible homemade breakfasts. One morning it was homemade gingerbread pancakes with lemon syrup made straight from her lemons in the garden. A far cry from the bland continental breakfasts at most chain hotels. The place was quiet, clean, affordable, and most importantly, in the historic area of town where you can do a walking tour of the oldest part of Tuscon. You can also walk to downtown and are blocks from the freeway for daily adventures in the area. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Liked — In historic area, quiet, beautiful
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

The Inn is located in the Presidio, the "old" town of Tucson. You can walk to anything downtown in minutes. The building, a historical gem is beautifully maintained, always clean and tidy. The grounds are large and a perfect spot to sun or relax with other guests over wine as the sun goes down. Patti, the innkeeper/owner is the other reason to stay here. She has all the knowledge and information for your exploration of the region. She also has to be one of the sweetest people on earth. Oh yes, the breakfasts! Better come hungry as there is always enough great food to feed a small army (though maximum occupancy is 8), plus fruit, juice and endless coffee. I have been staying here for more than 10 years (20+ visits). The experience is always the same. Wonderful. I'm sure there are fancier and certainly more expensive places to stay in Tucson, but none better. I'm looking forward to my next dozen or so trips to Tucson in the years to come. I'll be staying at El Presidio Inn.

  • Liked — breakfast, price, location, great rooms and innkeeper
  • Tips/Secrets — every room is different some with kitchen or sitting rooms so ask what works for you
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubbiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.4 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
3.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 297 N Main Ave, Tucson, AZ 85701-8219
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > El Presidio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing