We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Ranked #27 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

This hotel was not up to the usual Doubletree standards. Rooms were not spotlessly clean; the dust ruffle on the bed was soiled. The lobby and pool area were very nice.

Our group was served a buffet evening meal in the ballroom; it was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachNutPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    388
    171
    74
    42
See reviews for
308
202
87
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

The main two things this place has going for it is the fact that it is cheap (I got a room here in the summer for less than $60 a night) and the customer service is fantastic. Every staff member always has a smile on their face, the belldesk always greets you when you enter the main lobby (although this was a bit annoying), and they gave me a cookie at the front desk whenever I asked for one (too bad I had to buy the milk.)

The rooms themselves are pretty newly renovated, so they have some sleek decor. The bed in my room had many different pillows so it was easy to get comfortable. The rooms also have 32" plasmas which is definitely a plus, although the channel selection isn't great. The rooms are pretty quiet, although not soundproof. The whole place was empty enough to where I don't think they put me next to neighbors.

The dining on the premises is terrible, that includes both the restaurant in the hotel and the one directly adjacent to it at the Javelina Cantina (although this is a good place to go for drinks), the food was greasy and stale. However, there are a number of dining options within a couple miles that would satisfy pretty much any taste. The Circle K next door is the perfect place to get your hydration (a must in the AZ heat).

There is a decent sized pool (a great place to relax in the evenings) with a jacuzzi, a fitness center, a business center, and a gift shop on the property. There is also a park nearby with a zoo and a golf course, although I don't know why you would want to go outside during the summer in South Arizona.

Overall, this place would be a 5 star property except for the fact the rooms in the far wing appear pretty shady due to the fact they have outside access, which isn't exactly "ideal" in a border town like Tucson. Also, its not very close to downtown, where the real nightlife is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rovingthemuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 year old. Our stay was good, but disappointing in a few areas. The rooms are nicely renovated and the King room we had was large enough to set up our pack n' play. We never had any problem with noise. Everything seemed to function correctly.
We were a little suprised to find that our room had an exterior access, since all of the Doubletree locations we've stayed at have had interior access. We were also disappointed that the room we were assigned did not have a bath tub. Not having a tub wasn't a huge issue, but made bathing out son a little more diffucult. Also, we didn't like the fact that our room was quite a way from the pool and lobby area. These issues, of course were not anything major.
When we make another trip out that way we will certainly consider staying at this property again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwannavacation5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Only stayed there for a night, this hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, they also have a very nice garden with many trees and plants, you won't believe you are indeed in the middle of the desert. Location is convenient, not far from I-10, also close to U of A, very safe neighborbood. The room had a 42-inch TV (a little too big and too bright for a small room), but w/o a DVD player, the bed was comfortable, and no bugs!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Spent a week here for business. It is an older property that has been renovated. The room in the tower was great. Flat screen TV, comfortable bed. The pool was actually deep enough to dive in and large enough to swim some laps. Location across from Reid park was great. It is a good place to run.
Co-worker wasn't feeling well and the bellman drove him to the hospital. The bellman and manager asked about him the next day. Great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hernfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

We had more than a dozen people come from out of state to attend a wedding. Each stayed from two to three days. All were satisfied. Everyone in our party got a room almost adjacent to one another, which made wedding preparation much easier in a relaxed social atmosphere. I requested a suite and the staff converted a connecting room into a living-room parlor with chairs and tables. It turned out to be a great meeting place for all those persons who came from out of town. I was also pleased with how quickly the staff responded to our requests. A sliding door was hard to close and the custodial staff was there in less than five minutes and fixed it in less than five minutes. The pool, the workout room and the grounds were all first rate. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, especially at the front desk. The in- room wireless wi-fi worked very well and met all of our needs. There were three additional public wi-fi stations in the lobby. The complimentary coffee in the lobby as early as six in the morning was also a nice touch. And all of this for a very fair price. These folks have it right!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim022Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

My family and I stayed here several days when we could not get a place over at Las Posadas Casitas. (I've stayed solo at that other hotel and love it to death for its serenity and Spanish architecture). Doubletree is a pleasant place to relax at. But . . . for part of the time we had a smoking European girl above us (what's up with so many young people from Europe STILL smoking like it's the 1970s and everyone just found out how dangerous it is?).
We stayed in the Doubletree casitas since we were traveling with our two dogs. I would recommend staying in these, even if you don't have pets . . . our downstairs had sliding glass doors and access to an open patio and beautifully manicured lawns that meandered around . . . lovely grounds, grass, trees, birds . . . we would have missed ALL of this being in the tower. Plus, as long as you keep your dogs on leash, you can explore the grounds, lay some towels out on the grassy areas, and enjoy the smell of the grapefruit trees with their giant fruit dropped here and there. This place would be a wonderful oasis in the heat of the summer . . .
Across the street is the zoo, along with attractive Saguro cacti and Palo Verde trees in full yellow bloom. Personally, I became addicted to walking the three or so mile trail around the zoo and golf course. It is a great place to people watch, as tons of locals walk and jog around it. Lots of dog lovers have their mutts with them - but one family had an unleashed chihuahua which came right up and bit one of my dogs. Lucky for them, my other dog did not immediately react, as she would have turned that mean thing into hamburger. Shockingly, the family did not even apologize for this errant behavior. They just acted like nothing happened. So be on the lookout for unleashed dogs by some of the locals.
The absolutely breathtaking Tucson Gardens is on the same road - about two miles north of Doubletree. I had never been there & decided to visit it after much hemming and hawing (I didn't want to pay the $10 dollar entrance fee) and pouring over satellite imagery, which did not do it justice. Even though the Doubletree Hotel is on a busy road, the enchanting gardens somehow made it quiet to the point of stillness - besides an area that just highlights the cacti of the Sonoran desert & also the Chihuahuan desert, there is even a giant Saguro cacti that is the rare "curled" variety . . . something I have never ever seen . . . it doesn't even look like a Saguro. Lots of shady trees and wildflowers (and a nice spot for kids to play in, in the center).
Unfortunately, a lot of desert trails in the vicinity do not allow pets, so we had to head to the nearby Catalina Mountains for hiking. This turned out to be a good thing, as the far cooler air was much more dog friendly (it was only in the 70s down in Tucson, but cold enough up in the mountains that I had to move around just to stay warm).
I did not visit the adjacent restaurant, don't drink but saw that they have an attractive bar right inside the checkin area. Their gift shop is quite pleasant and staffed by a friendly older lady. I found that some of the staff might need some remedial training in how to make Italian visitors feel more welcome. I'm not Italian nor am I a foreigner but one young lady just did not understand how she was adding to the stress of a group of Italian travelers by her impatient demeanor and lack of understanding that if your first language is not English, one must speak s-l-o-w-l-y and gently. Having traveled around the globe, I understand that a calm, friendly tone and patient demeanor can add significantly to one's sense of happiness . . .
it can make or break a trip, especially if you are in the throes of culture shock, which they seemed to be.
In sum, I would return to Doubletree, as it is so very convenient and attractive . . . a great place to stay if you are exploring Tucson for the first time and would like to go about town on foot. My family LOVED Tucson and wants to come back every year.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forgottensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#36 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Address: 445 S Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-4121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing