We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average at best - better options around” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Ranked #29 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Savannakhet, Laos
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average at best - better options around”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Located out of the main city area, the area has a few shops around with fast food restaurants and clothes shopping. The hotel itself was quite nice while checking in, with a free cookie and very helpful staff, but it was downhill from there. The room was supposed to be non-smoking but there was a smokey/musty odour. Bed was comfortable with a choice of pillows, but the room was poorly lit (just a few lamps) and very plain. The internet is $10/day although we were only charged for 1 day even though we bought three days worth. Drinking water is $4 although we were not charged, not sure why. Housekeeping came very early each morning (8am) so be sure to use the 'Do Not Disturb' sign if you want to sleep in. Laundry service is very expensive, no washing facilities at the hotel but there are coin laundries within a few kilometres. Overall it was disappointing as we expected more from the Hilton name. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stotty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    345
    141
    65
    35
See reviews for
265
174
78
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My first stay at a Hilton facility, and I was less than impressed. My room smelled like animal urine when I arrived (like my neighbor's laundry room where she keeps her dog). I was told I could have another room, but would need to wait until one was ready - the bead show crowd was in the process of leaving (an absolute mess in the parking lot). The heater also did not work when I arrived, and after keeping the doors open to try and air out the urine smell the room was quite cold. They did fix the heater fairly quickly, so that was good. My meal at the Javelina Cantina would have been topped by Carl's Jr. - my previously frozen burger was burned, the guacamole was brown, and the fries were warm and slightly soggy. Then, when I tried to use the internet I learned that I would be charged $10 per day for internet access because I was not a member of the "club". That's an underhanded Vegas casino tactic - really, Hilton? I can get free internet access at Motel 6, Best Western, or Quality Inn, and for what I was charged for the room there should be no question about free internet access. I finally convinced the staff to waive the internet fee for one day after much effort and arguing back and forth about "Hilton policy." I will find somewhere else to stay on my next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLemon445, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear B H,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room and your restaurant experience. We try to be very vigilant in these areas because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff and restaurant staff so these situations do not happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

SueAnn Lemon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After spending two nights here, it's pretty safe to say I'll be avoiding future Doubletree stays. Although there is a "normal" hotel - it seems at least half (maybe most) of the rooms are in this motel out back. It is VERY dark back there and all guestroom doors open to the outdoors. I would have never booked this property if I was aware it was more like a motel. I checked in after 10p and was directed to walk behind this main building (down a pretty dark path though at least I passed someone who appeared to be a roving patrol en route) to my room in the motel section. The stairwell had no light (though it did work on the second night) and my room was somewhat tucked in a corner. Not a pleasant feeling for a single female traveler. The room seemed cleanish but smelled closed up. The shower could have used either an update or thorough cleaning (mildew in multiple areas). The water also stayed pretty lukewarm, at best, and the towels had seen better days. On the second night, I parked closer to my room in a pretty poorly lit lot - which is adjacent to what appeared to be lower-end rental property. On this same night, I was unable to find any working vending machine on property to get a bottle of water and instead had to go to a convenience store (at least it's adjacent to the property, but still). Just not a great setup overall. On a positive note: The front-desk clerks were nice enough and check-in/out was painless. That all said, if you get a room here for dirt cheap and are not staying alone, maybe it's acceptable. Otherwise, I'd avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the regular hotel. No idea what it's like - but it has to be better than the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would never stay here again. All rooms are exterior so you don't go from the lobby to your room, you get back in your car, drive around to the back of the hotel (more like motel) to enter your room. I did not feel safe! I booked a room for 4 and there were 3 towels. We had driven all night and were exhausted only to find that our a/c didn't work! The lamp next to our bed didn't work. I went to the lobby the next day and requested a refund as I had paid for 2 nights in advance and my family wanted to leave this place, of course they declined my request. We left anyway as it wasn't worth being miserable one more night!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLemon445, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Lorri B,

We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We have addressed the issues you reported with our housekeeping staff. The comfort and safety of our guests is truly our highest priority and your comments help us to improve on our guest experience. We hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

SueAnn Lemon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for the Bead Show and the staff was wonderful - friendly, helpful and nice. Great room too. Definitely recommend it!
They say here on Trip Advisor that this comment section needs to be 200 characters long - the heck with that! I've already said all i want to say, now i'm just filling up space... if you read this far, you've wasted precious seconds of your life - get going on your vacation already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I quite enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. When I arrived, check in was effortless. When I was told that my room was on the second floor via stairs, I asked if there was a room available that did not require climbing stairs. I was immediately accommodated with a room in the main building I could access using an elevator. I will stay here again when in Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank udali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the bed I never wanted to get out of!! So comfortable. The tv remote was a bit difficult, don't know why. Breakfast was good and the wait staff exceptionally nice and happy. I stayed there a four days on business and the only thing I wish was that they had a little more extensive menu in the Cantina and bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#25 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
4.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#33 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Address: 445 S Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-4121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing