We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good experience here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a good experience here”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here during a tennis tournament, and truly enjoyed it. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. I love having a cup of coffee when I wake up, and the single serve maker in the room was much better than average. The level of service I received around my gluten-free diet was extraordinary, including having a special meal made for me when there was nothing GF on the tournament dinner party buffet. There are restaurants in the area, but they're a little too far for walking, so we ate at the Cactus Rose and Javelina Cantina restaurants on site. Both were very good. The breakfast buffet wasn't free, but it was reasonably priced for an ample and varied assortment of foods. The only negatives were the bathroom, which is upscale and attractive in its finishes but lacks towel bars and is generally awkward, and the TV, which has a limited channel selection and is bothersome to tune. Those are minor complaints, though. I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martinelli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    402
    179
    80
    43
See reviews for
316
207
93
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My stay here was for a USTA Nationals competition. The staff was wonderful on recommendations for things to eat, see and explore on our off time. The rooms were clean and very roomy. Pool was paradise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After having spent 6 days in the DoubleTree in Scotdale with an over priced restaurant, I was really excited to get a DoubleTree that gave free breakfast and had a refridgerator in the room. I only spent one night here, but it was clean, the staff seemed friendly enough and over all it was warm and inviting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOregon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had a decent stay at this hotel. I have stayed here with tennis tournament functions before and prefer the tower to the "motel type" rooms.

The staff are very friendly. The hotel is pet friendly. They have very pretty grounds. The beds are fairly comfortable...lots of pillows - love that. The room we had was pretty sound proof, something that I always look for in a hotel stay. I found the location to be convenient to restaurants, park, tennis courts. We were on the fifth floor and the view was nice as well.

The rooms were alittle dingy - carpet and bathroom floor especially. There was a large stain on the carpet right near the door....was the first thing I saw every time I came into room. Our sink drain was alittle slow and our tv remote didnt work so well. Though annoying, didnt seem like enough to complain about, but still, would have been nice to have these things work alittle better. Parking seemed limited at times. As someone said in a prior post, seemed like the pool was usually full of children, so I never quite made it down there. Great for a family, not so much for couples.

We paid $99 a night and I thought this was a fair price for this hotel especially because there was not an additional charge for pet, parking or internet.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My bathtub had a large crack where the caulking was coming out. I happened to look at the air vent in the bathroom and it was caked with dirt and filth. The water ran cold and when I called to let them know, I was told that I had not turned the faucet on all the way... really? Later a maintenance guy explained to me that the water would only get to 100 degrees and this was standard. I stay at lots of hotels and have never had just "warm" water when taking a shower. Don't count on a hot shower here. I won't bother going here again.

Room Tip: Try one on the first floor close to a boiler that produces hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytravelers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLemon445, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear savvytravelers40,

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff will be sure and address the vents to ensure that they are well maintained and cleaned regularly. We apologize for the water temperature issue and we’re currently discussing this with our maintenance team. We hate to disappoint you and hope you reconsider visiting us again for an improved level of comfort.

Regards,

Sue Lemon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

From the moment I entered everyone was helpful and very friendly. Room was clean and neat.
THe Shuttle took us to dinner and returned to pick us up. Maps were provided and sites recommended. Restaurant was very attractive. I give it an APLus.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms have a good view of the Arizona sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Here are some things you need to know about the hotel that they may not tell you:

1. They charge $20 per person each way for their own airport shuttle. I was not told until I waited almost 30 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. We chose to get a cheap rental car instead because it was cheaper for our group. This alone will hike up your room bill dramatically. Other hotels have free shuttles!
2. Most of the "traveler" pictures on this site are actually provided by the hotel. They did not reflect the bathroom and quality of bedroom I had!
3. Their tv's do not work correctly. You can see this pointed out on many of the reviews here. It is true. I was told that they will pay for a free movie because of this, or I should go out and not watch tv.
4. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is very low quality food as are many of the entrees on the menu.
5. Our room, and the room our friends stayed in both had dirty floors on the tub as well as mold or rot on the caulking.

These are all items I communicated to the management during my stay. They even moved me to another room the next day because of the tv and dirty bathroom issue. The sad part is that the tv in the new room also had the same issues, and the bathroom was just as dirty. My wife refused to use their tubs until we went to the store to buy "scrubbing bubbles" and sprayed the tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KCTrvlOftn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLemon445, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear KCTrvlOftn,

Thank you for the candid feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have noted the issue you experienced with your television and are actively working with both our cable provider and television provider to resolve the matter. Our housekeeping team is focused on paying extra attention to the condition of the bathtub in each room as they do their cleaning checks. Lastly, we will keep your concerns on our breakfast offerings and shuttle policy in mind as we continually evaluate and evolve to better serve our guests’ needs.

We truly hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to provide a memorable visit on your next trip to Tucson.

Regards,

SueAnn Lemon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#44 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Address: 445 S Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-4121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing