We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELP!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Ranked #34 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
wilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HELP!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We stayed there twice during a 2 week period in FEB. First arrived and stayed in the Casitas. Smelled like tobacco. The Casitas had big rooms but had all the charm of a hospital waiting room. One of the managers moved us to the "Tower" which is a fancy way of saying the main building. There were 7 of us spread out into 3 rooms. But we couldn't seem to get everyone onto the same floor.

This DoubleTree seems to be of lesser quality than the Fess Parker in SBA or the one in Ontario. The sheets are poly-cotton and not ironed. So it kind of reminds me of a Travelodge or old Holiday INN .
On both stays I asked the guest relations manager why there were no Hilton Honors VIP items in my room. He told me that it was an oversight yet nothing ever was sent to the room. I guess that they don't get too many VIP Members.
The beds are reasonably comfortable if you can get over the sheets. The bathrooms are run down and the paint and walls are chipped and old. It looks like it was grunge and dirty even though the maids seemed to have cleaned it..
The carpeting in the corridors are old and most of the days I was there ,garbage bags were left in the halls and pieces of paper etc. seemed to be everywhere.
The second stay ,I arrived late to find the lights on, a cleaning spray bottle left on the night table and the bedspreads askew. When the front desk came to inspect we both questioned whether the sheets had been changed.Later when I actually got into the bed I discovered long dark hairs. Since mine are short and grey, I decided it would be best to ask them to change the sheets even though it was 200AM. UHG!!

Cactus Rose has great food if you like beef.

I would stay away from this DoubleTree until they do a renovation as well as upgrade the bed linens.

  • Liked — The Cactus Rose Restaurant had great staff and good food.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    406
    185
    85
    51
See reviews for
329
216
94
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

I stayed at the this Double tree on business in December and was very satisfied. Service was friendly, location great, nice pool/workout room, and I like that I can have a drink in a hotel bar and read (and not be bombarded with loud, obnoxious music). This is the 2nd time I've stayed here and will recommend that, if you are a business-woman traveling alone, ask for the main building over the outside access rooms (I was moved with no problem). Other than that, very pleased. Nice relaxing stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I had to specify main building
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mindygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

I just completed my 4th stay at this hotel in the past year and I think I'm ready to move on to another property.

Before I continue I do need to mention that the staff is awesome. From the bellmen to the front desk to the banquet/meeting staff they are some of the friendliest hotel staffers you will find. My review is more about the hotel and it’s worn down appearance. I know they are in the process of some renovating but the hotel can’t compare to other equivalent hotels in the area. Heat/AC is extremely loud and is uncontrollable. The restaurant is mediocre and the bar scene is boring.

If you’re on business in this part of Tucson I suggest you stay closer to the Foothills and communicate 20 minutes into this area. You will be closer to great restaurants, shopping, etc and will have a better overall experience.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Comfort level of rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pauls153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at the Doubletree for the 2007 Tour de Tucson and it was a great place for a good price. The room was large and nicely decorated, with duvet comforters on the beds, neutrogena bath products and soft towels that actually fit around the average human form!
BUT whatever you do, make the trip elsewhere for meals and skip the attached Javelina Cantina - bad service, terrible margaritas and small but very expensive entrees that were really disappointing. We went back to the room and ordered in a pizza!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank DnvrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This place offers poor night lighting and few directory signs. No regular elevator to second floor conference rooms. Slippery tub and cracked tile in bathroom. Coffee setup missed items each day. Staff did not identify themselves as staff at room door. I could go on and on. You would also benefit from going on and on...to another hotel.

  • Liked — Canyon Rose Cafe has consistently good food.
  • Disliked — Very difficult for those with disabilities, older and solo travelers.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cottonwoodnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

I found this hotel to be clean and quiet. It is newly remodeled, has a nice pool, good workout room. There is a golf course across the street, and a good walking trail around it.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

The room provided to me (#185) was dirty. Bathroom had peeling paint in the tub and on the ceiling. Urine stains around the base of the toilet along the chalking. The carpet needed steam cleaning; wear a pair of white socks or walk bare foot in the room and you'll get the point. Previous guest(s), left their sun flower seeds in the corner by the chair and lamp. The room had an overall used and worn appearance.

The hotel staff was courteous and the property grounds were well maintained; those are the two best qualities associated with this property.

  • Liked — Close to resturants.
  • Disliked — The room!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank saintLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
0.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
4.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.6 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#27 of 130 in Tucson
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Address: 445 S Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711-4121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#32 Business Hotel in Tucson
#36 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing