We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Railroad Themed B& B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Railroad Themed B& B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Stayed two nights in the Caboose. The proprieters have turned their home on the very outskirts of Tucson into a miniature railroad, and everywhere you look has something to do with historic railroads, from the garden railways to the Caboose sleeping accommodation. We even had breakfast with railroad plates and cutlery! The hosts, Mary and Ken, have created a unique B & B, and even if you do not share their interest you would be hard put not to be amused by the experience. In my case I found their interest quite infectious. Great hospitality and a very enjoyable experience. RECOMMENDED

  • Liked — Uniqueness and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oldworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast is a rare find - wonderful hospital in a beautiful setting *and* which allows kids! My wife and two young children (aged 3 1/2 and 1 1/2) absolutely loved the place. Mary and Ken were amazing hosts and it was great sharing stories with them and getting some advice on things to do and places to eat in Tucson. Their train theme B&B is located in the beautiful Tanque Verde area on the east side of Tucson (in between the eastern section of Saguaro National Park and Mount Lemmon). It is also very close to Agua Caliente Park, an absolutely beautiful desert oasis with grassy areas and duck-filled ponds. They cooked up a great breakfast each morning and served it out on their beautiful back patio. It served as a great place particularly for the kids, who had plenty of toys to play with when they were done eating. I highly recommend this place, particularly for those of you traveling with kids.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank blankind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

During our USA Tour we choose to celebrate our 25 th Wedding Anniversary at the Double K Ranch and what a good decision we made. Not only is the caboose a unique accomodation, it´s also spacious, stylish and comfortable. During the evening we had a visit from javelinas and birds of various kinds kept visiting us right in front of our windows.
The Ranch itself offers everything you might expect, starting with a beautiful swimming pool, a lovely garden with several garden railways, all different kinds of cacteese and lots of animals like dogs, horses and a burro.
But how can we describe our hosts? Mary and Ken are so caring and warmhearted, that you feel like staying with your own family. Our morning coffees were followed by the most delicious breakfasts you could imagine and then one of our hosts would give us good advice of how to spend the day.
It must have been the combination of the wonderful place, the incredible accomodation
and our lovely hosts that made our stay the best time we ever had in a B&B.
We will be back, that´s for sure!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErichMarkwica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

In February 2006 my husband and I stayed in a restored caboose at Karrels Double K Ranch B& B. It was fabulous! I was worried that it might feel claustrophobic, but it was very spacious and included a double bed, a cute bathroom with tub/shower, a set of bunk beds kids would love, and original train chairs and table. Ken Karrel is into garden railroading in a big way, with tracks, trains, and miniature historic buildings wending their way all over the property. The Polar Express comes to life! This is a B & B where kids are welcome and will go nuts in the train yard, as well as learn some railroad history painlessly. Further, Ken and Mary Karrel were the nicest innkeepers we have ever had, and we have known many wonderful ones. We went in for breakfast, where the table faces a large window through which you can watch quail and other amazing birds as you dine. We were given fresh fruit and hot blueberry muffins, tea and juice. And then Mary said, "What would you like for breakfast?" I was taken aback. Usually you get a set meal, however wonderful, but here you can pick just like in a restaurant! The property is very close to Agua Caliente Park, an oasis that will confuse you; with its swans, beautiful stretches of water and palm trees you'll feel momentarily transported to Florida instead of sunny Tucson! I can't wait to go back, hopefully with my grandchildren in tow.

Helpful?
9 Thank mbrigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

This is certainly the quirkiest B&B I've ever stayed at... and not in a bad way! It's a MUST for any train enthusiast! We stayed in an actual caboose, which the owners have turned into a cute room, complete with sitting area, bedroom, and bathroom. I have never stayed in anything so unique. Have no fear, it was quiet and comfortable and had everything you'd expect from a B&B room.

The owners are great. Ken will delight in taking you on a tour of his HUGE model train set in the backyard. There are trains within the main house too. Basically, the whole place is a museum of train memorabilia. So, if you're into trains or model trains, seriously, you need to stay here.

There are also many friendly animals you can pet... several dogs and horses, but most notably, Brighty, the mule, who is a delightful creature.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RandomGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.8 mi away
Ramada Tucson East
Ramada Tucson East
#26 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.5 mi away
Casitas at Sabino Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast
3.7 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3930 N Smokey Topaz, Tucson, AZ 85749-9711
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing