We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN! RUN! RUN! As fast as u can says the gingerbread man!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Tucson South
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed numerous times here before, with every stay being average. However this last weekend was the worst for me. Staff do not listen to their customers. When I made my reservation I asked for a 1st floor non smokink king deluxe. After a hot ride I went to take a shower but to my surprise I had no shower curtin. Went the front desk asked fpr a room with a shower curtain. Front desk sais all of our showers have curtains. I said not mine. She calls house speaking and speaks with them in spanish to put in a shower curtain. The lady goves me a key to another non smoking room......or so I thought! Instead i was given a smoking room. I then go back to the front desk and ask for a non smosking room. The lady again says I did gove you one. I said no you didn't because this room has cigarette burn marks thrpughout, it smells like cigarettes and their is no non smoking sign on the front door. Her response was...."..OH????? Sje then calls housekeeping again(before helping me). She again talls to them in spanish and then says in English oh and you need to spray the room. She looks at me and says I don't have any more 1st floors for you. I only have a second floor....which is NOT what I asked during my reservation as well as confirmation and arrival at the hotel. I was placed on a second floor in very back of building. For the next two noghts I had a drunk continually try to come in my room both nights........because he was so drunk he didn't know where he was. I called the office to complain and to send security over fpr assistance. I was asked to please give a description of the man trying to break in my room. My thpught was WTF??? I tjen told the night clerk I just gave you my room #, why can't you help me. The only thing keeping him out of my room is the flip lock becaise the dead bolt isn't working.......it won't stay latched. Needless to say they mever sent anyone!!!!!!! I went to check put and told the day clerk that I would mever be back again and his response was thank yoi for staying have a nice day. I turned and said did you just not jear what I said and his response was....UHHH NO????? I said that's obvious. I then told him again about the drunk trying to break in, broken deadbolt and no help from security. Can you believe. It he then asked me if I called the front desk to get security. I mean REALLY! COME ON!!! Get some people with brain cells to work the front desk!!!!!!!! Management needs to get rid of the zombies they have running the front desk. So if you stay here be careful of the non working locks and non caring staff!!!!! Management needs to give safety lessons and protocol forthe safety of their patrons. So as a woman, I will say safety was very lax and I will NEVER be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buster0375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

I had one night here after having a terrible stay in a downtown hotel (Hotel Congress). The staff were really helpful & friendly. The room is great for the price, flat screen TV, good bathroom, wi-fi. The Denny's on-site is also a bonus. Would stay here again if I had a hire car next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My Wife & I Stayed here May 10 &11, 2012. We have no complaints about room 225. It was upstairs & there was an elevator so that was great. Wi-Fi had good signal strength, water was hot in the shower, flat screen TV, two queen beds, housekeeping good. We used the laundry equipment & that was satisfactory. As mentioned by everyone, Denny's is there for food & that is very convenient. Reception staff where always helpful & open 24hrs. It is a bit removed form the centre of town but that suited us as we went to Tucson primarily to visit the PIMA Air museum & this hotel is close to that. I would say it wasn't noisy, but we live on a main highway thoroughfare at home. For the price we paid I am more than happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3406E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The room was clean,housekeeping was good every day we stayed,wi-fi worked and there's a Denny's restaurant on the property. The down side is that it was very noisy (right off the interstate),the parking was a little tight (lots of semis) ,the bed was a little saggy in the middle,and the shower water pressure was less than perfect. Overall, it's an inexpensive motel and you get what you pay for. No serious complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcspooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The website ctates check in is after 1:00pm I was there at 1:30 and still could not check in. Once I was assigned to room 258 I noticed there was fecal matter inside the toilet ring (I am sure is still there) The lamp above the bed on the right hand side does not work which I needed to perform work related to a presentation I was giving at the air forfce base (I changed the light bulb and still does not work!!!)There were no trash cans in the room. And there was a lot of hair still attached to the walls of the room. Micah (front desk) could only offer an apology. I want a full refund.

Room Tip: you should try another Hotel chain, the red roof in is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Room was clean and quiet. They have a Denny's on site and a Burger place is within walking distance. Not close to much else without driving. 2 HBO stations to expand your television selection, flat screen TV. They have pool onsite. The only complaint I may have is I wish more places were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Red Roof Inn-South in Tucson,AZ was enjoyable.The maid cleaned and and made our bed daily.You don't get that service at a time share resort. It was the only place I could find that heated its pool during the winter-77.The location is great, off the interstate, near the airport, and in the "hub" of the surrounding attractions. Speaking of which, Scott, the day time clerk can give good ,friendly advise.We left some credit cards in the safe(wife's fault) and he mailed them to us right away !! Free, easy to use net and coffee in the lobby/room with a friendly clerk handing you a copy of USA Today News. Didn't miss the junk food breakfast offered at the neighboring hotels. Denny's is within the building and the discount covered the tip..Elevator to the second floor helped us with our bags..

Room Tip: Ask Scott to help you connect the dots on the map to save you on time/gas $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrindaVirginaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#74 of 129 in Tucson
77 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Studio 6 Tucson
Studio 6 Tucson
#79 of 129 in Tucson
62 reviews
15.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tucson North - Marana
2.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#86 of 129 in Tucson
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Tucson South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Tucson South

Address: 3704 E Irvington Rd, Tucson, AZ 85714-1958
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $52 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Tucson South 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Tuscon South, AZ is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. Just off I-10, this hotel is near Tucson International Airport (TUS) and the Amtrak station. Close to the University of Arizona, Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Tucson Raceway Park, Pima Air Museum, Pima County Fairgrounds and Reid Park Zoo.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our newly renovated rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature new, comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, new high-end bedding, new flooring, and a large, flat-screen TV and an outdoor heated pool! Elevators are also available for your convenience. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. Enjoy our “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Tucson South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Tucson South Hotel Tucson
Tucson Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing