We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - but you must know what to expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Historic Hotel Congress
Ranked #55 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very nice - but you must know what to expect!”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Congress but be aware of what this is and is not. It's a very charming hotel with great decoration and period features, in great location for going out on Congress Street or nearby 4th Avenue (walking distance), the adjacent Rialto or the hotel's own bar and club. It is not a "normal" modern hotel in the sense there is no tv in rooms, not the most quiet of places (nearby Amtrak means no afternoon snooze and the inhouse bar and club are loud unless you also go out), so is not for everyone. Would certainly stay again if visiting Tucson again with friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AV_Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    34
    16
    23
See reviews for
24
98
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WNY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This is a place to stay for those who love historic places and want to be part of what is going on in the area. Every staff member I encounter was very friendly and helpful. A few fun events(poetry contest, chess tournament) were even happening at the hotel while I was there. It is not for someone who wants a quiet room on the weekend because of the nightclub (though earplugs were provided in the room.) I can sleep through that, but I realize it could drive someone else crazy. I personally loved the bed (extra pillow in room so didn't have to ask for one) and it had a real quilt on it. The room phone was an actual old black dial phone. The air in the room worked well. The bathroom was small and the water pressure was not the best, but I got hot water every time. There is no TV in the room, but they did have a TV lounge.
The Cup Cafe located off the lobby has excellent breakfast food.
There is a bar(not the nightclub) located at the back of the lobby which made for a nice spot to wait for friends to arrive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We read the reviews carefully but whichever room you pick (ours was 208) - the Congress is a busy hotel with a lot of live events + people flocking in and out to the bars inside plus the outside patio at the back, so it was v noisy both nights (Fri + Sat) we stayed. It didn't bother us as we expected it - but don't stay here if a quiet night's sleep is vital. Plus did I mention the trains whistling overnight as they pass through town?

Loved the decor, the history, friendly staff and hotel's laidback atmosphere. Tiny (original of course) bathroom was great - mattress a bit soft and saggy for us.
Lovely mojito at bar and Cup delivers a fantastic breakfast. Free parking in the back or across the road in the underground car park.

Congress St is also really great fun. We'd go back anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Congress, "HoCo" according to my Tucson friends, while I was in town for a 3 day weekend. HoCo is where I'll be staying from now on too. The rooms were utilitarian but clean, fresh, and well kept. The last time I was in town I stayed at the Hotel Arizona but I won't from now on. I FOUND A ROACH IN MY SHEETS. Worse thing is when I came down to check out the manager, David, said he would charge me anyway. 2 of my friends stayed there anyway and after the first night they checked out. Next time I won't settle.

Room Tip: Tips are always welcome
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ggtw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Arriving by train, I recently stayed at the HC for a few days. Sure, it's got a thriving nighttime club clientele and the rooms are old, but hey, this is an historic hotel, in a great part of Tucson. The rooms are spacious enough but my bathroom was one of the smallest I've ever seen. The room is very clean tho and the bed was comfortable. Try to get one of the rooms away from the club area, and the noise is manageable. One of the real nice treats is the great cafe in the Hotel. The food was way above average and had some very original elements. I was impressed with the food and the great service both in the hotel and in the cafe. Great great coffee! Train travellers should be aware that this great place is just across the street from the Amtrak station so it's super convenient for us rail traveler types. The station is nice and bright too. If just for a day or two, stay at the HC; you'll never forget it!

Room Tip: Away from the club; rooms on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The hotel is in the center of night life in Downtown Tucson but the room was quiet enough for sound sleep. The room was charming and the lobby is full of character. Why stay anywhere else???

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uchu-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaraHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your patronage at the Hotel Congress. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the establishment as a whole. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The Congress has been our home away from home during the Gem Show for about the last 20 years, but it may be time to move on. While generally the desk staff has been as helpful as ever, evening experiences with extremely RUDE staff in the lobby (who were very harsh to our guests who just wanted to get a drink with us in the bar but were accosted by said staff for a cover (we weren't in or going into the club) sat badly. The overall tone has changed in favor of a much much younger club crowd as well, so the place is noisier than ever (although our room, one of the quietest, was fine). So if you're a 20-something, you may have a great time staying at the Congress. If you are much older and it's a busy club night, you may not.

Note to hotel: you need new mattresses badly. They are sagging horribly. Congratulations on the plentiful parking now though.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaraHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
I’d like to thank you sincerely for bringing your experience to my attention. I will address the issue of guests visiting our Hotel Congress patrons as well as the unacceptable behavior of our night security staff with not only the entirety of the night staff, but also with the managers and all employees. We recognize that this has been an issue in the past and we are working to ameliorate the problem.

Certain nights draw a younger crowd, but we are a highly-esteemed club because of the variety of shows and nights that we host for the Tucson community. For over 25 years we have hosted live music, poetry readings, storytelling, and other such events and the age range of the crowd depends on the artists. Clearly, you experienced the club on a night when the performance drew a younger crowd. The Hotel Congress is an urban hotel and as an urban hotel we can become noisy and we are constantly finding ways to resolve the problem.

We have recently replaced 90% of the mattresses in the hotel rooms, so your review brings to our attention that the other 10% need to be addressed as well. I am curious to know what room you stayed in, so that I can handle this issue immediately.

It saddens us to read that you are thinking of moving on from the Hotel Congress and we truly take your thoughts into consideration in order to improve our service and accommodate all of our guests’ needs. We hope you return for next year’s Gem Show and every year from that point forward. If you have any further questions or concerns, please email me at Dara@HotelCongress.com. I want to make sure that your next stay with us exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.5 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
273 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Hotel Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Hotel Congress

Property: The Historic Hotel Congress
Address: 311 E Congress St, Tucson, AZ 85701-1811
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Historic Hotel Congress 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Congress is listed on the National Historic Hotel Registry. We pride ourselves on the many unique features we offer that you'd be hard-pressed to find elsewhere. This historic Tucson hotel transports you back in time. Some cynical city-slicker types might notice the absence of a television in any of our 40 rooms and feel slighted. But it's intentional - we strive to maintain the Hotel's original ambiance - from the iron bed to the vintage radio, from the comforting rumble of the nearby iron horse to the retro-style phone that actually connects to a switchboard at the front desk. All rooms are uniquely designed offering an original experience every time and unlike most historic hotels, all rooms have private bathrooms, free high speed internet, and a private guest lounge.The lounge offers our patrons a large-screen television with unlimited channels as well as free computer access. You can also enjoy the exclusive outdoor patio, where you can soak-up the Tucson sunshine year round. We have new upgrades for our guests, to ensure an amazing experience during your stay at Hotel Congress. *Bike Program - We now have bicycles that our guests are able to check out to explore Tucson during their stay! We recommended guests to bike the Santa Cruz River Trail, and the Train Trail behind Maynards Market and Kitchen. Let us help you explore Downtown Tucson in a new way! *Snacks from local vendors - Enjoy some treats from our local vendors. Every room has a tray filled with a variety of snacks that are available to purchase. We have: Cactus candy, Rbar Energy Bar, Spunlight Cotton Candy, Green Valley pecans, Essentia Ionized Water, POPPED Artisan Popcorn, Cerreta Candy Co., and the Kobito Hangover and Love Kits. *Guest Room Internet - We now provide super high speed wireless Internet in our guest rooms that is 10x faster than before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Historic Hotel Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing