We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were looking for a dog friendly place plus a lounge and restaurant within walking distance. We found all that plus more at this Best Western. We received "2 for 1" drink coupons for the lounge, 15% off our dinner at their restaurant, plus a free made to order breakfast at the restaurant. Our room was newly remodeled and very comfortable. We were traveling home and needed an easy place to find off the interstate and this place fulfilled that wish as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LunchWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    292
    95
    41
    19
See reviews for
263
317
82
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We ended up in Tucson just after the tragic shooting of Gabrielle Giffords and 16 others. The press had descended on the city and President Obama was on his way. We called and asked to be let out of the reservation, given the fact that we were two women traveling alone and felt uncomfortable. They would not let us cancel, even though they surely could have rented out the room. I called the main BW number to ask them to make an exception, given the circumstances, and transfer our reservation to a BW in another city. They told me the hotels are all independently owned and they could not help me.

When we pulled into the parking lot, we got very nervous. The hotel is in a VERY sketchy area. The weather was warm but we never would have walked around at night. If possible, please check it out before you stay there!!

The hotel is clean, but very old and funky. As others mentioned, there is a train that blares its horn thoughout the night. The pool was still closed for renovations - something reviewers had mentioned months ago, to which the manager had responded that it had reopened a few weeks ago. ??

The good part was that the complimentary breakfast is from a real menu in a restaurant on site (with great waitresses) -- way more than you'd expect in this situation. In the evening you can go to the lounge on site -- very no-frills and casual, for sure -- but with a bar menu, a great bartender, pool table, big-screen TV, etc. It was a great option because I sure wouldn't have ventured out in that area!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly_xan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your comments are very important to us as they help us focus on areas that need improvement to create more enjoyable stays for our guest.
I am truly sorry that pool area was closed during your stay. We did complete the renovation of our spa few days prior but we had to paint the entire deck & so we had to close the pool area once again for 3-days. All the improvements have been completed & our pool & spa area has been open for our guests' enjoyment.
I am pleased to hear some positive comments also & I thank you for your hind & honest comments.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Clean rooms, and quiet hotel, the breakfast was the best thing about this hotel.
i know i am in USA, and i can speak, write, and listen in English, but i also know that the BW its an international hotel chain, and must have multilingual staff, at least ENGLISH and SPANISH. My complain is the lady´s bad attitude at the front desk, because she could speak to us in spanish, she heard us speak in spanish, and the most incredible thing was, i say something in spanish, and she always answer in english, that was annoying, and that confirm my suspicious that she can speak in spanish but she simply refuse to talk it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamsTapatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Since I do not know your stay dates & which of my team member you spoke with, I will communicate this to my entire team & ensure that this does not happen again. Providing outstanding guest service is our number one goal & I will be sure to reinforce this to my team.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton wi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

we stayed here while attending the UMC I had emailed in advance knowing that we needed a suite with a dded room. all of our expectations were met with the exception of the suite only having a fridge. with having medical needs we thought having the suite we would have a microwave for cooking purposes, this is not the case when asking at the front desk they do have them but none were available for our stay. they have one at the office but this was of little value to us as my wife is very sick an needs it often. we were able to buy her fruit so she was able to keep it cold at least in the fridge to eat that but that is what her diet consisted of the four days we were here. She has got to maintain a lowfat diet of less then 10 fat grams a day and it is a difficult to do and eating out is out of question so she didn't get much nutrition on this trip which was a grave concern for me. We have to return to this are for enxtended 6 week trip for her medical condition and a surgery at umc and we secured a condo for this next trip finding this to be our safest bet. We would have stayed here again if they offered kitchenettes but sadly they do not. The staff is very helpful although the first night we were short blankets for the pull out couch we arrived late and called the front desk they promptley brought them the girl noticed our living room light flickering and was of no use and told use maintenance would be by and 9am the next morning we set our alarms to make sure we were up. we finally saw maintenance our last day and told him about it as we could not us it the whole time we were there due to a fire risk as told by the front desk girl so my wife could not read in there at night and so it never got fix till our last day. other than that it was alright. the free breakfast is fine for the normal person. again with her being sick we prefer a continental style so she can have fresh fruit they do offer that but it is a small bowl with maybe four chunks not enough for a meal it's a side. so nothing healthy.the pool is nice the hot tub was dirty but it was cold here we were the only ones out there being from Wi and it only being 60 we think it's warm others probably thought we were crazy. If you are going to UMC this is a very convenient location easy to get to the center and staff is great i would not hesitate to stay for our shorter trips but not for the long ones as she needs to have a kitchen anything over two days i would get a bigger suite and as for the train I don't think you can avoid that train any where you stay....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly1golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.
I do apologize for not having kitchenettes in our suites. However, I am glad that per your request we were able to offer you a free upgrade to our suite.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your kind & honest comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Convenient, clean, and affordable. Free breakfast a plus! Mattressess a little firm but what do you expect. Just don't forget to bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper, or else the train horns will wake you up every couple of hours. - GoodKarma

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KofaSing_KoodGarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I apologize for your mattress being a little too firm for your comfort. We are planning on purchasing all new beds during first quarter of 2011. That will defiantly add to our guests overall experience & we are very excite about it. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We reserved a room based on TripAdvisor reviews, and they were right on target. One would have NEVER known this was an older property by looking at the rooms, which were fantastic - from draperies to bedding. Front desk personnel couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful. Burnie, our dinner and breakfast server is a fireball. She is truly service oriented - fast, efficient and smiling!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreatsAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Room Accomadations/decor were upscale and very pretty. Hotel personnel were very nice, The Signature Breakfast was the best Continental Breakfast I've ever had. Lots of pillows on the beds and very comfortable. One downfall as you are coming up to the hotel the vacant lot does not give it justice so don't let that fool you travel on into the hotel you will not be dissatisfied.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burrolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My entire team & I are very thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service. Regarding the vacant lot next to the hotel – Unfortunately, it is owned by someone else. But we have cleaned up most of the areas at our expense to improve the curb appeal of the hotel & location and we will continue to do so as needed.
We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#12 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing