We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Walnut, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and nice staff”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had some business on the Univ. of Arizona campus and stayed here in a suite. It was a nice room, older but clean and remodeled. There were three adults and we had two queen beds and the sofa bed. This room worked out great and the price was right when you consider the free breakfast and the drink coupons during happy hour. All of the staff were very helpful, this includes the bartenders at the “Royal lounge” we even had a little entertainment on Saturday night – Karaoke night, this was fun to watch.

The hotel was busy and the parking lot filled up at night, I did not look like they had very many vacant rooms, but it did not feel too crowded.

We would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi John,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our most recent upgrades such as new furniture, carpet, beds & bedding. It is most rewarding to hear such compliments. . .

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    335
    111
    48
    25
See reviews for
329
366
95
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Really enjoyed out stop at this BW the room we had was very comfortable only time sleep was disturbed was when a train was passing through in the middle of the night, (do they really have to have the whistle blowing all the way through). enjoyed our 2 for 1 drinks in the bar and ate in the restuarant both nights very good food, the breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast we have ever had, all in all an excellant hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robhiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

What a great place this was! Very close to all the downtown and University sites. The building is older but the rooms have been updated nicely. The front desk was very friendly when checking in and informative. In the room, they attention to small things that make a room more enjoyable were thought of. And, most importantly, it was very clean! The bar had 2 for 1 drinks and the bartender was exceptional! The bar itself is just okay. It looks like it is undergoing some remodeling. The bartender not only knew all the drinks, he also knew the area and places to visit...and he was fun talk with. A great place overall!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our most recent upgrades such as new furniture, carpet, beds & bedding. It is most rewarding to hear such compliments. . .

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Highly recommend this place. Close to Downtown and everything that Tucson has to offer. The rooms are clean and the area is nice. Safe and good. I do not like staying on Congress Street as too loud. This is perfect and I can get to U of A quickly from here as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Patricia,

Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our most recent upgrades such as new furniture, carpet, beds & bedding. It is most rewarding to hear such compliments. . .

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laveen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past but in the main bldg. next to lobby. The bldg. by the pool has noisy rooms if you stay on the 1st floor. Can here footsteps from 2nd floor guests. Would gladly stay at this hotel again but only in main bldg.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 85339az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucsoncs, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking time in writing this positive review of our business. We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the years & your loyalty to our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

True this hotel has been renovated but we were not overly impressed. The room we were assigned had a shower only with shower mount for shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. The conditioner was empty. Found this out After washing my hair. Ear plugs are provided, assuming they are for any train noise, however, we had to use them because other guests sat outside their rooms talking and laughing loudly. Could also hear tv's in rooms around us. Outside corridor, and second floor does not have an elevator. We didn't feel all that safe in the neighborhood with homeless walking around and what appeared to be an alley, which in fact is actually a narrow short street called Ash St., that runs from a major busy street right through the middle of the hotel property. The rooms were quite clean and of good size. Because they call this a full service hotel there is a restaurant attached to the property where a complementary breakfast is served. We felt this hotel was a bit pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for not exceeding your expectations..

We are always finding ways to improve our hotel facility as well the level of service we offer to our guests. We will take your comments to heart & continue working in improving in the areas that are most important to our guests.

If you decide to try us again, please ask for me so I may thank you for your feedback and ensure we do our best to serve you.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Forgive the lead in sentence as it is genuinely not meant to offend. When we first saw this property from the street it is truly frightening. It looks like some sort of prison compound with high walls and surrounded by a terrible part of town. There were a lot of homeless people walking around at all hours of the day and everything around it is very run down. A train track runs along the back of the property. That being said once you pull in you will be pleasantly surprised. The grounds are very clean and well kept, and the rooms are large and very clean. We had a 1 bedroom suite and there was plenty of room for friends to come over and visit and not be crowded in. We were in town for a soccer tournament and stayed 3 nights. The breakfast was just ok, not great but if you are in a hurry it will do. The pool is a nice touch and my girls had a great time swimming with their friends after their games. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: This is hard because some people say to get a room in the front to avoid the train noise, but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing