We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“9 day stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schroon Lake, New York
2 reviews
“9 day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We would like to commend the evening front desk attendant, Angela Richwine, for her extremely helpful, friendly and competent service. We do a fair amount of traveling and stay at four comparable hotel chains including Best Western, and Angela is probably the most welcoming and competent hotel staff person we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Angela went out of her way from our first telephone contact throughout our entire stay to be helpful and accommodating. She made local travel suggestions. She looked up and printed directions for us, and she performed many other small services, always with a smile. We were so pleased by her service and the quality of the hotel in general that we extended our stay from 6 nights to 9 nights. Thank you Angela!

Room Tip: Suites are excellent for long stays. Lot more room and privacy, if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Bill,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate the business you have given us.

I will be sure to share your comments with Angela & all the staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    302
    99
    42
    20
See reviews for
285
331
86
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this room because the rooms were big, and for the last night of our trip, I wanted something just like that. The room met our expectations. A wet bar, great shower and plenty of room. The grounds were clean and had plenty of tropical plants, and trees. We saw hummingbirds, little lizards and other types of birds flirting around. A big pool, spa and a workout room were available. We did not partake as we were a bit worn out from the day and had to pack up our treasures we picked up. Lots of great antique shops in the area. The restaurant had a great choice of really good food, but the service was a little on the slow side. But since we only had to walk by some palm trees, pool and nice fountain to get there, I did not mind the wait. The staff at the hotel are very concerned about the quality of your stay as there are dozens of other hotels in Tucson, they work a little harder for your patronage. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Barry,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful landscaping.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

" EXCELLENT !! my upgrade and room requests were already in place when I checked
in. Suite (234)was very clean, nice to have the bag with items in it from the
manager, including the nose strips, they are great to use ! and the nice letter
from the GM. Soft towels very nice. Yummy cookies at check in; ate at the
restaurant for dinner and it was delicious, also used the buy 1 get 1 drink
coupon, service was outstanding. Cooked to order breakfast was very good and
again great service. Excellent checkout, all the staff seemed to enjoy their
jobs and went out of their way to be helpful. GREAT hotel...........we will come
back again. Diamond member "

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Debra,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary cooked to order breakfast, drinks & dinner at our restaurant.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great service, great free breakfast, decent clean rooms. But not what it looks like on the internet - a bit darker, more cramped, less elegant. And people need to know there's no elevator. We got used to the train whistle, and huge chorus of bird after one night.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be very varied in spaciousness, furnishings, etc. Not sure how to know what you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nos-im
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We are planning on getting new furniture & lighting package for all our rooms during this summer. I feel that these upgrades will enhance our guest's experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you in future. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were here for a week and chose the hotel mainly because of its central location - which was perfect for exploring the area. Close to downtown, the I10 and east/west through roads. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. No problem with the WIFI access. The attached restaurant was a definite bonus. Breakfast was included in the room price - you could get everything from fruit and yogurt to pancakes and bacon and eggs. It was really good. We often had dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed it, All of the staff were super friendly and helpful. But be prepared for the train noise at night. The hotel provides earplugs but I suggest you upgrade them or you will have trouble sleeping. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Christine,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary cooked to order breakfast.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Most, if not all, Best Western properties offer breakfast, either a buffet-style hot breakfast or a continental style. The Royal Sun Inn & Suites in Tuscon has a restaurant seperate from the hotel on the property that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Each guest receives a ticket good for breakfast at the restaurant each day. While the breakfast choices are a subset of the full menu, they are very good choices. The service is fast and friendly and the food is good, The prices for lunch and dinner are reasonable. We did not eat any other meals besides breakfast but I am willing to bet they were tasty based on our breakfast experience,

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with a pleasent staff. All in all, this hotel is a good value and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgestner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also glad that you liked our recently enhanced breakfast menu. This is probably one of the best complimentary cooked to order breakfasts offered at the hotel in Tucson.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were impressed with the rooms and the ability to spread out our family of 5. Our only problem was that the blow dryer burnt out, creating smoke and smell. Thankfully that happened just before checking out. We notified the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 216MelissaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write this review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have already replaced the hair dryer in that room. We appreciate you letting us know of this at the time of check out.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
6.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
3.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing