We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A lot for the money”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is nothing fancy, but you cannot beat the price for what you get. Free parking, free wireless Internet access, free breakfast, what a deal! We switched to this hotel after being at the Embassy Suites for a couple of days since our flight home was canceled and it was only one third the price! The hotel is near the freeway and trains go blasting by often and it's not the best neighborhood, but we had no problems and everyone was friendly. Room was clean and they have a simple pool area with lots of chairs to lounge around and read or tan. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the downtown area so in the evening it is fun to wander around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedPawPrints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities including our central location in Tucson, cooked to order breakfast at the restaurant, free wifi & our pool area.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    342
    117
    48
    25
See reviews for
337
374
102
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was very clean, everyone was very kind. I called and asked for early check in and even they were completely booked, my reserved room was ready for me at 2pm. This hotel was the nicest on the whole street.

Room Tip: We stayed by the coy pond, it made it seem more private, resort like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor!
We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate the kind words & compliments & will share them with our team members.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best place to stay for a moderate price at a central location in Tucson.Less than 5 minutes to Downtown offices, the U of A and the freeway. Rooms are very clean, the staff is most attentive, You get 1 free (well) drink per person in the bar for each day you stay and the food in the bar/ restaurant is very good. Free, cooked to order hot breakfast gets your day going right!

Room Tip: Get a fist floor suite or room at the back of the property-less noisy and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyladyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their “excellent” service.

We are also pleased you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast at the restaurant & drinks at the lounge. It is probably the best complimentary cooked to order breakfast in Tucson. Our guests love it & the compliments are most gratifying to our entire team.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night here with our dog. Very nice hotel, great staff. The mobility accessible room was large, clean, quiet and very comfortable. The shower did not have a handheld shower wand but the person at the front desk said they would be installing one very soon. I couldn't pull in under the sink as the front facing on the counter is too long by about 3 - 4 inches. So you must sit sideways when using the sink, not very convenient. The bed was about 6 or 7 inches higher than my wheelchair seat which is 22 inches so for anyone who, like me, needs the bed to be the same height as their wheelchair in order to transfer onto it, this is an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janno46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time in writing a positive review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their “excellent” service.

We appreciate your comments regarding newly renovated mobility accessible suite. I also appreciate your comments about improvements we can make to enhance our guests' experience in future. We will take your suggestions to heart & work on implementing them soon.

Thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate the business! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Driving in from Vegas and fighting rush hour in Phoenix and Tucson this hotel was a welcome sight! We pulled in and checked in quickly, I had called ahead and true to their word they had us ready to go to our room. We ate a quick and tasty meal for dinner without any further driving, refreshed and ready for the next day's travel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for expressing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our guests really like our convenient location close to the freeways, U of A, downtown, malls & gold courses. Our guests are also always raving about our breakfast & they say that it is possibly one of the best complimentary cooked to order breakfast in Tucson!

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is very staff, staff is wonderful and go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. Breakfast in hotel restaurant is good, nice selection to choose from off the menu, and head waiter, Ron, is fantastic. Only disappointment is two easy chairs, one in living room & one in bedroom, very hard and not comfortable, but over all, hotel is great, bed is superb and the jacuzzi tub fabulous.

Room Tip: We always get a King Suite, located in back of hotel away from street. No street noise, it is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our team members will be acknowledged for their “excellent” service.

We appreciate your comments regarding newly renovated suite. We are also pleased you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast at the restaurant. It is probably the best complimentary cooked to order breakfast in Tucson. Our guests love it & the compliments are most gratifying to our entire team.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was an overnight stopover stay. The lady at front desk was more than helpful, and even phoned the room half hour after check in, to see if everything was OK in the room, which it was. The room was spotlessly clean, the king bed very comfortable - did not bounce when either of us turned over!!. The only thing to complain about, which is not the fault of the hotel, is the noise of the trains during the night. The restaurant is convenient, though the gent's restroom was smelly. The breakfast was very good, a choice of one out of 8 - but was disappointed that we could not have both coffee AND orange juice - a choice of one only (unless paid for). I do not think we would stay there again, ONLY because of the trains. Otherwise an excellent hotel. We usually stay at BW because of their standard.

Room Tip: We always choose upstairs if possible and are considerate to those underneath (some people are not )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review posted on TripAdvisor! Our team member- Angela will be acknowledged for her “excellent” service.

We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, design and comfort of our room. We are also pleased you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast at the restaurant.

Thank you for recommending us! We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
952 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing