We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5's on all accounts, pet friendly too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“5's on all accounts, pet friendly too”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with all aspects of this hotel when we stayed for one night as a stopover. Desiree at front desk was very friendly and called shortly after our arrival to make sure we liked our room. Pet friendly, great landscaping with palms and cacti, nice large modern rooms, and the complimentary breakfast was one of the best. They give you a voucher to choose from one of eight breakfast meals at the restaurant. Very friendly server at breakfast and large portions. Overall a very nice place to stay, would definitely stay again. Tip: drive a few blocks to La Fuente for a great Mexican meal!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 196rndthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    348
    121
    51
    25
See reviews for
345
382
103
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Just wanted to say what a nice place! Front desk agent Angela quick and very accomodating with our requests.
The room smelled very fresh and was so clean.
The shower gel was awesome, comfortable bed, and tons of fluffy pillows on the bed.
The free breakfast was made to order, and was served quickly by an efficient waitperson.
Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We have recently upgraded our breakfast options & I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it very much. I will also share your compliments with Angela, she is a star employee & we appreciate all her hard work.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is probably one of the nicest Best Western's that we have stayed at, and we belong to the rewards program, so we normally try to use Best Western. We use this location when visiting our son at U of A, so it's very close to campus. Price is great, free "real" breakfast included, Desiree at the front desk was extremely friendly. We checked in on October 13th and we were upgraded to a suite for the same price. Beautiful room, next time I will book the suite!! FYI, I was a little concerned when we came back to our room around 10pm, because there was a party going on in the room beside us with about 20 people and loud music. Surprisingly enough, we heard absolutely nothing, once inside the room! Thank you Royal Sun Inn for a great establishment, see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We thank you for being a Best Western Rewards member & for your loyalty to the Best Western Brand. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the free upgrade to our newly renovated Jacuzzi suite. I will pass on your kind comments to Deserie & we will look forward to your next stay.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills,ca
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

October,2012.4 night stay.......A priceline no bid special price winner. The shower was a little weak due to the oversize rain showerhead but all in all a well run Best Western, Front desk staff(especially the evening desk manager) was excellent. Hot ,sit down, breakfast, in the restaurant,included in the price.Very nice. Everything well maintained.

Room Tip: no tips, just enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three days in Sept. 2012. The room and grounds was very clean and well maintained. Check in staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The pool and hot tub were in excellent shape and clean. We enjoyed the breakfast provided 2 of the 3 days we stayed there and it was very high quality. The only down fall was the parking for our room (near the pool) was not very good for a handicapped person. If you are disabled I would not choose a pool side room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockabilly3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosier, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

this place worked out great for me as i was trying to eat in fewer restaurants due to food allergies.. Whole Foods is down the street on Speedway about 5 minutes away..i was able to eat extremely healthy thanks to whole foods..because this motel is near the university, there are many thai, chinese and mexican restaurants nearby..i definitely would stay here again..my room was clean and i had a nice stay here..to my surprise, they gave me a voucher every morning for a "real" free breakfast next door.. by gosh, i ate bacon, eggs, hashbrowns and coffee every morning for free..the staff here was very nice and accommodating.. the only problem i observed was a customer who was drunk and verbally abusive..the staff wasted no time kicking him out.. i have been other places where the staff will ignore problems such as this because they are scared or lazy.. not this place.. the staff was extremely apologetic as well.. i told them they don't have to be.. i wasn't their fault the guy was drunk..i read a review that mentioned sketchy people around the motel.. this is true because there is a park across the street.. however, i only saw one homeless person near the motel and it wasn't a problem..i wasn't worried about the homeless as i have a lot of compassion for their predicament...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaquisoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our guests really love our convenient location that is close to U of A, downtown, Tucson Convention Center, Hospitals, Tucson malls, golf courses & easy access to & from freeways I-10 & I-19.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

You won't do any better for the price! The staff was friendly and the exterior quite nice. The room was clean with updated furniture, bathroom and paint -- very nice. Frankly, we thought this hotel was superior to the Hilton Resort we stayed in while in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boston41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
963 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
7.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing