We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charleston, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“relaxing, and comfortable”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

My pet friendly room was very nice with plenty of room. The carpet wasn't the cleanest, but was vacuumed thoroughly, and the rest of the room was very clean. (most carpets aren't very clean, truthfully)
I didn't have access to grass for the dog, but could walk her in the neighborhood with relative security. I slept very well - the bed was super comfie and the noise level was very low. AC worked great, and I like having parking lot access to my room because of having a dog and extra things to carry in.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cindybettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I do apologize for the carpet not being as clean to meet or exceed your expectations. We do shampoo them on a regular basis & will make sure that this room gets shampooed as soon as possible. I am also very happy to inform you that we are in process of installing new carpet in all our rooms.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    333
    111
    48
    24
See reviews for
323
364
95
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Classy hotel in a downtown location. Nice hotel grounds with a restaurant and bar attached. Nice suites, some with a wet bar. If you are looking for a good value, at a top notch property, that is not a cookie cutter looking pace, go there and enjoy a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have stayed here every year since 1999. It just keeps getting better. The 2012 breakfast is the best yet. Friendly staff and clean, fresh rooms. We love the remodeled showers. They are so easy to get into.

Room Tip: Even the regular rooms have grab bars for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We very much appreciate the business you have given us over the years & your loyalty to our hotel. We are constantly working on improving our hotel facilities & come up with things we can do to enhance our guests' experience. I am happy to hear that you liked & enjoyed all the upgrades & amenities we offer. I will share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your king words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice hotel centrally located in Tucson. Very warm welcome and helpful staff. The lady at the front desk even called us on the phone to hear if everything was satisfactory. The room was big and had all the amenities we needed - even a small welcome bag with water, candy bars, shampoo, tooth paste, deodorant etc. Breakfast was served in their restaurant and you could choose between 8 different meals. Here the service was also excellent. I can definitely recommend this hotel - especially because the price for a room is very reasonable and the staff is great.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service to all our guest, every time! I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they will be very happy hear your kind words.

Once again, thank your for the kind words & we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuriootpa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We found it was great, the restaurant being on site made it great at night(didn't have to worry about drink and drive), the staff at both the eatery and the motel always fell over them self to make sure we had a great time, we stayed for 3 days to visit the Titan museum and the Pima restoration centre, don't forget the wildlife place in the hills above Tucson, in other words Great.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grant t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your stay at our property. My team & I are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience.

Our guests really like the fact that we are conveniently located close to Tucson's most popular attractions such as Old Tucson Studios, Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Saguaro National Park, Biosphere, Pima Air & Space Museums & downtown art district.

Positive comments drive us to continue offering clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service to all our guests, every day. Once again, thank you very much for the business & for your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I travel on business a lot and I'm aware of the range of quality there is out there. This hotel is one of the good ones. The quality of the room and the comfort of the bed were perfect. There was an attention to detail that made staying there a pleasure - there were even little earplugs that my wife, had she been there too, would have loved.

Breakfast was in the hotel restaurant and the two servers there were cheery and efficient. The breakfast was cooked and sent me off to work in good style.

One factor that was such a pleasant surprise was the price. For a hotel of this quality, the day rate was incredible value. My company were paying the bill but if anyone ever asks me to recommend a hotel in Tucson, I will recommend this hotel without a moment's hesitation. Well done, Royal Sun, you should be proud of the service you provide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainCLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your stay at our property. My team & I are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our recent upgrades. Our guests say that we have one of the best free cooked to order breakfasts in Tucson. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, I know they appreciate hearing compliments from our guests.

Positive comments drive us to continue offering clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service to all our guests, every day. Once again, thank you very much for the business & for your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had a good stay in this hotel. The price is good, and my room was large, comfortable and clean. The staff is nice and the breakfast is ok (not so much choice....)
Bare in mind that this hotel is not very close to the city center...it is at walkable distance from it, but walk in Tucson can be painful if it gets hot....Given it's low price, it's a very good choiche if you have a car and you want to go around by car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your stay at our property. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

I am also happy to hear that you liked our clean & comfortable rooms & that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service to all our guests, every day. Once again, thank you very much for the business & for your comments. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing