We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Clean Value near UofA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Avondale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quality, Clean Value near UofA!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I was on a business trip on the Campus of U. of Arizona and wanted to stay nearby. This hotel is close to campus, located off Stone, just minutes from campus by car. In fact, you could probably walk if you had the time and cool enough weather. I book this hotel through Priceline, and it was a great value for the price point!

The lobby and hotel staff was very friendly when I was checking in, and called the room about 10 minutes after arrival just to check to make sure the room was to my satisfaction. The decor of the room was updated and clean. Very nice place for me to pull out my laptop, connect on the free wifi and get some work done (and of course check facebook!).

Also at check in, they game a breakfast voucher, drink 2 for 1 voucher, and informed me that with my room card I got 15% off at the hotel's restaurant. Of these, I only partook in the breakfast, which was the choice of 8 different cook-to-order breakfasts. A great deal, and I enjoyed a quality French Toast & Bacon breakfast in the morning.

Parking was a little strange, probably just because of how the hotel was situated on property...I was able to park really close to the room, but was not able to see my car. Yet no problems in the morning as it and its contents (work materials) were safe and sound.

All in all, a good location, value, and service! I'd recommend for anyone who is wanting clean, good service, and location near UofA.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary Cook-To-Order breakfast at Royal Sun Restaurant. It is one of the best complimentary breakfasts in Tucson, especially with our new menu with more choices including healthy options.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    348
    121
    51
    25
See reviews for
346
382
103
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here in a suite one night. There were a few minor problems (key cards to our room didn't work and there were no pool towels) so I had to make a few extra visits to the front desk, but they were fixed quickly. We didn't like the set-up of the suite (the door between the rooms was in a different place than the other suites we've stayed in at other hotels) and the hide-a-bed couch was horribly uncomfortable. And we didn't realize there was a train track nearby - the train comes through about 10 times during the night blowing it's whistle. The sit-down breakfast at the restaurant was yummy, but it took awhile and it's not really free since you should tip the waitress. But the location of the hotel was convenient and easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Cook-To-Order breakfast at Royal Sun Restaurant. It is one of the best complimentary breakfasts in Tucson, especially with our new menu with more choices including healthy options.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We are two Canadian gals who were enjoying a trip to Scottsdale when we decided to head south to the Tuscon area for a couple of days. We had no reservations, came across this Best Western (and the BW name usually stands for a decent place). This stay was one of the many highlights of our vacation! Don't ever say no to karaoke ... the management, staff and the locals in the lounge were very friendly, we had a great time! Didn't wake up in time for the free breakfast unforunately - brunch would have worked out better! The room was old, but clean and comfie and we felt safe there. Cheers Tomas! Kat & Deb

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatTrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are very happy to hear about your fun filled experience with us. Royal Sun Lounge is very popular for Karaoke & we are glad you were able to participate & enjoy it. I am sorry you missed out on our complimentary Cook-To-Order breakfast at Royal Sun Restaurant. It is one of the best complimentary breakfasts in Tucson, especially with our new menu with more choices including healthy options.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Simply speaking, I like this hotel. Very Good to stay.

For solo traveler, the price might be a little bit expensive, but for those who split bills, the price is reasonable.

Parking was free; Hot breakfast was free, although I was so tired that I skipped it; Internet was free, but was very slow. Staff were very kind and willing to get help.

My friend was Best Western Platinum number, However staff didn't try to add his number into my reservation and get Platinum benefit since I reserved from third party.

The room was nice and clean and beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are very happy to hear about your great experience with us. We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My friend and I had been riding our Harleys all day and stopped here for the night. The service was excellent Desserai at the front desk was able to hook us up with places to go and reliable cab service. The lounge had cold beverages on tap and the food we ordered was fresh and hot. The morning breakfast was fresh hot off the grill. Cloe our waitress was on a fast pace to every table ensuring evry one was taken care of and all our needs were met. Our room was clean and everything we needed was there and in great shape. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuna1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are very happy to hear about your great experience with us. Our guests' compliments drive us in consistently doing better & keep exceeding expectations.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I spent three nights here, using it as my base camp for my Tucson activities. It is close to the interstate and close to University of Arizona as well as to downtown area. The room proves to be good size, clean and bedding fresh. I am not exactly sure about the neighborhood though, I had couple of run in with the local homeless population in the parking lot of this Best Western, one of them asked me for a ride which I politely decline. The motel seem to be split in two, one half on one side of the side road that contained the front desk, restaurant and my section. Other side got the rest of the Best Western as well as the pool and such.

But outside of the homeless, I found the place to be comfortable, airconditioned worked well and bed proves to be surprising firm so I slept well. The staff also proves to be quite excellent and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

My entire team & I are thrilled to hear about your great experience with us. Our guests' compliments drive us in consistently doing better & keep exceeding expectations.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel is fine but the staff is exceptional. Very convenient to U of A

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stustusteraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property.

My entire team & I are thrilled to hear about your great experience with us. Our guests' compliments drive us in consistently doing better & keep exceeding expectations.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
963 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
7.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing