We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Bestest" Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Bestest" Best Western”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I have been staying at the Best Western Royal Sun on business travel for several years now. I switched from Farfield Inn, by Marriott properties. One might be concerned about quality in changing from Marriott properties to Best Western. However, I have never been disappointed. Although this is an older property it is maintained as though it is new. The entire team from the General Manager down to the grounds keeper all take great pride in the facility and pay GREAT attention to guest satisfaction. Speaking of the staff. Over several years I have seen no turn over in staff. That speaks volumes for the leadership at this great hotel. (If you are a frequent traveler you already know staff turnover is often high in the lodging industry.)

Best Western Royal Sun has a very clean pool and spa area. They also provide a workout area and vending area. They have several "mini-suites" and "full-suites." The full suites have a front room with a hide a bed couch, chair, coffee table, entertainment center with flat screen TV and a phone. The back room has either two queens or one king bed and a work desk area with speaker phone and wired or wireless internet along with another flat screen TV. All areas of the property are covered by the wireless connection including the pool and spa area. This property has an on site retaurant with a cantina. The breakfast is a choice of five different breakfasts off the menu. Not old, cold, stale rolls and bad fruit. What a refreshing change...at no additional cost.

All rooms also have a hair dryer, Mini-Fridge, and a lit make up mirror. Additionally, many of the rooms connect if you have a large group. I find it an additional value that not only can you get two rooms that connect but several in a row. This allows for movement between several rooms for a large group without having to go outside.

The houskeeping staff is provided a list of inbound guests daily. They always turn the air down in the rooms and have them very cool for your arrival. A great service for sunny, hot Arizona. If you are a Best Western Rewards member there is always an additional treat in the room based on your award level.

The ONLY drawback I see is no microwave in the rooms. However, there is one in the lobby along with a computer and printer for guest use. The lack of the microwave is easily overcome by all the other outstanding features.

Thank you for the great rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardClouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We truly appreciate the business & we are thrilled to know that you love to stay with us every time you are in Tucson. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    326
    109
    47
    23
See reviews for
312
360
91
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had made this reservation weeks in advance and at last minute had to change occupancy and room type due to a family emergency. I am so thankful that Angela was working the front desk that night. She is for sure a definition of the Best Western Brand! She was able to get the rooms switched and check-in was a breeze (she even provided us with directions to our destination!).
The breakfast at the hotel also exceeded my expectations as I thought it would be all cold items (continental breakfast), but it was a Full HOT cook-to-order breakfast with some good choices and of course, best of all, it was complimentary! You are limited to some choices but they are filling.
Our room was surprisingly very clean and updated.. From the pictures that I had seen online, I expected what I saw and once again was surprised. They have updated their furnishings, have flat screen TVs and DVD players in the room with upgraded amenities.
I had also read that the area at night was kinda sketchy, but I did not notice anything bad or unsafe both nights that we stayed there and we got in late one night and ventured out another. Won't say its in the best part of town, but for sure not the worst.
I would recommend this hotel and would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgetTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I will let Angela know of your compliments & kind words. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

At the end of May, I brought a group of 12 biology students to Tucson for my annual course "Dyanmics of the Sonoran Desert Ecosystem." We stayed at the Royal Sun and couldn't have asked for a more perfect location (both to the Sonoran Desert and to downtown Tucson). The staff was extraordinarily helpful and made our stay there a genuine pleasure. Rooms were immaculate, the pool sparkling clean, breakfast was delicious, and the tavern gave us some time to unwind after a long day in the field.

Kudos to Neil Shah and his staff for making our field experience a treat. I intend to bring another group down next year and, of course, we'll stay at the Royal Sun!

Dr. Gregory McArthur
Professor of Biology
Metropolitan State College of Denver

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcarth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

It was our pleasure to host you group. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We will see you next year.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I get sick of "hiltons".. Being able to relax in clean enviro, OK food is lame but suits me..Can't go wong here. If u expect more then u've lost it. There is a basic gym, free brekky, a pool, a balcony ( food.. yeah ok not great) but u eat and there is a bar and a great atmosphere. Tuscon is is not an out there place and if u are here it's not for fun , right!. Some good thigs to see locally if u try.. I'd stay here again... Trains are noisy,, http://www.bwroyalsun.com/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Front desk staff & manager give top rate personalized service! Restaurant staff very friendly too.
Great value

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daraghmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Our room was spacious, very clean, very well furnished, and had a very comfortable bed. The room was very quiet and the 'black-out' curtains are definitely needed in Tucson where the sun rises very early. Usually motel rooms can be quite noisey but these rooms seem to be very well constructed. The wireless internet access was also excellent..
We chose this hotel for it's convenient location within a mile of the University of Arizona campus and also for its very reasonable rates. The complimentary full breakfast is definitely a great idea for travelers.
From the street, this hotel looks very nice and when you enter the enclosed courtyard, you quickly realize that you are in a very secluded protected area surrounded by spacious desert and tropical plants with water features. The swimming pool and exercise room also complete this pleasant hotel.
The front desk staff and others that we met on the premises were very cheerful and were quite happy we were staying with them.
We definitely will stay here again as it seems like our home away from home now...

Room Tip: Pool rooms might be quieter than parking lot rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixelParlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I am pleased to inform you that we are already looking into updating our black outs & sheers to make them more modern & exceed our guest's expectations. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife, nephew, and I extended our 3 day stay to 7 because we found it to be a convenient base for touring Tucson, visiting friends, and hiking in the mountains. The suite was roomy and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good breakfast too. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tscrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing