We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience”
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Arizona Inn for a few days this summer and were extremely pleased. This is an older establishment and as such a bit worn but they make up for that with lots of charm. The room was large and very clean with comfy beds and we loved it. The pool and the grounds are great too and even wild horses could not drag the kids from the pool area. We had dinner at the restaurant as well as a breakfast twice. The testing menu with wine pairing was delicious. The food and wine was excellent. The staff are pleasant and attentive. I suspect we will return more than once. To be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    116
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
153
305
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Arizona Inn off and on since the early 70's when Tucson was basically a glorified southwestern crossroads and only city of any consequence anywhere near the Mexican border. The family owned resort then and four generations later is still family owned now. There's wi fi and a conference center, gym and new "fangled" ammenities but...the essence of the resort is timeless. The experience a pleasure.
The grounds at the Arizona Inn are worth the price of admission alone.
At coctail hour the verdent quadrangles that border the outdoor pool are peppered by carefully manicured desert mesquite, palo verde, saguaros, prickly pear---you get the idea. The sandy pink color of the Inn blends seamlessly into the desert landscape.
Take a short walk to the University of Arizona's main campus along Speedway Blvd. Grab a taxi and spend the day at southwest art and antique stores downtown. Hop in a car and drive up to the summit of Mt.Lemon. Drive over the pass and see Old Tucson and the incredible Sonoran Desert Museum.
In winter the snowbirds return and claim their places at the gorgeous darkwood Audubon bar complete with piano player every evening, and in the main dining room for gourmet fare ranging from tex mex cuisine to the best Chicago prime beef. Don't miss the Sunday brunch. It's the best in the ol'Pueblo.
Rooms may not be enormous, but they are comfortable. Decorated with southwestern art. And the desert at your doorstep.
Service at the Arizona Inn is impeccable. The staff seems to be able to anticipate your every need before you have your every need.

Being centrally located....15 minutes from the airport/10 from downtown/15 from the foothills/an hour from Nogales, Mexico and two from Phoenix...the resort is a perfect jumping off place to visit the wealth of the high sonoran desert and one of its oldest cities.
The family that first conceived and continue to run the Arizona Inn have never compromised. First Class always. Sure there are newer resorts in Tucson out in the high desert with marvellous views of the mountains and valleys. But the solitude, attention to detail, and western civility makes The Arizona Inn special.

Room Tip: Probably not conducive to young families...or little children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Arizona Inn for a few days this summer and were extremely pleased. This is an older establishment and as such a bit worn but they make up for that with lots of charm. The room was large and very clean with comfy beds and we loved it. The pool and the grounds are great too. We had dinner at the restaurant as well as a breakfast twice. The testing menu with wine pairing was delicious. The food and wine was excellent. The staff are pleasant and attentive. I suspect we will return more than once. To be recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our fourth time at the Inn. We love to stay at old hotels. This stay was booked through the airline which may explain why we got the accommodations we did. My DH has asthma. It was obvious to us that it had been quite awhile since the air filter had been changed. The air was stagnant even after we sprayed Ozium. It took two complaints to have the filter changed after which the air quality improved. Yes, there was 1/2 inch of dust on the filter. The room was very clean and it was wonderful that we had two screen doors. Old hotels all have quirks and we know that maintenance of these places has to be a constant headache. Will we stay again ? Hate to say it but we may look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_Tx_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel has so much potential and unfortunately does not quite deliver. It is easy to see how special this place would have been "back in the day". The style, structure and "bones" are enchanting. But . . . there are so many areas of the hotel that are in need of repair and refurbishing. There are crumbling areas around the pool, landscaping that is old, tired and overgrown that needs to be removed and replanted, etc, etc. The hotel is very, very clean, and as important as this is, will not continue to sustain the it unless it addresses the larger issues. We must say that we found the service staff to be on point during our one night stay. We decided to dine casually at the Audubon Bar with drinks and appetizers, and the bar/wait staff were superb My wine selection and husband's cocktail were perfect. Our food choices were equally as pleasing, served hot or cold as required in an attentive and inviting way. Our room service breakfast order the next morning fell apart a bit (don't they always?) with food delivered cool (not really a surprise there), but the burned pancakes and "chicken apple sausage" the tasted like liver was so bad, my husband could not eat it. The staff offered to replace it, but we quickly realized that was probably pointless and instead just opted to share my poached eggs (executed very well) and wheat toast. If we were staying for longer than a night or two we would be disappointed, but for one night, it was valuable to experience the hotel and imagine when.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Arizona Inn is without doubt the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in the USA or Europe. It is in a nice quiet residential area and easy to find. Our room was tastefully furnished as were all the public areas. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The grounds are lovely but our favorite place was the pool area. Absolutely beautiful. A refreshing change from the usual sterile/bleak pool area in most American hotels.
Food excellent.
Not the cheapest option but worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgransden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I visited Tucson on business and after a terrible stay at the Doubletree, I asked our travel team for a better stay. The Arizona Inn fit the bill! This is an older hotel with an interesting history including stays by Clark Gable and other movie stars. The hotel is now located in a neighborhood setting so it's strange to drive down a residential street and come upon the hotel. Bonus - free parking across the street.

The check-in was swift and pleasant and I received an instant upgrade! The grounds are beautifully kept, but ensure you get good directions to your room because I spent 15 minutes walking around trying to find my room. The room was great - I was in a large ground floor room with a private patio. They don't charge extra for internet and bottled water in the room. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room. They even had a small library of books for you to choose from in your room.

The only minor complaint I have (and it's minor) is the shower. It's an old school shower and they don't have the new curved-out shower rods so you feel squashed in the shower. Other than that, the room was spotless and clean.

My co-workers and I had breakfast in the restaurant - it took awhile for the food to come out, but the food was excellent. Free scones and biscuits and wonderful service.

If you are traveling to Tucson, I recommend staying at this hotel

Room Tip: If you don't walk all over the property to find your room - ask for a room either close to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotGrlNextDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
16.0 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.7 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719-4395
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing