We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming historic property!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming historic property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Arizona Inn is a gem, nestled in a quaint neighborhood in Tucson. My stay was far too short, and I'll absolutely return! Service is outstanding, the staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and professional. My sister, savvy traveler that she is, found an upgrade offer right here on TripAdvisor, and this provided us with a lovely, private room with a spacious, shaded patio. Bar service was excellent, I loved the piano player's rendition of "I Left My Heart In San Francisco", despite the fact that we headed out shortly to an outstanding country music gig! There is a "make your own sundae" bar each evening by the pool that we unfortunately missed due to time constraints, and bicycles were available on loan to guests. My favorite part of the ambiance was the huge library lined with books, many of which were lovely antiques. Our room held a shelf of books as well, and I found several that nearly kept me there, nestled on that patio! Breakfast the next morning was a bit slow in arriving, but excellent, a beautiful, large,fresh fruit bowl accompanied my perfectly executed eggs and local sausage. The only downside, the lobby coffee was long gone far before 9am, and our room was a bit small. Otherwise, this is a lovely piece of Tucson history with sleep-over privileges!

Room Tip: I understood at check-in that the staff attempts to upgrade at check-in when availability permits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    100
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
124
253
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Perfection! From the fresh flowers in my suite, to the turndown service every night...I felt like I had a personal Valet, but without being invasive to my privacy. Formal but not stuffy. Tops anyplace I have ever been for comfort, attention to detail, privacy and quiet. I love the ice cream social at the pool every night, though I prefer their High Tea in the winter months. The gardens and grounds are impeccable. The food, perfection. Quaint and charming in every way.

Room Tip: I had a suite with a private gated patio out back. There are no bad or undesirable rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynngbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful grounds and old Southwestern style. Romantic and very restful. Restaurant is fantastic! Beautifully appointed and maintained main building, halls, high ceilings, restaurant. Always love staying or eating here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborn, Ma.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Arizona Inn has so much the resorts don't, like history, ice cream by the pool and impeccable service. Not to mention the lovely lavender soap in the bathroom. I've never been disappointed staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purefunkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited the Inn many times over the years. It is a 1930's hotel frequented by the rich and famous, but is much more than that. We have had a family photo shoot there on the amazingly beautiful grounds, easter and special occasion meals and most recently a visit to just check it out and have a beer at the bar while I waited for my wife visiting friends at the nearby University Medical Center. Located on Elm, just off of Campbell, it is not on a major street and one story so does not tower over the neighborhood. To be at the Inn is to step back in time when detail was important and peace and quiet honored, thus the huge library to sit back and relax with a good read. If you appreciate the past, and enjoy a truly first class stay, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertocollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, it's expensive, and it's worth it if you value the feeling of being at a real oasis in Tucson filled with history and hospitality. The grounds are immaculate (it's easier if you don't think about how much water it takes to keep it that way - eeek! Maybe some of the grassy areas could be xeriscaped without sacrificing all of the grass? Just a thought) and lovely. The pool area is just gorgeous (don't miss the sauna if you are there in the winter months) - had a superb Cobb salad there for lunch. The main dining room is beautifully proportioned, so it's both large and intimate, and the food is very good. Our superior room was charming, with a tall four poster bed and marble topped end tables. We enjoyed watching several of the classic DVD's (ask at the desk) featuring famous stars who stayed at the resort in years gone by. While the bathroom was tiny, it's functionality was saved by a huge medicine chest which was mirrored front, interior, and on the back of the door, and which enabled us to get ready in the absence of a counter-top. The bed was pleasantly firm but could benefit from a memory foam topper. Loved the sundae bar although we only indulged in it one night. Staff were very professional (without being stuffy) and helpful. We managed to forget our electric toothbrush and we were promptly brought two manual toothbrushes for our use. So many nice touches, like the fresh flower in the bathroom, the Starbucks coffee, the turndown service with chocolate. It was just great and we would stay there again in a heartbeat! Only wish our trip had been longer! Had an early dinner in the bar, enjoyed the pianist playing the classics. Charming!

Room Tip: Room 128 was spacious and charming, and we only heard noise from an adjoining room once. First night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWandererPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Arizona Inn for 9 nights in April/May.
It was our second stay as we enjoyed staying here on a previous visit to Tucson.
This was one of few inns we have stayed where we felt confident of getting a relaxing quiet stay for 9 nights and we were not disappointed.
The gardens are lovely and the Inn has an air of quality and peace which made for a restful stay.
The staff are polite and helpful; if you can afford it then this really is the only place to stay when visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing