We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of historical charm & modern hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An oasis of historical charm & modern hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yes, it's expensive, and it's worth it if you value the feeling of being at a real oasis in Tucson filled with history and hospitality. The grounds are immaculate (it's easier if you don't think about how much water it takes to keep it that way - eeek! Maybe some of the grassy areas could be xeriscaped without sacrificing all of the grass? Just a thought) and lovely. The pool area is just gorgeous (don't miss the sauna if you are there in the winter months) - had a superb Cobb salad there for lunch. The main dining room is beautifully proportioned, so it's both large and intimate, and the food is very good. Our superior room was charming, with a tall four poster bed and marble topped end tables. We enjoyed watching several of the classic DVD's (ask at the desk) featuring famous stars who stayed at the resort in years gone by. While the bathroom was tiny, it's functionality was saved by a huge medicine chest which was mirrored front, interior, and on the back of the door, and which enabled us to get ready in the absence of a counter-top. The bed was pleasantly firm but could benefit from a memory foam topper. Loved the sundae bar although we only indulged in it one night. Staff were very professional (without being stuffy) and helpful. We managed to forget our electric toothbrush and we were promptly brought two manual toothbrushes for our use. So many nice touches, like the fresh flower in the bathroom, the Starbucks coffee, the turndown service with chocolate. It was just great and we would stay there again in a heartbeat! Only wish our trip had been longer! Had an early dinner in the bar, enjoyed the pianist playing the classics. Charming!

Room Tip: Room 128 was spacious and charming, and we only heard noise from an adjoining room once. First night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWandererPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    100
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
124
253
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Arizona Inn for 9 nights in April/May.
It was our second stay as we enjoyed staying here on a previous visit to Tucson.
This was one of few inns we have stayed where we felt confident of getting a relaxing quiet stay for 9 nights and we were not disappointed.
The gardens are lovely and the Inn has an air of quality and peace which made for a restful stay.
The staff are polite and helpful; if you can afford it then this really is the only place to stay when visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took a four day respite here , mid week, during the transitional season, and I would return tomorrow.

The grounds are expansive, close to town and in the midst of a residential neighbor hood. The whole effect is one of moving back in time. Each room is a bit different spacious, but for smallish bathrooms...a left over for times past. The compensation is a wet bar, with a water stocked fridge, granite counter, and coffee pot with loads of Starbucks' dark. And a seemingly endless supply of dark chocolate mints. The woman who tended our room, the bartender, and the doorman knew us by sight by the end of the first day. In all, we were treated with grace and no pretentiousness.

Several breakfast options are possible, but while we tried the dining room the first day, we opted for our terrace, with the NYT from the door and the robes from the closet. From call to coffee, ten minutes. After five home made ice cream sundaes at the pool at the end of a garden walk.

We had privacy and mobility. The car lot is across the side street, and I had a host of offers for help from the lobby, I could move on my own with ease. I could go on; it was a perfect week, but my favorite part of all were the two turquoise, wooden screen doors in our room.

Room Tip: We upgraded to one with a first floor patio. It was well worth it. The effect is living in a garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhDGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This picturesque piece of Tuscon exudes charm and displays an undeniable sense of history. Complimentary High Tea in the large drawing room was a delightful touch and a great way to unwind in the afternoon. The room, grounds and amenities were well kept, the staff courteous and attentive (even if at times a little green). We had a perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning at the restaurant and the juice was fresh squeezed - yum!

This venue would suit people who appreciate local history and seemed to cater to an older clientele. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theJatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the greeting at the curb when we arrived to the departure the charm of the hotel came through. Old but new. The room was large and well furnished. The ground were like the gardens at the Oberi hotels in India. We definitely would like a longer stay than the one night we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Inn is an older property that is very well maintained, quiet and extremely service oriented.

Unless you are visiting the university the location is probably the only slightly negative aspect otherwise it is an exceptional hotel and a very good value.

We would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shifty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't comment on the value proposition, since I was attending for a meeting and our room was paid for. But this is a beautiful, peaceful, unusual hotel, that provided so much quiet and privacy it hardly seemed like a hotel at all. Our room was large and extremely comfortable, with a small patio outside with table/chairs and two lounge chairs. The only sounds were all the birds on the grounds. Rabbits scurried around the lawn next to our room at dawn and dusk. Our room was supplied with a variety of current, outstandingly chosen books. It's about an hour's walk to downtown Tucson through some interesting neighborhoods and the nearby University of Arizona campus.

Can't comment on the restaurant, but room service breakfast was extremely good and the service prompt and courteous. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing