We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay that hit the spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arizona Inn to your Saves list
Arizona Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A stay that hit the spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was invited out to Tucson to give a lecture. My wife and I figured we'd turn it into a weekend. The sponsors made arrangements at the Arizona Inn. We figured it'd be nice, but lots of places are nice. It was so much more than lots of places, so much more than nice. Unique in its style of hospitality, incredibly relaxing, breakfast hearty enough to hike for three hours in Sabino Canyon, dinner the next night combined tasty and creative dishes/superb wine/courteous service (and a great bar/lounge for a nightcap). Our room was spacious, with gas fireplace, ample sitting areas. No doubt you can find fancier palces, but few if any as special,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bwj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    98
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
123
251
31
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
st. george, maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Where else can you find an amazing place like this? It's like being able to turn the clock back to genteel living, perfect service, exquisite grounds. Afternoon tea -- yes, sandwiches with the crusts cut off -- is a luxurious treat; breakfasts are ample and delicious. The rooms are large and lovely. No, the bathrooms are not large, but it's a small price to pay for the overall experience of being the guests in an extremely well-run country estate.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a private patio out back, rather than a porch in front, for the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visit the Arizona Inn for a lovely lunch and view. We sat outside and enjoyed the gardens, Food and service was great, servers were very friendly and helpful We strolled along the gardens and admire the flowers, unfortunatley we did not stay here. Just came for lunch and to see the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bigred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Elegant, beautifully maintained, well-appointed and service oriented, the Arizona Inn offers a relaxing respite from everyday life. The grounds are gorgeous and each room is uniquely decorated with varying amenities. We took two rooms -- one standard and one deluxe. The deluxe was large and came with a gas fireplace while the standard was very, very small. Although some of the old-world charm included old-money stuffiness, the hotel staff was by-and-large very responsive and helpful. The reasons for four stars instead of five are the following issues: the pillows rank as among some of the most uncomfortable we've every put our heads on; the breakfast crew struggled with attentiveness (tracking down someone for a coffee refill was an art); and the evening restaurant staff was inadequate. All-in-all, it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaddaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When my wife and I no longer can live on our own, we have asked our kids not to put us away in some smelly nursing home, but rather give us the dream of our lifetime and let us live at The Arizona Inn, Tucson, Arizona! At $250 - $350 a night, it would probably be cheaper than a nursing home. And so, so, so much more enjoyable. In all sincerity, we have stayed at the Arizona Inn a half-dozen times and it ranks as one of our favorite hotels worldwide, ranking with Hassler Hotel in Rome, Browns in London and The Raphael in Paris. Except the weather in Tucson is much more pleasant nearly year long. We love this hotel, from it's rich history from it's founding by Mrs. Greenway and her friendship with Eleanor Roosevelt (thanks to the Army Corp of Engineers who helped build much of the Inn during the Depression, Mrs. Roosevelt!), to the antique furnishings (some built by wounded vets from WWI), elegant service and rich ambiance.
Everyhting about The Arizona Inn shouts old-world traditions transplanted to the rugged southwest. The Grand Salon is something out of Downton Abbey. The grounds are staggeringly beautiful with lush plantings and English garden beauty. The pool is wonderful, set apart with cabanas and food & drink service reminiscent of The Beverly Hills Hotel. Between swimming, tennis, and working out in the indoor gym, we kept in shape to enjoy delicious dining in the restaurant. While staying at the Inn, we have met many interesting guests, too. The Inn is located near the University of Arizona and close to the airport and downtown Tucson. To replicate the experience of staying at a five-star European hotel, the Arizona Inn will not disappoint.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, the Inn will be happy to accommodate you. Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
539 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have enjoyed various functions, balls and personal dining at the Arizona Inn,
and have always considered it to be a personal sanctum-retreat, into a "yesterday"
and up-to-date fine dining experience.
For us the "Silver Turquoise Ball" always epitomizes this Inns' historical elegance.
Exquisite dining room,--eloquent library,--sophisicated bar with nightly live piano,
--and one of our very favourite lawn indoor-outdoor patios.
The great croquet field, visable to the patio, was moved to another location!
Service is always responsive and friendly. Level of quality with the cuisine
has never faltered. We can't visit Tucson without at least one appearance
at the Arizona Inn with friends.

Room Tip: Near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arizona Inn has been family run since it was built in the late 1920s. Isabella Greenway supervised original construction and operation, in part to enhance the market for furniture made by disabled veterans under her sponsorship. The setting is amazing--a couple blocks from the University of Arizona, but landscaped for privacy and calm. Each room provides for "family" style privacy with an enclosed patio (except for second floor). Available are fire places and suites, but all rooms furnished with mostly original furniture and lots of books. Main areas include a library, game spots for outdoors and inside, tennis courts, exercise room--weights and machines--and swimming pool with cabana services. There are lots of charming wildlife, like quail and bunnies, on the grounds. The service is incredible. Great for romantic getaways, family stays, or especially for a relaxing, recharging experience. Excellent food in dining room, at swimming pool area and informal dining room. Located near everything in downtown Tucson; also easy access to local recreation sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#21 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm Street, Tucson, AZ 85719
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing