We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa pool quail living room spool beth ranch bobcat burro horses
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 38 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed at the Casitas again this year; we have been coming for a number of years and accommodate our travel schedule to the availability of our favorite casita. This year we stayed in March for a warm week with beautiful sunsets. The casitas are arranged on this ranch site with lots of privacy, set in the beautiful natural setting of the desert. Our favorite pastime is watching all the quail, hummingbirds, woodpeckers, road runners and ground squirrels who visit every day. Generous owners Beth and Bob make sure everything is in great shape and then they turn over the place to you to enjoy.

Room tip: Decide on the size needed; these casitas are all perfect for 2 people and some have capacity for a larger group.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nwtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

If your idea of a Tucson vacation includes a beautiful, private dwelling in the desert, with all the comforts of home...an outstanding view...location near restaurants and shops yet complete privacy...then you must visit the Casitas. Beth and Bob have lavished loving care on these casitas (Spanish for "little houses"). We stayed in the Desert Sun casita. Great care had been taken in the furnishings, including a Sleep Number master bed, two reclining chairs in the living room, authentic western art and decorations -- even little things like kitchen accessories and a makeup towel in the bathroom.

Through the years, we've stayed in many places in Tucson, including a couple of B&Bs. This is by far the best.

There's a beautifully landscaped outdoor spa area and putting green. And I loved visiting Beth & Bob's animals: horse, donkey, mule, goats, sheep, and chickens.

The property is just 3 miles from the Saguaro East national park, with its paved road through a stunning desert landscape.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Tucson now that we know about the Casitas.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twistin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2014

Stayed in the Rain Dancer for 2 nights. The Casitas at Smokey Springs Ranch is really a special place. It is located on the far East side of Tucson. The Casitas are scattered over an area of the ranch that is landscaped and very well kept. The Rain Dancer had all the comforts of home. It was very well equipped with everything we needed during our stay. The casita was very well maintained and extremely clean. The spool and the putting green were nice touches. The best part was just setting outside and watching the sun set each evening and the star show that followed. Beth is a great host and was very easy to work with from the moment I made the reservation. We can't wait to return when we can stay longer.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank symplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2014

What a wonderful way to stay in Tucson! Beth is such a kind and helpful host. Email communication was easy and casual. You can tell she truly cares about the comfort of her guests. We stayed in Harvest Wind, and it felt like home. The small decorative touches were adorable! I loved the antique hitching post out front. House is well equipped with everything you might need to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner, including cooking spray! Comfortable living room with cozy gas fireplace and flatscreen TV with many channels. Wonderful outdoor patio with charcoal grill and table with umbrella. Very private setting- couldn't see any other casitas, and it was very quiet! The putting green was fun, and the "spool" was so relaxing after a hot day of hiking Sabino Canyon. A favorite moment was watching a bank of thunderstorms roll through the surrounding mountains at sunset. There is a large and friendly dog who may check in on you. There are absolutely no negatives here. I'm almost hesitant to post this review as I want The Casitas to remain Tucson's best kept secret.

Room tip: I believe Harvest Wind is one of the biggest and most private of the casitas.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anneclemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

We visited in January - so this review is very late but the memories are still going strong! We were upgraded on arrival and stayed in the Storm Catcher lodge. So beautiful including an open fireplace-perfect for the winter evenings! Stunning grounds, we especially loved the morning views over the Catalinas. This is a really special place, we hope to come back soon.

Room tip: Storm Catcher of course
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saranfreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews