We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa pool quail living room spool beth ranch bobcat burro horses
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 38 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Having toured California & Arizona for a month we had three marvellous days to wind down in the Desert Sun Casita before flying home to the UK. We had planned to visit Saguaro & Tucson but as the government had closed the former & we couldn't face another city tour we chilled out wandering about the Ranch & enjoying an evening BBQ. The casita was tastefully decorated & furnished & so peaceful it was incredible. Beth & Bob were warm & friendly hosts & Bob has advised us to come when the cacti are in bloom. The whole ambience of the place is superb & we plan to return in May 2015. Hope there is a casita available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank wilfvogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The casita's are clean, comfortable, well equipped and tastefully decorated. The hostess, Beth, was so warm and inviting that we felt right at home instantly. All your worries are miles away when relaxing in the spool (spa pool) and watching the stars at night. Only have positives to say and I am particular. I would have given a 5 but since we only stayed one night and a day…Will go back though! Loved the quaintness of the smallest casita. Could have sat out on the sun chairs/beds watching for wildlife all evening-it is so peaceful there. Pick up groceries on the way and enjoy your tasty grilled meal under the stars.

Room Tip: The pool is for soaking-shallow and not huge. It is lovely, clean and warm.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suepcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I love staying at these Casitas. I'm from Arizona, have traveled all over the state -- and this may be my favorite spot. When you're tucked into your Casitas, you feel like you're secluded in the desert with wonderful views of the Catalina mountains. We've stayed in both Rain Dancer and Desert Sun. The casitas have always been clean. Each has a nice patio. My family loves the "spool". The casitas are on the East side of Tucson, so plan your activities and restaurants so you're not driving much. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay at Beth & Bob's Smokey Springs Ranch last January was nothing short of spectacular.
We had an unexpected late arrival into the Phoenix Airport so our journey south to Tucson was in the dark. Beth had reassured us that our casita would be open and there would be a light on. As we got out of our car, we were mesmerized by the pitch black sky that was dripping with diamonds!
Our casita "Harvest Wind" was comfortable and private. We hosted a couple of dinners for friends who were also visiting Tuscon and had everything that we needed. The "spool" was across the road and although we did not use it, we could see where it would be a nice addition to one's holiday.
There was a 'cold snap' while we were there but our casita was heated as we were very cozy.
The views out of our windows were beautiful ... mountains, shrubs, cacti, mesquite trees ....
We enjoy birding and set up a hummingbird feeder, oranges for the Gila Woodpeckers and a seed bells. In the span of 14 days we had quite an assortment of birds in the back yard - 16 species, some were 'lifers' for us. We loved relaxing in the back yard after a busy day day of touring the area attractions.
We had access to the entire property and were encouraged to visit the farm animals on the ranch.
Smokey Springs Ranch is quiet and away from the busy downtown Tucson, but it is just a short drive into the heart of Tucson.
Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorkelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting the Casita's faithfully for approximately the last 5-6 years. It is everything we wanted in a place to stay in the Tucson area. The casita's are clean, comfortable, well equipped and beautifully decorated. Our hostess, Beth, is so friendly and accommodating that you want for nothing. The area is quiet and away from the busy downtown Tucson (what we prefer), but it is just a short drive to Tucson.

We have stayed in all but two of the casita's and have found all of them to be as comfortable as the others. No matter what time of the year we visit, we have never had a problem scheduling our stay. Even when we had to reschedule due to a family emergency, Beth was more than accomodating.

We will continue visiting Tucson and would not consider staying anywhere else!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mary_8725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews