We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KUDOS TO JANOS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“KUDOS TO JANOS”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Rather than repeat the many accurate descriptions of the Suncatcher, I wanted to add a couple of sidebars to the commentary.

Location: Far eastern outskirts of Tucson. This means 15-30 minute drives to downtown, most attractions and restaurants, university, etc. We stayed 3 nights with daily trips to downtown/attrations and then back later for dinner. The driving got old but, for us, was worth it for the fantastic seclusion in the evening. If you don't intend to travel downtown every day and enjoy relaxing on the property and/or hiking in the hills the location is perfection. Google maps knows the location only if you enter "Suncatcher Inn, Tucson, AZ"...if you enter the actual address, anything can happen (i.e. 4 tries brought up 4 separate incorrect locations). My Garmin GPS found it only after I corrected my spelling.

Setting: The inn rests within a many-acre park-like property within a rural setting. The grounds are landscaped with a vast array of cacti and other indiginous Sonoran desert plants & trees. Friendly wildlife of all sorts (birds, many rabbits, Janos' dogs, etc) live within the fenced property while coyotes and their ilk stay outside the fence. Mountain views are plentiful and inspiring with no neighboring homes intruding.

Janos and his breakfasts: As mentioned in other reviews, Janos has a wonderful old-world European sensibility and hospitality. He is a gracious and generous host who becomes your friend in short order. The rooms are very comfortable and the linens are finest quality luxury grade which are ironed!...something not seen in many years. Each day, Janos arises very early and has coffee or tea ready by 7am while he busies himself in the kitchen preparing the day's breakfast by hand. Table service is the name of the game as Janos serves the 3-course meal and continuously replenishes your juice (you choose) and coffee/tea and water. No one we met during our stay confessed to eating lunch after finishing (or trying to finish) Janos' gourmet offerings.

The gates: Before arriving, call Janos and obtain the combination for the keypad gate controller.

We are experienced world travelers and found Janos' Suncatcher to be unique, restful, fulfilling, and revitalizing. It exceeded our expectations in every way. Kudos to Janos.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTINSF_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

This beautiful little place is at the eastern edge of Tucson. It's at least a 15-20 minute drive from restaurants or other places of interest, but only a few minutes walk to a major trailhead for Saguaro National Park (east). I went walking in the park every morning before breakfast (a wonderful way to start the day), and some afternoons too.

Just three rooms. I think mine was the smallest, but it was plenty spacious, with a very large bathroom (jacuzzi tub and separate shower) and a super-comfortable bed. The living area of the B & B is enormous, with comfortable furniture and beautiful views of the mountains and desert.

The best part is the charming and helpful owner Janos. Well, maybe the best part are his amazing breakfasts - all kinds of wonderful dishes, from German-style pancakes to goat cheese quiche to an inspiring sort of fruit compote.

In most cities I'd prefer to be closer to the center, but Tucson really is about its magnificent desert and mountain setting - so for me the Suncatcher was just right.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Apple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

A few things to note when booking: I chose this B&B because of the great reviews, and splurged because I understood it to be a just that...with breakfast. Note that there are no photos of the Canyon View rooms, and they are 2-bedroom CONDOS, not B&B rooms. I never met the host, but he was gracious enough to reduce the high cost when I mentioned this mix-up; also, the floors were not clean in corners and tiles in Canyon View Verde are falling off the second bathroom shower. Location wise, it's really quiet, but in the suburbs... so expect a lot of driving. Overall, I think this unit is only good value for 3 or 4 people; overall: there are many better values.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LetsGo45_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed here is mid January and loved our stay. We were upgraded to a Honeymoon suite and it was beautiful with a very comfortable room. The room opened to a pool area and hot tub. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking and we loved the views from the room and the living room area. Janos was a great host. We felt right at home and the breakfasts were outstanding !! We loved the food and the hospitality. The location was great for us, It is only .25 miles from an entrance to the National Park and the trails were wonderful. Overall, a great weekend getaway that we will remember. If you are in the Tucson area and looking for a gorgeous place close to hiking, this is the place !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendySolon_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
151 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at the Suncatcher in early December for a couple getaway. The Suncatcher was perfect! It is in a great location - a quiet residencial street on the east side of town, but very close and easy access to all of Tucsons attractions. Janos is an amazing host! He has decades of experience in the hospitality business and it shows! His breakfasts are probably the best we have ever had! He makes everything from scratch that very morning. If you stay here, you will love it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

A bit delayed on reviewing this B&B, but we wanted to put in our two cents.

We stayed here in early October. We were the only guests at the B&B, but Janos went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite, simply because it was available. We highly recommend it. The room size is very large, the bed very comfortable, with an adjoining bathroom to die for.

First a bit about the room: very large, outfitted with a big screen TV and DVD player which was hooked up to cable. The room's sliding glass doors open to the pool and hot tub. We didn't have swimsuits with us, so don't make this mistake. You can enjoy the stars (and there are so many out here) from the hot tub. The bathroom has a large double sink vanity with soap, shampoo and conditioners. The walk in shower is excellent. There is also a large 2 person tub in the bathroom.

The B&B is located on the outskirts of town. Make sure you follow the directions on the website, rather than using Google maps. Google (in October) took us about 12 miles out of the way and nowhere close to the inn.

The breakfasts were hands down some of the best we have ever had at any B&B. Juices were freshly prepared and all dishes were made from scratch, even the homemade granola. Food was plentiful--we almost couldn't move after eating, we were so full. And the bonus was the view--beautiful view of the surrounding mountains as we were eating by the doors which opened to the grounds of the inn.

We give this two thumbs up and highly recommend! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at this relatively new, attractive inn in early May, and it met all of our expectations (& then some) that we had developed by reading the previous reviews here. It's located in a very quiet area, basically at the east end of Broadway.

The common area is very spacious, with the floor to ceiling windows adding to the openness. Our room was also very large, beautifully appointed -- even had a skylight over our double-basin sink. The king bed was most comfortable.

Janos is the owner, and your host -- and a very accommodating one indeed. He provided an excellent gourmet breakfast each morning (at whatever time we wanted it) -- a different, creative dish each day of our 3-night stay. These included his famous "Hungarian Breakfast" (described in another review below), a quiche, and a special focaccia -- always more than we could eat. We even received some yummy muffins to take with us on our hike/picnic in nearby Saguaro National Park the first morning.

We would highly recommend the Suncatcher inn -- it's an upscale environment for a price that competes with other B&B's on the east side of Tucson. We loved it -- and hated to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.8 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
5.7 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#44 of 130 in Tucson
947 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast

Property: SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast
Address: 105 N Avenida Javalina, Tucson, AZ 85748-8928
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SunCatcher Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing