We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as Always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Liz annually for the last 6 years for el Tour de Tucson, and although it was exceptional the first time, it has gotten better with each stay. The accommodations are gorgeous, spacious, and although very elegant also extremely comfortable and inviting. The breakfast is always amazing, and it is great to truly feel at home in all of the common areas as well as in your own room. The innkeeper Jake, and the owners BJ and Eric are all friendly and welcoming, as though you are their personal guests or family members, and not just paying customers. Jake is a font of knowledge regarding local restaurants, bars, music, clubs, events, and activities, as well as an exceptional chef and host. We have also always enjoyed the other guests we have met at the Liz, and look forward to meeting very interesting people every time we go. Can't wait to go back next year and have another amazing experience.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different and wonderful, the pictures on the website are great representations...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanS-BrettM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 403 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Enjoyed the freedom to have dinner and wine, enjoy a concert at the Fox Theater and a comfortable bed all within walking distance. The Liz rooms are all beautiful, the entire house is an interesting landmark. Absolutely loved the breakfast. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Loved the bed and breakfast experience. In town for a concert at Rialto theater. It was in within walking distance which was great. Jake the innkeeper provided fabulous breakfasts and accommodated our vegetarian preferences. We also enjoyed the Victorian room including the creaky floors. We were fortunate to be the only guests for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed. Jake made the experience even better with his friendly conversation and knowledge of the Tucson area. He really is a keeper. No pun intended.

Room Tip: enjoyed the Nicole Elizabeth room to the back of residence close to kitchen, The Jacuzzi tub was nic...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile


Our families on both sides of our union came to Tucson for a family reunion. Our house cannot accommodate everyone and there's not a decent resort in the downtown area where we live. We heard about this bed and breakfast through my next door neighbor. We decided to go past it and take a look. The caretaker Jake happened to be outside and invited us in for a tour. Let me just say that the pictures on their website could not compare to what it actually looks like in person. We knew in an instant that our families would love it. And indeed they did. The B&B is nestled smack in the middle of the historic Armory Park Neighborhood, Very Historic Barrio Tucson, and Congress Street. Arizona Theatre Company is only two doors down. Our families took advantage of the professional live theatre at ATC and coincidentally was invited to a cast party from a theatre worker we all met and conversed with during intermission. The Fox Theatre, Rialto Theatre, Tucson Convention Center and a host of other venues are less than a five minute walk. Touristy 4Th Avenue is only a 5-10 minute walk. Our family, being religiously diverse, was excited to learn that an older historic synagogue was just up the street and one of the southwest's most historic Catholic cathedrals was just across the street in back of the Royal Elizabethan B&B.

The decor of the rooms were set in the period of early 1900's. Televisions were hidden in armoires as to not distract you from the ambiance of yesteryear. The rooms are large with their own over the top restrooms. Most have their own living room or sitting areas. The house has incredible history which you'll learn about from the caretaker over breakfast.

While our family and my partner and I was staying there, we all met another couple from Manchester, England who was enjoying their 3rd trip to the southwest, each time staying at the Royal Elizabethan. The owners, Eric and BJ, who we all called Ken and Barbie, gave our parents a wonderful tour of the property and a quick walking tour of the surrounding neighborhood.

There is a wonderful courtyard with a swimming pool and sunbathing area which our family from back east loved. They all returned home with a Tucson Tan that they got in October! Imagine that.

The food was not what all of us expected. I have never enjoyed such a gourmet breakfast. What a presentation. Everything was delicious.

I highly recommend this wonderful downtown Tucson gem to everyone visiting from out of town and for those in Tucson looking for a wonderful Staycation.

My partner and I scored big points with our overly "picky" family. They loved every minute of their stay and so did we.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmeryInTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This historic building added old world charm to my stay in Tucson. Centrally located within easy walking distance to all of the downtown sights--I never had to drive. My accommodations were large and beautifully appointed and the pool was so refreshing. A truly gourmet breakfast was served daily by Innkeeper Jake. His advice and recommendations for places to go and things to do around town were invaluable in making my stay fabulous! The Royal Elizabeth was so much better than anywhere else in town!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downtown_Tucson_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My quartet booked the weekend here instead of the seedy downtown hotel where the convention was headquartered. We had the whole B&B to ourselves and were the envy of the convention. The service, accommodation, food, managers .... were wonderful! This is want you are always hoping for in a 1st class accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoverToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had the greatest time and the best of care at our recent stay at the Royal Elizabeth in Tucson. The site is a treasure,, you have to be there to appriciate the historic nature of where you are staying. One can not discount the one on one service of Jake Alpert, our host, who is the one who makes the the visit a truly memorable expierence. The breakfast the he prepared for us each day was to say the least a tour de force. I would recommend to anyone if you are in Tuscon for a stay do not by pass the Royal Elizabeth otherwise you will have lost an opportunity of a lifetime..

Ken and Tohn Minneapolis Minnesota

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Historic Hotel Congress
0.3 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
1.2 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 204 S Scott Ave, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701-1908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $277 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870S-era adobe Victorian mansion, meticulously renovated. Quiet street in historic downtown Tucson 2 blocks from the new modern streetcar. Spacious suites with private bathrooms; period antiques; AC; free high-speed wireless, internet phone, satellite television with most channels and some business services; Outstanding two-course gourmet breakfasts! Colorful gardens, pool, spa. Leisure or business. Free off-street parking. Walk to dining, shopping, museums, performing arts. One mile from University of Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Visit Barbados, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing