We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Elizabeth whilst visiting for a week on a business trip. It's a lovely building within walking distance of downtown Tucson (literally a couple of minutes).

I was there for a week and breakfast was excellent every morning. Usually two courses, one fruit based and another of something cooked. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable and Jake, the inn keeper was very hospitable.

I would definitely go back and recommend this place to anyone. It was a great change from the sort of hotels I would usually stay in on business, a friendly relaxed atmosphere with a personal and homely touch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybriggs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Elizabeth when we were riding through on our motorcycle. In a nutshell, it was wonderful!!!! I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We had a wonderful and thorough tour of the house and all that it provided upon arrival. The room we were in was supposed to be haunted but we saw and heard nothing. ;0) - lol.
It was super relaxing, super nice, and super private.
The breakfast in the morning was fresh and original. We would definitely go back!
The Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast is fit for royalty.
Head and shoulders above the rest!

Room Tip: The Sydney Marie Suite is the BEST!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very different, unique, and great experience. Closer to a home than a hotel, an awesome home. Very well located in a quite neighborhood of Tucson downtown. Delicious breakfast. I would certainly recommend it and come back if I ever visit Tucson, Arizona.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yalkaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our second visit to the Royal Elizabeth confirmed what we experienced the first time! We brought friends with us this trip and they were as enamored as we are. Jake is a gracious and attentive host, making sure everything is to your liking. The food was fabulous as well! This is a wonderfully restored old home, and is a cozy and relaxing place to be. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone spending time in Tucson. Next time we plan to bring even more friends!

Room Tip: Check the web site to help you choose a room, their guide includes photos that represent them well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, A
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I really enjoyed that experience at this B&B. It was supposed to be a special weekend for us and it truly was. The rooms are fascinating as is the conversation at breakfast. It was definitely a trip to remember. I wish I had more time to enjoy some of the amenities and little extras they included! I recommend this to anyone that wants a romantic and enjoyable time!

Room Tip: They have pictures of the rooms on their website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chipcouncil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Thelocation and quality of the rooms and breakfast far exceed what other hotels offer. The Nicole Elizabeth room is where we stayed and is wonderful, but the other rooms look nice also. The wife is picky about cleanliness and she found this B&B to be exceptionally clean, even in areas rarely accessed such as behind the TV or along door moldings. Breakfast is beyond belief. Presentation and taste were excellent. The location of this inn is ideal if you want nightlife yet is not noisy when inside. Walking to downtown to sample various restaurants and small shops was an easy stroll. Since Jake worked as a chef, hence the great breakfasts, he knows the best restaurants and we found his recommendations to be very accurate. The pool and jacuzzi were nice. Warm up time is about one-half hour and the gardens near the pool are well manicured. Overall, staying here was a great experience and I look forward to staying again if I travel to Tuscon.

Room Tip: The Nicole Elizabeth room is wonderful, but the other rooms look nice also. There is a large claw f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Royal Elizabeth is a curious single storey building with a tin roof built in 1878. The front door opens directly onto a large, grand, high ceilinged, be-pillared space dividable into three "rooms" by shutters. It has a rather pavilion like appearance. The six bedrooms open directly onto this central area. Our room, Nicole Elizabeth, is large with a sleeping & a sitting area. There is a separate shower/toilet room together with a Jacuzzi partly open to the sitting room. The large sitting area windows overlook the pool & if the house were full there could be some privacy issues. These windows only have net curtains or thin blinds & two high windows over the bed have no curtains at all. If you can only sleep in the dark this might be a problem.
The furnishings throughout are all unique, with some quirky items, & are what you might get if you only bought from your local auction house (at least in the UK). They represent the taste of the owners rather than corporate head office.
Breakfast is a one sitting (8am) communal fare imaginatively cooked by Jake the resident Inn Keeper. Some of his dishes showed a simple(that's a compliment) sophistication which is in a different class from most local fare. Having said that, there are some restaurants within walking distance which are above average. Jake can advise you on your options.
The Royal Elizabeth is a two minute walk from the Temple of Music & Art where we saw a fine production of "Clybourne Park" & 5-10 minutes from the Music Hall where we enjoyed "The Marriage of Figaro". Central Tucson is compact & we did not have to use our car once during our three day stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroniusMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
Arizona Inn
#6 of 131 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lodge on the Desert
#29 of 131 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
West University
Catalina Park Inn
Catalina Park Inn
#4 of 53 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 204 South Scott Avenue, Downtown Tucson, Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870S-era adobe Victorian mansion, meticulously renovated. Quiet street in historic downtown Tucson 2 blocks from the new modern streetcar. Spacious suites with private bathrooms; period antiques; AC; free high-speed wireless, internet phone, satellite television with most channels and some business services; Outstanding two-course gourmet breakfasts! Colorful gardens, pool, spa. Leisure or business. Free off-street parking. Walk to dining, shopping, museums, performing arts. One mile from University of Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing