We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fairfield county
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in the separate Casita and couldn't have been happier with our accommodations. We enjoyed watching javelinas from our back porch overlooking a beautiful and private desert landscape. The casita was spacious and very clean. The full sized kitchen was a plus because we didn't want to leave our gorgeous setting to go into town for dinner, and instead relied on Whole Foods selections and our own wine, enjoyed on our back patio. We could hardly wait to get back from our adventures each day to relax at at "home" We used our private hot tub every night and appreciated the fluffy robes and slippers provided by our thoughtful innkeepers. Breakfast featured an interesting baked apple,poached pear or other special fruit each day, in addition to home made muffins, sausage, etc. The innkeepers are a lovely couple and very knowledgeable about their area, its attractions, animals and activities. they go to extra effort to assure a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other suites as we stayed in the casita, but the court yard and common are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
153
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Hacienda del Desertio (LaRosa room) while in Tucson in Sept, 2012. We loved everything about this B&B. The host & hostess were wonderful. They are very friendly and are truely interested in being sure their guests are well taken care of. The grounds at the Hacienda are beautiful with walking trails and a spa that is yours to use whenever you wish to do so. It's a great place to relax or if you wish to go sightseeing the Tucson attractions are not very far away. Breakfast time was always fun as David sat down with us and helped us plan our day. We were always surprised by whatever was being served for breakfast. The main entree was always exceptional in flavor - it might be a stuffed pear or a baked apple or whatever they decided to fix that morning. The Hacienda far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay here again if we're in the Tucson area.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms at the Hacienda are in a great location. A family with children or friends might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hacienda del Desertio (the La Rosa room) just before Labor Day 2012 and loved every minute of it. The B&B is located just 3 minutes from the east entrance to Saguaro National Park and the night we arrived we had just enough time to sneak over for a sunset drive around the Park. Still, it's only a short ride into town for those who prefer the comforts of civilization (i.e., eating out, though, we chose to take advantage of the well-stocked kitchen - including full fridge and freezer - as well as the gas grill on our front porch for most dinners).

The property is lovingly managed by David and Rosemary - who have a connection to the property that spans multiple generations. The sturdy and well-appointed accommodations are tucked well into the surrounding landscape of desert. An on-site walking trail, numerous bird feeders, and bountiful wildlife (we saw numerous species of birds - including a large covey of Gambel's quail just outside our door each morning - as well as peccaries and desert tortoises) reflect an obvious land ethic that outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate and all will enjoy.

Breakfast was fantastic and we even requested a few recipes - including those for the granola that was available every day and the baked pears which greeted us one morning.

All in all, we had a great trip exploring south Arizona - and the Hacienda del Desertio provided a great "home base" from which to experience this region due not only to its location but mostly to its welcoming atmosphere and gracious proprietors. I have already shared our great experience with friends and family and can recommend it to others without any hesitancy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_T-70508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I visited this b&b for New Year's last year. We loved it. The host & hostess are so friendly and interested in their guests. The layout is superior, with central garden area, havalenas (unsure of spelling) outside your door, a spa, and walking trail. The breakfast is sit-down, served and they have a main seating area with fireplace that has videos, books, and business area. They have hens & citrus trees on-site, making many of their breakfasts more homey. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette as there are not restaurants close by (at least a 20 minute drive for something nice). The other guests were really nice too and there are many hiking and bike trails nearby for the outdoor enthusiast. I cannot speak better about this establishment and look forward to our next visit. And did I forget to mention to fabulously artistic solid wood carved door that opens into the central garden area?

Room Tip: They have everything from a room with queen bed, to kitchenettes, to cabins. So whatever the travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookerOfFaith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hacienda Del Desierto
The moment you arrive you begin to feel relaxed. The property has a sense of warmth, upscale, but not stuffy. Our room LaRosa was wonderful. Far exceeding our expectations. The photos on the web site doesn’t do justice. The room is large with a quite air conditioning systems and a ceiling fan to keep air circulating. The room has a stove, sink, refrigerator, fully stocked with plates, pot pans etc.. This came in handy because we did not realize that they do not serve a full breakfast, but a generous continental breakfast. Since we cycle we needed a full breakfast. Great location to bike and hike from.The property is 8 miles from Safe Way Grocery. We also picked up steaks and grilled them on the outdoor weber gas grill. (All the rooms have a gas grilles). We enjoyed a wonderful meal outdoors on the patio table enjoying the quiet night, soft lighting, peacefulness of the outdoors. This may not sound appealing to some, but we enjoy cooking together, it was wonderful. For us it was a better alternative than driving to town and waiting for a table. There are a few restaurants nearby but we didn’t patronize them. We would go back, but nex time pick up groceries before we arrived.

Room Tip: LaRosa quiet room. Kitchen area well stocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikecohike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Hacienda Del Desiertio is a simply amazing place. We stayed here for a couple of nights relaxation after a two and a half week road trip around the South West.
We stayed in the Casita which has everything you could possibly need - comfortable bedroom, fullly equipped kitchen, living area, dining table, your own hot tub, barbecue and choice of outdoor seatng in your own outside back patio area.
All of this property is kept in amazing condition and is simply beautiful. The careful finishing touches that have been apllied throughout are simply wonderful. I don't think you would be disappointed in whatever room you stayed in.
We were looked after by Shanna for the couple of days we were there and she was extremely helpful as well as cooking up great breakfasts.
If you are looking for a bed and breakfast that is right on the doorstep of other things, this may not be the place for you, but to us it was a wonderful haven for relaxation in the desert and a short car ride from Sanguaro National Park. I just wish we lived a bit closer as Tucson is a bit far for a weekend away!

Room Tip: The Casita was simply wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We have friends in southwest New Mexico, and have driven from San Francisco several times to visit them. This time we decided to fly - and Tucson is the closest airport. Having never been to Tucson, we added a couple of days to the trip to explore the area. We were looking for a quiet B&B, and found many available in the area. I think we found the best.

Located about a mile from the entrance to Saquaro National Park, and back a long winding road / driveway, Hacienda del Desierto is welcoming, spacious, and private. It is elegantly decorated, meticulously maintained, and staffed by friendly and knowledgable folks. The rooms open onto a central courtyard with a fountain and beautiful flowers.

Can you tell we like the place?

From fresh baked cookies at arrival to homemade muffins, granola and baked apples for breakfast breakfast, food was a delight.

David and Rosemary are wonderful hosts, and having lived there their whole lives knew the best sites to visit and the best restaurants (from neighborhood to gourmet).

A wonderful find - and we will be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Bockmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.0 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
7.9 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
14.1 mi away
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
13.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11770 East Rambling Trail, Tucson, AZ 85747
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning romantic Spanish hacienda in a peaceful, desert setting on 16 acres next to Saguaro National Park East. Birding, hiking on location or nearby. Four luxury accommodations, three with kitchenettes. Spend evenings stargazing in one of our two outdoor hydrotherapy spas. Nature trail on property. Selected by Phoenix Magazine as “One of Arizona’s 23 Best Bed & Breakfasts”. Voted by inngoers as for “Most Private”, “Best Interior Design & Décor”, and “Best Wildlife Viewing”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing