We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a desert sleepover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a desert sleepover”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was down that way on a business trip and had a day to play in the desert. The Inn was meticulously maintained and the room spacious. The inkeeper couple were very hospitable, nice people. The immediate area is very quiet but not far from some area attractions and whatever Tuscon has to offer. The breakfast was of high quality but less than filling/ ample particularly compared to what one normally expects to receive at a B&B. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
154
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

As we drove out to the mountains at the east side of Tucson we had high expectations of a great place to stay for our 45th Anniversary! We were not disappointed in any way! The Hacienda del Desierto B&B was an easy choice after seeing their great and extensive web site which included many lovely pictures. No surprises! We found just what we were looking for....beauty, serenity, safety, delicious breakfasts (all three mornings) and very helpful innkeepers. I must mention that the assistant Shauna (I hope that's right) was just as helpful, caring, knowledgeable and interested in the guests as if it were her own place! We were on a shopping mission as well as a vacation and the map that Rosemary and David prepared for us made our trip a success! Oh, I can't forget to say the bed in the Patio Suite was heavenly and the kitchenette and bbq were very nice to have. The fountain on the patio lulled us to sleep and the flowers were beautiful....it was if we had our own casita in the Sonoran Desert. We'd love to return!

Room Tip: To find the room that would suit you best check the web site that is very descriptive and accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

David and Rosemary were charming hosts. Their beautiful home is located in stunning country near the Sagaura National Park, which, at this time of year is stunningly beautifu. The property is purpose built, the rooms large, spotless and beautifully decorated. our had a patio and you could walk straight out into a nature trail - plants, birds and wild life abound! Breakfasts were perfect and both David and Rosemary were delightful - informative, helpful and friendly. We thought it was magical. Recommend the Hacienda and David and Rosemary's hospitality unreservedly.

P & P

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Hacienda del Desierto is a beautiful B&B that provides you the opportunity to relax and enjoy the wonders of the Sonoran desert. Rosemary and David are truly the ultimate hosts that go the extra mile to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The property is nicely maintained with the extra perks of numerous birds, owls, javelina and even a rare crowned saguaro cactus. The breakfasts are fantastic. From grilled grapefruit to David's special recipe for granola, the breakfasts are special and sure to please. I strongly recommend the Hacienda to anyone staying in the Tucson area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeState99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This B&B may seem to be a little out of the way, but it;s an oasis in the desert. Dave and Rosemary are wonderful hosts and were very welcoming. They even offered us hats to use when we were out in the hot sun. We actually thought we should have spent more time sitting on the patio or in the common room reading and enjoying the place instead of out and about sightseeing. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJH_Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Recently we returned from a 4 day stay at Hacienda del Desierto outside of Tucson. The hacienda is located on a beautiful section of Sonoran desertscape in the foothills of the Rincon mountains with Saguaro, prickely pear, cholla,palo verde, gila woodpeckers, cactus wrens, quail, javelina and countless other wildlife. The hacienda itself is a wonderful modern Arizona/Spanish colonial style beautifully decorated and is obviously a labor of love over a lifetime. It is secluded and quiet. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to be beautiful. We stayed in the Galleria and were quite happy there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 616w_mccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is the fourth time that we have stayed there. We have found it to be a great place to
relax and enjoy the scenery and animals. Our daughter has remembered the animals and
birds found there. They have a trail which has a lot of different plants, native to the area.
The breakfasts are fantastic. We will probably go there, again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.0 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
13.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
7.9 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
14.6 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.1 mi away
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11770 E Rambling Trl, Tucson, AZ 85747-9155
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning romantic Spanish hacienda in a peaceful, desert setting on 16 acres next to Saguaro National Park East. Birding, hiking on location or nearby. Four luxury accommodations, three with kitchenettes. Spend evenings stargazing in one of our two outdoor hydrotherapy spas. Nature trail on property. Selected by Phoenix Magazine as “One of Arizona’s 23 Best Bed & Breakfasts”. Voted by inngoers as for “Most Private”, “Best Interior Design & Décor”, and “Best Wildlife Viewing”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing