We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Catalina Park Inn while visiting family in Tucson. We're in Tucson a lot, so I'm sure we'll stay there again. Paul and Mark are easygoing, fun, and accomplished hosts. They are as helpful as guests need them to be, but don't hover over guests (which we appreciate). Both the common rooms and the guest rooms are beautiful, tasteful, and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and filling.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KirstenAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2009

We have been going to the Catalina Park B&B in Tucson for years either just after Christmas or in Feb./March for spring training games. Mark & Paul are wonderful hosts, and we consider them friends. The breakfast is delicious and hearty. Coffee & tea 24/7. The gardens are a pleasure. Walking distance to several outstanding museums around the U. of AZ. This is our "other home" in Tucson. Highly recommended.
Rich and Estela, El Centro, CA

Stayed: December 2008
Thank AgaveElCentro_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

When traveling, my wife and I dodge commercial hotels whenever possible and have been lucky enough to be delighted with all the unique homes, condos and B & B’s we’ve visited. However, since our trip last week, there will be a new benchmark from which all future trips will be measured. The Catalina Park Inn is a stunning 1920’s mansion in one of the historical districts of Tucson. The restoration of the mansion is flawless, the interior design is beautifully eclectic and the grounds pass for a miniature Sonoran desert botanical garden.

The physical package is pure elegance, but this is not where charms of the Catalina Park Inn lay. The Innkeepers Mark and Paul embody everything hospitality. Each morning you will be dazzled with delectable and stunning breakfasts and expect cookies and mellow music when you return. These hosts are all about the details. The essence of this place is not, however, what Paul and Mark do; it is who they are. These two men truly make you feel like a guest in their home; a thing only others give lip service. So when you find yourself engrossed in discussions of politics, laughing about some stylistic quirkiness of a pop singer and completely forgetting why your even in Tucson; then you know that you're hanging out with new friends at the Catalina Park Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dsouthard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Paul and Mark have created an oasis of elegance and serenity within a 2-minute walk of UofA's pulsing activity hub. A circuit of Catalina Park across the street is a lovely morning wake-up walk, and the Inn's aesthetics are truly outstanding. Their website description is for real; it's every bit as wonderful as that! But most striking is the innkeepers' art of unobtrusively pampering their guests. Coffee is ready early in the am, ice available upon request; my room was tidied to perfection each day, somehow always without inconveniencing me despite my erratic schedule. Breakfasts are delicious, and your hosts are the best. Anyone fortunate enough to come upon this place and find a room available will be glad they did!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SparkyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed in this lovely inn for two nights in December 2008. It is well located, within easy, flat, walking distance to the shops on 4th Avenue and the University of Arizona. Both are well worth the walk to see and enjoy!

Mark and Paul are very gracious hosts. They are good company, and make excellent breakfasts and afternoon cookies. We stayed in the Oak room, which was the largest room on the upper floor. We saw the other rooms on that floor which were also very nice. Mark and Paul were flexible with us both on check in time and check out time.

Next time we visit our friends in Tucson, this is our first choice location and we recommended it to our friends for any other friends and family who might come to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank houselover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This is a great place to stay. The inn has all that you could ask for: gracious, warm and helpful owners, a very good location, comfortable, nicely appointed rooms and delicious breakfasts.They even put out a plate of homemade cookies in the afternoon to welcome you home. We look forward in our next visit to Tucson and to enjoying the Catalina Park Inn again. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2008
Thank d3515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We've stayed here at least four times and have had excellent accommodations each time. The rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are the best we've had in any B&B. And the owners are available for anything you might need. This B&B is in pleasant walking distance to the University. We would never stay anywhere else in Tucson.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank LsoAngelesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
980 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Historic Hotel Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 309 E 1st St, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > West University
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $183 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927 as the residence of a prominent Philadelphia family, this stately historic-district jewel is a testament to quality craftsmanship of a bygone era.As a Bed & Breakfast Inn, we continue the tradition of attention to detail. Whether you are traveling to Tucson for business or pleasure you will find Catalina Park Inn offers a high degree of comfort, privacy, and friendly service in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. Ideal location near the Fourth Avenue and Congress Street entertainment and dining district. Four blocks away is a light rail stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing