We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“1st time Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catalina Park Inn
Ranked #5 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“1st time Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very enjoyable visit for our first time in Tucson. Loved the East room with the patio, enjoying the morning sunshine. Wonderful breakfasts, and Mark and Paul very helpful, of things to see and do. Suggested neighborhoods areas to wonder. We were certainly go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
161
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I really love the ambiance and eclectic decor of this old house, which makes for a very relaxing, peaceful experience.
A plate of freshly made cookies will greet you in the afternoon when you walk through the front door into the parlor, with the faint chime of a clock & classical music in the background.
The grounds are a lush xeriscape, with various fountains adding a tranquil touch.
In the mornings, we dashed madly home from our bike rides, in anticipation of sitting down in the beautiful dining room, sipping coffee and partaking in an amazing breakfast! (the "sides" - homemade scones with chutney, coffee cake, etc., were terrific as well)
Paul and Mark are terrific hosts & make their home so warm and inviting- I can't wait to return in the Fall!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I visited here for the first time in May of 2013 for a business trip and wished I was traveling for pleasure. Catalina Park is beautiful and relaxing, hosts Mark and Paul are incredibly welcoming and attend to their guests needs. Catalina Park is just what I look for when away from home.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center but located in a very walkable part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YMorris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Mark and Paul have created the most unexpected, sweet, and serene little oasis in Tucson. We stayed in the Cottage Room, which has its own entrance, and a lovely outdoor sitting area. We were in town for a family celebration, and spent much of our time away from the B&B, participating in large group meals, activities, etc. Each afternoon or evening, we were so happy to return to the peace and quiet of the Catalina Park Inn. Mark and Paul managed to be around whenever we needed anything, but never obtrusive. At some B&Bs, I've gone through the motions of chit-chatting with the hosts, and really looked forward to being left alone... not the case with Paul and Mark; It was truly enjoyable to spend time with them.

The breakfasts were incredible. You might want to go for a run or bike ride (you can borrow their bikes) or something beforehand, though... these are some decadent meals! Breakfast bread pudding with prickly pear syrup? Yes please! Also, the lemon lime cookies offered at check-in are not to be missed!

Great value, great location, super comfortable bed, awesome location...this one is definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: We loved the Cottage Room. Great to have the privacy of your own little casita, and the outdoor seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmFu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Three night stay in this lovely inn. Accommodations, hospitality, convenience and facilities were excellent. The owners went over expectations to satisfy us with a most pleasant stay.

We have a small well behaved dog that enjoyed the private walled courtyard as much as we did.

Would return to this Inn again and recommend it to anyone staying in the Tucson area. Not so incidentally, the food is gourmet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lovely and convenient accommodations. Our room was well-appointed and spacious. The grounds and gardens are exceptional and full of life. Mark and Paul are great hosts, and the breakfast is outstanding! Both are generous with sharing information about local restaurants, sights, and events. Fellow guests contribute to a convivial atmosphere and lively conversation. We are looking forward to returning when we come back to Tucson to visit friends and attend select events.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rescue, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were originally going to stay only one night at the Catalina Park Inn but were able to call the day before and add a night. We're very glad we did because one night wouldn't have been enough to soak up the pleasures of this B&B. After a hot drive from Santa Fe, the inn felt like an oasis--quiet, airy, cool, and inviting. Cookies awaited us in the first entry, and Mark showed us around, pointing out the iced tea and guest refrigerator in the pantry and taking us to our spacious room. We stayed in the Oak room, which had a very roomy sitting area, a four-poster bed, flat-screen TV, desk, and closet. Unlike the bathrooms in many B&Bs, this one was roomy. It retained its period feel, but the owners had thought of modern needs, like a portable cart with shelves next to the sink to put our toiletries. There was also a closet with shelves in the bath. The breakfasts were fabulous and pretty to look at, with regional touches like cactus syrup for the French toast. Mark and Paul are wonderful company and create an upbeat welcoming feel as people gather for breakfast. They're founts of information about the sights in Tucson, and you'd never know that they've probably had to go over the information a million times with other guests! They've also done an amazing job of creating an attractive cactus garden in the large space around the house, with sitting areas and inviting groupings of native plants. The park across the street adds to the feeling of quiet and relaxation, and the walk to 4th St. is pleasant. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.5 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
1.4 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#49 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Park Inn

Property: Catalina Park Inn
Address: 309 E 1st St, Tucson, AZ 85705-7821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > West University
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927 as the residence of a prominent Philadelphia family, this stately historic-district jewel is a testament to quality craftsmanship of a bygone era.As a Bed & Breakfast Inn, we continue the tradition of attention to detail. Whether you are traveling to Tucson for business or pleasure you will find Catalina Park Inn offers a high degree of comfort, privacy, and friendly service in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalina Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing