We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had a few days for some R&R with my standard poodle, Precious. Decided to journey to Tucson, Arizona where I had heard a delightful city. Found Catalina Park on line and my pet is welcome. If you are looking for a fantastic B&B I highly recommend this wonderfully located B&B.

Room Tip: If you like to walk to wonderful places this is the ideal B&B. Catalina Inn provides everything...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane-R-Nantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 283 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I are not B & B people as we find the experience somewhat akin to spending the night with distant relatives who are a little odd and go to bed early. Not so at Catalina Park Inn where we have now stayed twice while visinng our daughter at the University of Arizona.

First, the owners, Paul and Mark, provide that perfect level of friendliness and interest in guests, without being pushy or intrusive. They are charming, down to earth, attentive, responsive and quite helpful.

An example: we had to leave at 6:00 AM to catch a flight out of Phoenix. Paul and Mark took care of early check-out, and provided us with coffee and muffins to go since we would be missing the unbelievably delicious breakfast that is included in the room price.

And the breakfasts...oh, my god. You will not find a better breakfast anywhere at any price. Scrumptious. So too the oatmeal raisin cookies that appear on the living room table by the front door in the late morning and are magically replenished throughout the day so that when we returned from a concert well after midnight, the cookies were waiting for us.

The B & B itself is a large, muted yellow 20's era two story home with desert landscaping on a corner lot in the older West University section of town, across from Catalina Park, close to 4th Avenue, and just blocks from the U of A.It is a charming place, bright and airy, with beautiful hardwood floors, and high celings. The decor is tasteful, clever, comfortable, and appealing, showcasing the eclectic collections of all kinkds of neat stuff Mark and Paul have accumulated over the years. For example, the walls of the WC in one of our rooms were decorated with a remarkable collection of 50s era ceramic dinnerware.

Guest rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, ranging from smallish to very largish, with private baths, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs and the usual amenities. On our first trip, we stayed in the enormous basement room which allowed us to entertain my daughter, and my brother and his wife with room to spare. We stayed in the smallest of the upstairs bedrooms on our second trip and really enjoued the awninged balcony overlooking the side yard and its myriad of birds in the morning.

We have no criticisms of this place. Love it. Will definitely go back. We are not the only ones, either, as Mark and Paul have developed a loyal clientele of sunbirds who return yearly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This B&B was a precious find. The location was ideal, the service was friendly, our room was clean, comfortable, well kept, and it was located in the back of their beautiful historic house which made it perfect for our two dogs to enjoy the backyard. The best part of the whole experience was meeting Paul and Mark, the owners, who by the way make the best gourmet breakfast in Tucson. I would recommend this B&B without hesitation to my best friends.
Maria C. Paredes
Phoenix, AZ.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCParedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The location is very close to freeway access and downtown, walking distance to a variety of shops and restaurants. We stayed in the unattached rooms, with lovely gardens and comfortable furniture to relax in after a day of sight seeing. The room was nicely appointed and quiet, the bed extra comfy. The breakfasts are AMAZING! In the afternoon, we were served yummy oatmeal cookies and hibiscus juice.The owners were cordial and helpful in recommending places to visit. All in all, it felt like we were visiting old friends. We look forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen_Ohio60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

For my daughter's graduation from the U of A, I chose to stay at the Catalina Park Inn, which I found online. The inn is nestled into a residential community within blocks of the campus. It was convenient, cozy, and the breakfast meal and snacks were fabulous! The room was immaculately clean, the innkeepers friendly and thoughtful, the guests interesting. I would return to the Catalina Park Inn in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We came to Tucson for my daughter's graduation. The Inn is very close to the campus but still quiet and restful. The room had temperature control, high thread-count sheets, comfortable sofa and chairs with cable, flat screen t.v. and a jacuzzi! Breakfasts were a feast every morning with homemade breads, fresh fruit, hot coffee, and a variety of french toast, waffles, palenta, and prickly pear syrup. Warm cookies magically appeared in the living room in the afternoon and evening and cactus juice with ice was at our fingertips. A laptop was available to print out our boarding passes for our return trip. Everything was top notch, impeccably clean, and well thought out. We are looking forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: Website provides accuratepictures of all the room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcampen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. We were in town on personal business and this great bed and breakfast made it a leisure trip. We had a great time and the rooms were so wonderful! Next time we are in town we will be back here for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamemories05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.8 mi away
The Historic Hotel Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 309 E 1st St, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > West University
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: $144 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927 as the residence of a prominent Philadelphia family, this stately historic-district jewel is a testament to quality craftsmanship of a bygone era.As a Bed & Breakfast Inn, we continue the tradition of attention to detail. Whether you are traveling to Tucson for business or pleasure you will find Catalina Park Inn offers a high degree of comfort, privacy, and friendly service in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. Ideal location near the Fourth Avenue and Congress Street entertainment and dining district. Four blocks away is a light rail stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing