We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #14 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed October 29, 2005

I wanted to surprise my 5 month pregnant wife with a special romantic weekend and Sally facilitated every detail. Our first night Sally stayed up late to check us in so that I could take my wife out to dinner after work. Then she scheduled a wonderfully skilled masseuse who was able to give my wife a prego massage. Sally is a very creative woman and has done an amazing job transforming her property into a first-class bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfasts - they were wonderful as well! We stayed in the Agave Suite and it had every romantic accomadation I could have asked for...enormous jacuzzi tub and an outdoor shower as well! Thank you, Sally! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    1
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2005

Just celebrated our 30th anniv. at Cactus Cove. We booked the Saguaro Suite which was ultra special. Every amenity was there even more than we had anticipated. Sally was such a special lady and her attention to detail was exceptional. She spoiled us with her delicious breakfasts and the presentation was decadent. One day she arranged a one hour massage for me poolside. It really doesn't get any better than that. We have stayed at many b&bs and can say without hesitation Cactus Cove was one of the finest. No question as to where we will stay when we return to Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2005

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in april and returned again in may. This place is absolutly wonderful. The rooms all have their own entrance, outside showers (private), 2 person jacuzzi tubs, kingsize beds, I could go on and on..... It was so romantic and if we are ever in Tuscon again this will be the only place we will stay. Sally is the most gracious host and has a way of making everyone laugh! If you are ever in tuscon you have got to stay at this bnb!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hopelessromantic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2004

Cactus Cove is a peaceful retreat in a glorious, natural setting on the east side of Tucson with incredible views of surrounding mountains (the sunsets and moonrises are amazing)! The living spaces for guests extend outside to private courtyards and a large covered patio with gas fireplace and heated pool. Our room was filled with furniture from Mexico and decorated in warm southwestern colors, adding to the nurturing environment. Spend enough time outside to watch Gambel quail, Costas hummers, a bobcat, and hear coyote wail you to sleep.

To top off the experience is a gracious host with artistic style and attention to small details. She provides grand breakfasts and is a wealth of information about the area.

We will definitely be back to CC for future fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2004

My husband and I stayed at Cactus Cove last year and loved it. However, we didn't get to meet the owner, Sally. Happily this year we did get to meet her, and the Barrel Cactus room was just as wonderful as we remembered it from our stay last year. The colors in this room are so vibrantly delicious that when I open the door to the room I instantly feel invigorated and relaxed at the same time. The bed is so comfortable, even more so with the addition of cozy down pillows! The bathrooms are so immaculate that the fixtures almost seem showroom new. The breakfasts are wonderfully varied and delicious and artfully arranged on a ever-changing assortment of beautiful dishes and chargers. Thoughtful touches like welcoming cold beverages waiting in the in-room refrigerator, fresh mint sprigs for the bath, and afternoon treats beautifully presented on even more delightful serving pieces elevate Cactus Cove to among the very elite of the B&B world. But, the most delightful "element" of Cactus Cove is Sally herself. She so obviously enjoys having guests and conversing with them. She has great suggestions for dining and all sorts of shopping. Sally's attention to detail and sincere hospitality make Cactus Cove a place we look forward to returning to again and again. Thanks Sally!!!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank marsha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2004

Our first positive impression of Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast was through our e-mail interactions with Sally. Since we were arriving late, she said she would have the "red chilli pepper lights lit" for us. So, it was easy to spot this incredibly charming home which Sally so happily shares with her visitors. Sally is friendly, always full of laughter and good cheer and her love in life seems to be to make her guests feel right at home and always happy. Cactus Cove is surrounded by the Catalina Mountains and has 4 individualized rooms which have been done up with taste and care. Beautifully tiled floors, luxorious bathrooms with option to bath in-doors or out. There are unexpected goodies many afternoons, beautifully presented and left for you in your room. As though all that is not sufficient, the flowers are changed regularly, so that there is always colour and beauty around you. The outdoor patio is spacious, well landscaped and you share it with desert wild-life. One cannot say enough about this haven away from home.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2004

Cactus Cove B& B is small (4 lovely rooms) and just about perfect. We loved our 10 day stay there recently. Owner Sally Gunderman runs a 'happy ship', cooks great breakfasts, and makes her outdoor greatroom, complete with beautifully-landscaped pool, dining table and fireplace, a welcome focus for her guests. Each room has a jacuzzi tub and a private outdoor courtyard with outdoor shower if preferred. CC is located in northeast Tucson with mountain views all around and is situated on a private 3 acre desert parcel. The lights of Tucson twinkle below, and coyotes are heard each evening (and sometimes at night!). Restaurants are available nearby and downtown Tucson is about 15 mintues away. Great getaway!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
9.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
8.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
6.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 10066 E Kleindale Rd, Tucson, AZ 85749-9807
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury Tucson bed and breakfast offers excellent lodging for guests wanting to enjoy a quiet outdoor spa retreat. Complete with botanical gardens, a large outdoor patio, outdoor pool, Jacuzzis, private baths, and special outdoor private showers, Cactus Cove strives to be an eco-friendly spa resort for guests of all types. Our convenient location is sure to please any Tucson traveler, as well as outdoor enthusiasts. Look online to learn more and visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cactus Cove Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing