We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First Timer”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool and spa enclosed within walls; mountain views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and spa enclosed within walls; mountain views.
Front of house with covered front porch and mountain views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
2 reviews
Pool and spa enclosed within walls; mountain views.
Front of house with covered front porch and mountain views.
Living room
Billiards room
Dining room with sliding glass door that leads to pool and back yard.
Another view of dining room with opening toward kitchen.
Kitchen.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Second bedroom with king bed.
Third bedroom with extra long twin beds.
Bathroom
Master bath.
Master bath.
Views from driveway.
Pool area plantings
Pool area plantings
Pool and spa
More botanicals!
Another view of pool with mountain views.
Outdoor dining  area with grill.
Lots of desert botanicals around pool area and nice mountain views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tucson, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BETHANY U
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real disappointment at a high cost”
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Desert Sun Sport for 6 weeks last Feb/March. The photos were far lovelier than the reality.
The outdoor pool/patio was beautiful! We spent many many hours sitting outside and enjoying the looks of the pool and the creative landscaping. It was too cool to swim ---and not worth the cost to heat the pool. But we did use the hot tub each day. It would have been helpful to have the intricate instructions to run the HT available or posted. After 2 grill-nights the propane tank was empty and we had to wait for a refill.
The location was a bit farther north and east than we realized, but that was our error. It took a while to get downtown or crosstown. There was an air of wilderness that was appealing in the neighborhood.
The house was a rehab of a foreclosure. I think it could use a second to bring it up to a higher quality. It was clean but minimally furnished with Goodwill and Dollar General items. It was spartan. Even the towels and linens were spartan, with ominous warnings about charging us if they did not become clean enough when washed. We bought many kitchen utensils, drinking glasses, serving bowls and trays to make living there easier.
The single TV required three remotes and a call to the owner on how to use them all in sync. A list of the DISH TV stations would have been nice. It would have been helpful to have a TV in the master bedroom and a clock/radio. The wifi was slow and could not sustain any skype attempts.
We thought we would have use of the 2-car garage to keep our car out of the heat, but it was locked. This also prevented us from accessing the circuit box when one of the circuits tripped. We ended up running the AC at night because there were no bedroom screens and even the owner suggested keeping the windows closed because at "this time of the year, you never know what can crawl in." The windows were a foot off the floor. The ceiling fans throughout the house were there, but not wired yet for use.The washer and dryer worked well even though they were in a dirty room off the kitchen). A toilet plunger would have been helpful too.
We made some mistakes. We signed a contract that had many add-on charges. And extra $30/night/person was added when our friends stayed for 3 nights. The owner even accused us of inviting them for an extra night (they arrived mid-afternoon).....how did she know? There were several cameras outside of the home. It may have been for security, but it would have been nice to know this going in. It felt sort of creepy. The real complaint was that we had rented a 3-bedroom house..but only one bedroom was included in the price!
I hesitated writing this because I don't like to criticize but finally decided that I would feel bad if another couple had as many disappointments as we did.My memory has not faded, I made my list of concerns the week after we left while everything was fresh.
It was expensive. We knew that. I guess we just expected more for the money.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2017
First of all, thank you for the review. Please know that much of this is not correct--NONE of the furnishings were from the Goodwill-we don't shop there! The beds, dining table/chairs, lounge chairs, outdoor furniture and billiards table were purchased BRAND NEW. The sofa was purchased from a second party, but was in good condition or we wouldn't have bought it, and when that is no longer the case, we will replace it.
When the propane tank for the grill runs low or empty, we expect a phone call so we can replace it with a full one-how else would we know it needs replacing? Our phone numbers are handy-on a frame in the kitchen and in the house booklet.
The toilet plunger is located under the sink in both bathrooms--they have always been there.
I never told these people not to open windows and they all DO HAVE SCREENS!!
The washer and dryer are in a room called the laundry room and I would like to know why she called it a "dirty room off the kitchen", an explanation of what was dirty would be nice, but I will go in there to have a look so no one else thinks that.
This guest, did, infact, try to sneak in extra guests without paying, so she was not happy with us when we found out (during our replacing of the propane tank).
Our rates are for two people, as often we get only two people renting the place and it wouldn't be fair to charge for four or six if there are only two people in the house. We charge for two and add on for more if there are any. This business model works for us, is explained before the guest rents the place and they can then decide whether to rent or not.
Please have a look at the photos-they are accurate of what is in that house. What is not shown (and I guess should be) is how fully stocked the kitchen is. Plenty of dishes, drinking glasses and mugs, several bowls in different sizes, a blender, many pots/pans and other cooking utensils, etc.....so, please have a look at other reviews for more accurate account of the place. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Timer”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house was as advertised, with a nice floor plan and not too big. We didn't use the pool, this time as we were out most of the time. The beds were comfortable and the chairs/sofa were deep and comfortable as well. We didn't cook, but did use the kitchen for making lunches and it was great for that. The setting is on the far north-east side of Tucson, so it takes some time to get anywhere, not a problem for my sister and myself as we were back in the area to see if we could still take the summer heat and the humidity after the monsoon rains. I would recommend this place to others that want a quiet place to stay in the Tucson area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing