We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret hotel near TUS Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is about 2 miles from the airport and provide free shuttle. The hotel entrance is totally separate from the casino far away from the noise and second-hand smoke. The casino is reachable by a long hall past the conference center. The basic room has a large king size bed, large 47'' LCD TV and free internet.

There is no room service but the Casino Grill at the far end of the casino is open all the time for Burgers or Philly cheese steaks. The Grill also have Omelet for Breakfast but do take advantage of the free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the tower on the same side as the registration desk since it further away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank assistingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Good Morning,

Thank you for the review that you posted on Trip Advisor. We work very hard to make sure each guests stay is a memorable one. I have shared your comments with our staff and I know they take great pride in their work.

We look forward to serving you again when you travel to Tucson. We know you have a choice of where you want to stay and we hope choose the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked the hotel for one night, a Saturday, and as the title says, we were met with unexpected pleasures,,,,from the truly friendly front office personnel, to the staff we encountered in the halls, to those wonderful people who work the casino,,,,,everyone had a smile and was willing to be of assistance whenever we needed it,,,,,,our room on the fourth floor had views of the mountains, queensize beds with tons of pillows, great bathroom, and a wonderful breakfast,,,,,we can't wait for our next visit, to the hotel and the casino, where the slots were equal to Las Vegas in their payouts,,,,our thanks to all for a great experience,,,,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cochiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review concerning the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We take pride of our property and strive to make the guest experience a memorable one.

We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Tucson area. On behalf of our team, we truly appreciate your business

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed over night on a Thursday for a business function.
We found the rooms to be decent and clean. The only negatives: no bottled water to be found and the shower surrounds are cheap pre-fabricated and looked to be falling apart.
The steak house closes relatively early so we were forced to eat food court food. The club was dark that night so no review there. The casino bar was reasonably priced and the bartender super friendly.
I don't think any ventilation system they may have works very well as it's very smokey on the casino floor but our room was just fine.
The included continental breakfast is mostly cereal, toast and bagels but was well stocked and well serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Large room,
Large bathroom,
Large Samsung flat-panel TV,
Large continental breakfast.

We stayed in a spacious room on the third floor with a tasteful southwest decor. Plenty of space to move around and nice desk and comfy computer chair to write this review. The bathroom is large with the toilet in a separate room. The shower had plenty of hot water and and awesome shower head. The room was clean and comfortable and the pillows are super comfy. Did not watch TV too much but it was nice to watch NASCAR on a large flat-panel TV. The housekeeping staff was prompt and efficient. The HVAC system worked great. The hotel has a good size fitness room.

The continental breakfast goes beyond coffee and donuts. They have a nice breakfast room with hot & cold cereal, fruit, juices, coffee, tea, hard-boiled eggs along with a selection of pastries. There are toasters for waffles and English muffins.

The staff at a hotel can make or break the lodging experience. Everybody at Desert Diamond are super friendly. I noticed that everybody says good morning and good afternoon from the front desk, to the shops all the way down to the housekeeping staff. Some of the people that provided excellent service were Alejandra at the front desk, Barbara at the gift shop and the third floor housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We take great pride in our hospitality and making sure each guests stay is memorable. I have recognized the two employees you mentioned in your review in our employee recognition program that we have on property.

Thank you again for writing a wonderful review and we look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson. Have a wonderful week.

Warmest Regards,
Katie Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here Sept. 9 to 11 two nights. The rooms were clean the view was breath taking I really enjoyed my stay. The one person that was the friendliest was the front desk lady Michelle she help me with all i needed to know about my stay she was very cheerful. It would be sad if management did not recognized her for her "AWESOME" work. Thank you Michelle for making my stay worth while.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you so much for the wondeful review. We did recognize Michelle for giving outstanding service that you received while you stayed at our hotel. Guest service is very important to us and we appreciate the input from our guests.

We look forward to having you as a guest again when you travel to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at the Desert Diamond Casino Hotel was very relaxing! It was also quite and the rooms were very clean. This is our second stay here and we are very satisfied and plan to return. It's a great place to stay even if your not a gambler!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looking259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Desert Diamond Casinoused to provide a "non-smoking" area but changed the area to smoking. They then placed some slots in their non-smoking card room but removed all sounds from the machines. Recently they removed most of the machines that were popular with players, in my opinion.. The management says that they care about all their players. I don't believe such claims as evidenced by their behavior. If you choose not to have vast amounts of cigarette, cigar and pipe smoke blown your way find another casino. Harrah's Ak-Chin Casinoin near Phoenix, provides a non-smoking area and caters to a large number of non-smoking players.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHMoore, Manager at Desert Diamond Casino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent visit to the Desert Diamond Casino & Hotel. We apologize for your experience when dealing with smoke in the casino. While we strive to provide all our guests with the outstanding and memorable experience, we do realize that there are occurrences in which we fell short of your expectations. I have taken the time to share your comments with our facilities director and to look at our options to help mitigate the smoke situation.

Once again, I appreciate your posting. Our goal is to improve our services to you. Please allow our staff another opportunity to make your next trip a remarkable one.

Warmest Regard,
Katie Moore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
913 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
1.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tucson Airport
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Tucson Airport
Courtyard Tucson Airport
#61 of 129 in Tucson
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Diamond Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Address: 7350 S Nogales Hwy, Tucson, AZ 85756-9641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $121 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Diamond Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Visit Barbados, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Diamond Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Diamond Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing