We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, beer better.”

Gentle Ben's Brewing Company
Ranked #137 of 1,995 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West University
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food ok, beer better.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This brewery has good beer and pretty regular brewpub food. I ate inside, but the older booth seats were ripped and it felt like they could update the look a little. Outside might have a better atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    82
    43
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Beer & Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was my third visit to Gentle Ben's. I try to go there every time I visit Tucson. The food is generally very good. They also brew some excellent beers. The first two times, we sat at the bar and received friendly and efficient service from the bartender. This time we decided to sit out on the patio. The food and beer was still excellent (although they were out of my first choice Pale Ale) but the service was terrible! So bad that I thought about stiffing the waiter who appeared to have a bad hangover. The people watching was great since the patio overlooks the main drag through the University campus. I would still go back again for the beer and the food

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Print new menus..”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We ate here last night before a show. Convenient location, but average food and slower service.
My biggest concern was the outdated menu. Dog eared and ratty, they need to be replaced on condition alone. But, after looking at the whole menu for several minutes, we settled on the Strombolis. Sorry, those aren't available any longer. Since when? Last December. Come on! You take out a whole section of food and don't reprint the menus for over 3 months. Who's in charge around that place? Your menu represents your restaurant, and not favorably. What we did order was ok, nothing special. We won't be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AZMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little too much of a college dive bar.”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The food choices werent that great and the service was just okay. Frog and Firkin across the street is much better.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Typical Micro Brewery”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Menu is mostly sandwiches, lots of UofA college students and mediocre beer. Good location with many shops and restaurants. Difficulty finding parking. Nice outdoor patio.

Helpful?
Thank SouthwestLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gentle Ben's Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Gentle Ben's Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing