We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast stop”

Baja Cafe of Tucson
Ranked #20 of 1,995 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast stop”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went there with a group of 9 cyclists. They accommodated us well. The menu has lots of options and several unique items including The Coyote, The Construction Burro, and gingerbread pancakes. The food came reasonably quickly and everything was tasty. They perform very well vs. the prices charged. The hash browns were nice and crunchy, always a favorite for me. Nice quite outdoor patio that will only get better as the weather cools.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New place with great breakfast options”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Came after a bicycle ride and sat outside, nice shaded area. The food was very good and good prices, had huevos rancheros which were tasty and used black beans, they only have hash browns and I prefer potatoes but the substitute for fruit no extra charge. Friendly service,

Helpful?
Thank PatriciaL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I found this 3 weeks ago and have been back several times!Service and,specials are GREAT and the prices can't be beat.This is now my favorite "go to" place for breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastpaws3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge Pancakes”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This restaurant has a wide selection of breakfast, lunch, and dinner items. The pancakes are very filling. The eggs and potatoes were good. This café offers a great value for the price. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serenityteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love these hidden gems”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went there for first time today and had brunch. Ordered "The Coyote" which consisted of English muffins topped with jalapeño bacon,hatch chills, poached egg, and a spicy hollandaise, with a side of hash browns. Much to my surprise, unlike about %80-%90 of all places, they do hash browns correct. Most places throw some shredded potatoes into a pan with some butter and salt and call it a day. The key is to remove the excess water from the potato before cooking which allows the outside to crisp and crust up properly and also doesn't steam the inside to become essentially a warm mashed potato interior. This is what i normally expect from places and this is why i usually slather them in ketchup or hot sauce prior to eating. However, when my plate arrived they looked like they were prepared properly and i had to try them before drowning them in condiments. They were excellent. Im assuming only done in butter with a lil salt. They were what hash browns are supposed to be. I finished them without the need of condiments. The jalapeño bacon was really good too. The poached eggs were also executed perfectly. Will definitely stop here again soon. Be prepared for a wait. This place was pretty busy on a Sunday at 9am.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baja Cafe of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing